FastComet Review

Solid host with one major drawback...

Avatar
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews
FastComet review
FastComet Homepage

FastComet is headquartered in San Francisco. They feature a worldwide customer base of 45,000+ across 83 countries.

That diverse customer base is supported by their eight server locations in major cities like Chicago, London, Amsterdam, Singapore, and Tokyo.

(The closer the server to people trying to reach it, the better-expected is the performance – so the theory goes.)

FastComet is also one of the few private companies in the hosting business, duking it out with mega-conglomerates like EIG, who has the unique distinction of owning pretty much every brand on the bottom half of our rankings.

Being private means there are only a few dozen people in the organization, whose actual names and faces appear on their site. (We’ll get into why that matters in a second.)

So how did they fare? Can a small, scrappy upstart trying to support a worldwide customer base keep up with billion-dollar hosting brands?

We signed up for an account to find out. We purchased the cheapest plan in November 2017 and set up a test WordPress site.

Here’s a link to our test website so you can check it out for yourself. Since November, we’ve been tracking uptime figures and site speed in Pingdom (you can view those results, too).

Let’s get into our early findings by starting with what FastComet does well.

Pros of FastComet Hosting

FastComet makes some pretty bold claims for a relatively young, small firm.

The good news is that they were able to back up a lot of them, posting strong uptime in the several months we’ve monitored with them.

They also go above and beyond typical hosts with transparent pricing and free additional services.

Here’s a full look:

1. Strong Uptime Out of the Gate

When you visit FastComet’s homepage, one of the first things you’ll see is this awesome graphic:

FastComet uptime comparison

It quickly positions their services against many of the best-known brands in the industry. And it assures you that they’re the best in overall.

Fortunately, their uptime performance started off strong. The first few months were a flawless 100%, with later months only dipping slightly.

The average comes out to an excellent 99.98%.

Here are the monthly figures to back that up:

Last 16-month average uptime:

  • March 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • December 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • November 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • October 2018 average uptime: 99.97%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 99.95%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.94%
  • December 2017 average uptime: 100%
FastComet last 16-month statistics
FastComet average uptime | See stats

2. Fast, Personal Support

FastComet might be small in comparison to other hosting companies, but that can also work as an advantage.

For starters – the team has been around the block a time or two.

The public cloud hosting side of the business has officially been around since only 2013. Before that, the founding team had been in the hosting business for over nine years.

They worked almost exclusively on System Admin for business clients (read: big, complex, expensive). Hence – if they were able to take care of that kind of business, scaling down shouldn’t be a problem.

True to form, they’ve run over 400,000 live chat sessions and 875,000 support tickets.

The second major benefit of a small team is that they’re able to offer fast, friendly service that most other companies can’t match.

Here’s how this support section usually reads on every other hosting company.

The company’s live chat pops up. In most cases, you have no idea who you’re dealing with. There’s usually a small chance there is a picture of the person helping you, it’s obviously a fake, stock image.

(Or worse – they don’t offer live chat and force you to send an impersonal, slooooow email.)

But not FastComet.

Shortly after visiting their site for the first time, Bogdan reached out for help. To my surprise, he started engaging seconds after I threw a question his way.

FastComet Live Chat support

Now, you’ll notice a few misspellings. But you know what? I’m actually OK with it.

Bogdan was super friendly, answering my queries within seconds. It shows he’s a real person who’s friendly and wants to help.

Sure enough, head on over to their team page and you’ll see Bogdan’s picture again!

So this isn’t some unprofessional, call center that barely pays minimum wage. FastComet invests heavily in customer support and it shows.

3. Longer-than-Usual Money-Back Guarantee

Let’s be honest with each other for a second:

Moving to a new hosting company sucks. Seriously – it’s super disruptive, forcing you to take down a seemingly-good site. It’s also time-consuming and technically problematic.

So the last thing you want to do is be forced to move your host again because you’re unhappy with the one you chose (but are now locked into a long-term, prepaid deal).

