HostGator Cloud Review

Best Uptime, a Real Premium Web Hosting that is affordable.

Brad Smith
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews
HostGator Cloud review
HostGator Cloud is ranked #2 out of 32 hosts

HostGator Cloud is an “upgraded” version of their shared hosting option.

According to them, it should be faster and more scalable than their regular hosting.

Firstly, it has provided 100% uptime in the past five months, capping off an excellent 16-month performance. HostGator Cloud doesn’t drop the ball on speed, either, providing average page loading times of just 432ms.

Friendly customer support and free site migrations make this one of the best options we’ve reviewed.

Just be aware of the extra fees that could pop up when it’s time to checkout or renew your plan.

Here is an in-depth analysis of HostGator Cloud’s performance over the past 16 months.

General Info & Hosting Overview


OVERALL RANK: Rated #2 out of 32 web hosts
SPEED: 432ms (December 2017 to March 2019 average)
UPTIME: 99.98% (December 2017 to March 2019 average)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and Magento
FEATURES: Unmetered bandwidth and storage, email accounts, free domain 1st year
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, Cloud, WordPress, VPS and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Single Free Site Transfer
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $14.95/mo)

Pros of using HostGator Cloud

HostGator Cloud comes out of the gate strong with stellar uptime and page loading times.

Their servers are packed with extra features you don’t typically find on many of their competitors.

Plus, they throw in an exclusive discount that brings the pricing for this advanced host down to industry-low levels.

Here’s a quick look at some of the highlights:

1. VERY Strong Uptime of 99.98% (Over the last 16-months)

HostGator Cloud has posted an uptime average of 99.98% over the last 16 months. That sounds impressive because it is: the last five months have seen five successive 100% scores across the board.

Only two months during this time dipped down to 99.89%. On the surface, it’s a bummer. But the good news is that it was at least lower than the 99.9% threshold for their uptime guarantee.

Here’s how that works:

If your average uptime for the month is below 99.9%, you can get a payment credit for the entire month. Planned maintenance and other one-time, fluke events are excluded. But it’s good to know that they willingly stand behind their product. And that customers won’t be penalized if performance temporarily slips, causing frustration for your visitors and potentially missing out on sales.

If you’re using one of their VPS or dedicated servers, you’re also covered by a different Network Guarantee (spelled out in their terms).

Last 16-month average uptime for HostGator Cloud:

  • March 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • December 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • October 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.89%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 99.93%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.89%
  • December 2017 average uptime: 100%
HostGator Cloud last 16-month statistics
HostGator Cloud average speed 2017-2019 | See stats

2. Top 5 Load Times (Only 432ms)

HostGator Cloud offers a few extra perks over their standard Shared servers. The biggest one, though, is speed.

They claim “up to 2x faster load times” due to a variety of extra features, including “low-density servers, premium hardware, and multiple caching layers.”

HostGator’s Shared plans stumbled in this department, posting a disappointingly-low 1007ms average load time. Honestly, that’s too low to recommend — taking a minimum of one second to load pages (even before you add text or images on top of them).

So what’s the verdict? Was HostGator Cloud really able to deliver “2x faster load times”?

They actually did! Imagine that: a claim on a hosting site that actually came true.

HostGator Cloud’s 16-month average of only 432ms is good enough to comfortably place it inside our top five fastest web hosts. Check it out for yourself in the month-by-month breakdown below.

Here are the load time averages from the past 16-months:

HostGator Cloud last 16-month detailed statistics
HostGator Cloud average speed 2017-2019 | See stats

HostGator Cloud is off to a strong start, combining reliable uptime with blazing-fast servers. Those are two important boxes ticked.

3. Special Discounted Pricing – Exclusive to HostingFacts.com

HostGator Cloud’s uptime and page speeds blew their shared servers out of the water.

So why don’t more people just upgrade to the Cloud version? Well, money.

The advertised price for this Cloud option starts at $4.95/month and rises to $9.95/month. Keep in mind that this pricing applies to the longer, three-year term, too. (More on that below under the “Cons.”)

The higher sticker price usually turns off some users into sticking with shared hosting, instead.

Thankfully, there is some good news. HostGator has provided an exclusive discount to bring the HostGator Cloud pricing down to only $2.99/month.

That means you’re essentially paying the shared hosting rates, but getting a MUCH better product in return. Just keep in mind that this discount only applies for one, three, and six-month plans. After that initial term, the pricing will rise to the renewal rate of $8.95 on the lowest plan.

4. Very User-Friendly Hosting

HostGator Cloud manages to strike a nice middle ground as a beginner-friendly service, that performs like an advanced one.

Here’s what I mean:

Bandwidth and storage are “unmetered” on every single Cloud plan. That’s almost unheard of on less expensive options. And it essentially means that you’re not penalized as your site grows and grows and grows.

Typically, larger sites require more resources, which pushes you into a higher, more expensive plan. But not here on HostGator Cloud. Instead, your only major limitation on each plan is the number of sites you want to host.

So if you’re only planning on hosting one site, you could get by on the “cheapest” option and still be fine as your startup site becomes a chart-topping one.

The other good news is that you can’t be penalized or charged for using additional resources, either.

Compare that to a managed WordPress host like WP Engine. Sure, they’re mostly great. But they also have “overage” fees that hit you if your site starts to exceed monthly plan limits.

And worse, these fees are often automatic. So if you have a good month and traffic spikes, you’re basically penalized for it.

HostGator Cloud, on the other hand, provides more of an “all-in” pricing which is rare from cheaper hosts that might only set you back a few bucks each month.

5. FREE Extras: Server Resource Management, Monitoring, and Site Migrations

HostGator Cloud is fast because they’re not relying on your basic servers.

Each data center is backed up with integrated caching, cloud resource managed, and data mirroring. All of these features work together to reduce the load, number of requests, and resource allocation. In English, that means servers can work together with a visitor’s browser to limit the amount of resources that need to be sent back and forth.

HostGator Cloud also throws in server