Fortunately, FastComet will give you a full 45 days to get your money back. That means you can try out their service, or even spin up a test site like we did, and have over a month to vet them.

This 45-day period is among the longest we’ve seen. It means that FastComet is confident in the service they provide.

4. Free Daily Backups

You know what they say… 💩happens.

Like it or not, you’re bound to run into site problems that threaten to derail all the hard work you’ve put in. Stay in the game long enough and it’s bound to happen to everyone.

No problem if you’re on FastComet, though.

First, they offer free daily backups. That’s almost unheard of on cheap, ‘value’ plans.

Second, they’ll store these backups for you, safely off-site for up to 30 full days.

And third – they’ll help you restore older versions of your site within just a single click if needed.

All of this is done standard, on all of their plans. Almost too good to be true.

5. Free Cloudflare CDN

FastComet will also throw in a free Cloudflare content delivery network (CDN) on their basic plans, too.

Content Delivery Networks will host your data across worldwide servers, so that it loads almost instantly for anyone, anywhere.

Most basic cloud hosting companies don’t even offer this service on their plans. And if they do, you’ll have to fork over a few extra bucks as an expensive upsell.

But not at FastComet. They’ll throw one in gratis.

This, in addition to being open source friendly with over 150 applications, makes FastComet one of the best options for new businesses to get up-and-running ASAP.

6. Free Migrations

But wait, there’s more!

If you already have a site on the interwebs, FastComet will help you move it over to their service for free.

Here’s how it typically works:

  1. The hosting company will say they do free migrations. When you actually need it, they’ll send you a support doc that you’ll have to figure out all by yourself.
  2. Or, they’ll use some janky ‘wizard’ tool to automatically move the info so they don’t have to lift a finger.

FastComet, on the other hand, will have their own team of experts moves the entire site for you. So you won’t have to lift a finger. It’ll be all wrapped up in less than an hour, with zero additional fees or higher plans needed.

7. Free Domain for Life!

Yes, you read that right.

Sign up for a domain name through FastComet and you’ll get it for-ev-er.

We’ve reviewed over thirty other hosts, and this is the only time I remember seeing this benefit.

Sure, most other hosting companies will happily sell you a domain name. They might even throw the first year in for free or knock off a few bucks to sweeten the deal.

But then what happens?

After that first year expires, they get you on the renewal rate. You’re obviously not going to get a new domain name after, right?

So they take advantage. The first year might have only been a few bucks, but subsequent years might cost you 4-5X the initial price.

This is just one example of FastComet’s honest, transparent pricing. Here’s another…

8. Honest, Transparent Pricing

If you go to their website right now, FastComet’s pricing will look something like this:

  1. StartSmart: $2.95/month
  2. ScaleRight: $5.95/month
  3. SpeedUp: $9.95/month

Once again, most hosts will use low monthly fees like this to suck you in.

But then, after that initial deal expires, they’ll jack up the rates.

Your hosting renewal fees might double or triple compared to the first year. Because there’s no way in hell you’ll want to move services again.

Now, with that in mind, let’s take a look at the renewal pricing FastComet:

  1. StartSmart: $2.95/month
  2. ScaleRight: $5.95/month
  3. SpeedUp: $9.95/month

It’s exactly the same!

This, too, is almost unheard of in the hosting space. We’ve seen every trick in the book.

FastComet will keep your renewal prices fixed so you get to enjoy the same exact pricing as the day you signed up.

Cons of FastComet

FastComet’s uptime was excellent, support was friendly, and they offer a ton of free goodies.

Of course, no company is perfect. Neither is FastComet.

Here are a few of the issues we’ve encountered so far.

1. Concerning Speed

I’ll admit it:

We had high hopes. We were expecting a lot. Because on the FastComet site, there’s a page that says “Why FastComet?”

Inside that page, there’s yet another awesome graphic:

FastComet comparison

Pretty snazzy, right?

Now, here’s the thing.

We’ve signed up, paid for, and tested all of those other sites listed. So we’ve got the cold-hard data to do the actual comparisons.

We just recently reviewed GoDaddy’s hosting option, for example, and were honestly blown away by the speed results of a super-low 517ms over the last sixteen months.

Similarly, our BlueHost test site clocked in at only 406ms. While our favorites, the HostGator Cloud option, is a similarly-quick 432ms.

So far, these are all pretty good speeds. They’re going to be tough to blow away.

The regular shared HostGator, however, came in at a sluggish 1007ms. So yeah – that one shouldn’t be too difficult to outperform.

But guess what?

Our FastComet site came in almost the same!

These past ten months, we’ve enjoyed a slow average loading speed of 887ms.

For those keeping track at home, that’s more than two times slower than what the earlier graphic lists on their site.

You can see for yourself. Here’s the data to back this up:

Last 10-month average speed:

FastComet last 16-month detailed statistics
FastComet average speed | See stats

FastComet Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the hosting plans offered by FastComet:

FastComet pricing and plans

StartSmart: You get a free domain name for life, space for a single site, 15GB of SSD space with unmetered traffic, for only $2.95/month.

ScaleRight: The middle tier offers the same free domain name for life and fixed renewal rates. They also throw in multiple websites and almost double your SSD space. All for only $5.95/month.

SpeedUp: FastComet’s premier plan looks pretty similar to the last option, but with a little more space and the ‘RocketBooster’ option to speed things up. (Which according to our tests, might be worth the upgrade.) Keep in mind that it’s going to cost you a little extra at $9.95/month.

More information about FastComet:

  • Free domain? Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: All standard credit cards and PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: According to their terms of service, “We cannot and do not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information, including prices, product images, specifications, availability, and services. We reserve the right to change or update information and to correct errors, inaccuracies, or omissions at any time without prior notice.”
  • Upsells: A few upsells, but not too many.
  • Account Activation: Fast account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Access to over 150 popular open source apps.

Do We Recommend FastComet?

FastComet blew us away with several factors.

The uptime was among the strongest we’ve seen. The customer service was both friendly and fast. Even the pricing transparency was like a breath of fresh air.

There was only one big complaint. Unfortunately, it was a big one…

Maybe we got a dud, but our site’s speed was just too slow to recommend FastComet.

Hopefully, that performance improves dramatically over the next few months and we can change our tune.

P.S. If you want to see hosting providers that ranked above FastComet, check our best web hosts here.

Have you had experience with FastComet – either positive or negative? If so, please leave a transparent and honest review below!

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Any proof of your experience (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

7 user reviews for FastComet

Avatar

1 — 

Incompetent

AVOID
The worst hosting service I have ever seen - didn't migrate my site properly. Site is blank - white letters on white background as background photos not migrated correctly. The team can't see a problem and thinks this is how the site looks like. The 24/7 support consists of getting messages which explain to the user why there is nothing the staff can do. I migrated the website on Monday, it's Saturday and nothing works. Don't even try to call their support number cause people there can't understand anything you say. Seriously, avoid. It's makes more sense to pay a bit more for a decent service. Decided to go back to my previous provider - switched away cause i thought they were expensive but having tried fastcomet I can see they are worth the money. Never had any issues with the previous provider. Nothing but issues with this one. Really surprised that there are professional websites recommending these guys and believe these are paid reviews.

Avatar

2 — 

Not very good service

I tried Fastcomet for a few days. There's no phone support, only via a ticket system. I was setting up a WordPress multisite migration, and the virtual subdomains didn't work. Tech support took 20 minutes to respond, recommending I manually add the subdomains to my account, which isn't how WP multisite works. They had created one which worked, but the others didn't and couldn't be deleted either. I cancelled my service. Slightly better response than Dreamhost, which took 24 hours to respond via a ticket. Still searching for another hosting option. They've responded that my payment will be refunded, but it hasn't shown up yet. (a day later) Hopefully they'll honor that promise.

Avatar

2 — 

Incompetent support

I tried to move a client to fastcomet but had several issues that their support was unable to resolve. Even their level 2 support seems to not have a clue how to administer a server. My main issues were:

1. Server was unreachable for 2.5 minute periods at least 5 times/day (ssh sessions dropped, 404 page serves, etc). I provided exact times of the outages of the monitoring I setup but even after 4 days they could not even confirm the issue. Initially they denied it existed then after escalating to level 2 support said they were "working on it" without ever confirming the issue. I provided exact times of the outages and suggested searching the syslogs for events at those times but after 4 days they had no new info, only that they "were working on it", never updated the ticket with any details or information on ANY progress.

2. They were unable to redirect webmail, cpanel, etc to https so users do not accidentally use insecure login methods. All this even after I provided the exact apache rewrite statements (that only affect our domain name) and a link to cpanel's docs on where to make this change. They basically don't understand apache rewrite statements or simply don't care about security at all. They repeatedly provided incorrect information (such as they can't install our ssl certs for those shared locations, even as they were already installed and working, default for autossl in cpanel).

3. Roundcube tables was corrupt on install. The error did give the exact problem (database table corrupted) and they were able to fix it within 1 day but no ticket updates before the fix was implemented.

Overall I did not find their support very good. Communication was terrible (just "we're working on it" until it was fixed or they said no fix was possible.) They were unable to fix most issues for days, if at all. In the end I'm migrating away because they cannot provide reliable service (several 2.5 minute outages a day).

Avatar

2 — 

FastComet - "Your Speed is Acceptable"

I've been on FastComet for about 1.5 years. I picked them for several reasons. First, they have servers in Dallas, TX, Cloudflare does too (which I use), GTmetrix and Dot Com Tools speed tests also have Dallas servers, my business is a martial arts school, Mann's Martial Arts, and everyone wanting to take martial arts from me has to live in the Dallas area. My thoughts were to align all the pieces of that, for website speed and speed tests, hoping that doing so would give me incredible speed. I went with FastComet's $5.95/mo plan, one notch above what I'm guessing HostingFacts might be using here.

I've always tried to keep my landing page size small, to deliver an extremely fast user experience. I use a flat file CMS, it currently only has 6 images on my landing page, all optimized, and my total page size with images is around 380KB, and the total loading requests are around 32. I use Cloudflare, and when I do GTmetrix tests off of Dallas servers, complete page loading is around 600ms-700ms about 50% of the time. About 20% of the time I'll see full loads around 400ms-500ms. There are even some rare instances 1%-5% of the day, that I'll see full page loading in the 300ms range. My beef with FastComet is speed inconsistentcy, about 30% of the time I'll see speed tests that are 900ms or greater, specifically, 1.2secs, 1.4-1.6secs, and sometimes even over 2-2.5secs. Whenever these happen, I'll look at the GTmetrix waterfall report. There's times that FastComet's server has lengthy hangs, mostly when accessing CSS and JS files in my directories, meaning localized files due to using a flat file CMS.

FastComet's tech support rarely admits to seeing anything getting hung, so I have to run GTmetrix reports and send them screen shots of it. Then you have to do lots of back-and-forths with their tech support. Sometimes they'll claim to make some sort of server tweak, other times they've relocated me to a different server, which I think they've done at least 3 times now in the past 1.5 years.

When I run nationwide speed tests from cities other than Dallas, I use both GTmetrix and Dot Com Tools, and I do it for most U.S. cities. The overall average full page loading seems to be in the 700ms-900ms range. I find it rather interesting that my little 380KB landing page, that only makes 32 server requests, and is on Cloudflare, can only run nationwide at 700ms-900ms, which seems somewhat inline with speed tests done by this website. I would think a 380KB page could see better speeds, especially since I went with FastComet's mid-price plan, ScaleRight, but they don't seem to think so, and they outright say my page speed is within what they consider to be an acceptable range. I don't agree, my page use to be much bigger, and I made it as small as I could, hoping it would load faster. Look at this, here's a 900ms speed test I just did, off of GTmetrix Dallas server to the FastComet Dallas server I'm using.

My plan is coming up for renewal in a few months, and I'm considering other services, hoping to find fastest-and-cheapest, maybe Hostinger or A2. I want speed and FastComet keeps saying "upgrade to a more expensive plan", wanting me to move from the $6 ScaleRight plan to their $10/mo SpeedRight plan, or business class plans. I have a funny feeling if I did that and didn't like the speed, they'd want me to keep upgrading my plan. That seems to be their M.O., instead of taking on any responsibility for speed issues. I suspect overloaded servers that are doing too much traffic/bandwidth. I'm strongly considering other options.

Avatar

3 — 

Uptime isn't true

I hosted my website in their server, i agree they got good customer support and one of the best and their price is cool. The uptime isn't true, my website keeps going off and on and when i complained they said it's DDOS attack, but this has happened for nearly a month plus. They need to improve on that.

Avatar

2 — 

Performers who don't care

Well... We definitely aren't happy using fastcomet services. As a digital agency, hosting is a must and finding a good partner is definitely extremely important. Let's start with the pro's by saying that they look to be indeed nice performers and the SAV is reactive.

We don't know what happened for us but we send to them 44 tickets in one year. Mainly optimizations asks obviously but last months only problems.

In my opinion they gave us a blacked IP on our DS2, a dedicated server. We faced a amount of problems with our customers identified as spam sender so they weren't able to send / recieve a simple mail.

The optimization they have done on our eshops working on prestashop is simply a joke. They forced a "cache" which makes actualisation of the content purely and simply impossible.

The thing I hated in their reaction is that they always put the blame on us, saying it's not our fault, you're using prestashop which is a huge system and that's it. Well.... when the backoffice takes 8 sec to load by touching nothing in the core of presta. We can send them a ticket...

Anyway, after the last mess we faced with the blacked IP, they told us we had to buy an extra addon as spam expert ( +-30$ / month) juste to be able to send mail what we did to save the face for our customers. But I'm really sceptic about keeping our collaboration with fast come.

Too bad because I thought this started well.

Attach just a short view of the tickets, hopefully for them, I'm running on a 13 inches!

Avatar

4 — 

Off to a slow start

First off I would like to correct a couple falsehoods within hostingfacts.com overview of Fastcomet.

1. The price plan

What is in the picture posted here and on Fastcomet is inaccurate. When you go to register on Fastcomet, you will find those prices only apply if you buy 3 years hosting paid in full. And if you do not, that 9.95 plan goes up. I could only afford to pay for one year in full up front and for the rocket premium plan and I paid 11.95 a month. Should you choose to pay monthly, it keeps going up. Also migration might be 'free', but Fastcomet charges an install fee of 19.95 unless you pay in full a minimum of 1 year of hosting.

2. Free domain name for life

If this is true I was never offered it. I have my domain through someone else already, but still would have been nice if they had offered.

3. Migration in a hour?

I do not think so. As I am wrighting this, it has been over 30 hours and still not complete. I have no ETA either, just support saying: "We are still working on it, please be patient." This is very disappointing. No one wants to have their site to be down that long. I sent out a mass email to my network users (about 6K) informing them the site would be down for a few hours, giving some extra padding for unexpected issues. 30+ hours is a joke. I migrated the same network before in under 5 hours. And I ran into issues. Also, Fastcomet has access to my host and a full backup of my network hosted in the cloud. So I cannot see how in the world 30+ hours is acceptable. If support were to give me a solid reason I might be able to help, but when I asked what the hold up was, I did not get a straight answer.

Regarding all the other pros and cons pointed out in this article by hostingfacts.com, I could not tell you. If my site ever finishes migrating (Oxwall software), maybe I can run my own test and post a more thorough review.

One of the plus sides dealing directly with Fastcomet support/tech services is that they are very fast to reply and friendly. I wish I could say the same for their migration process.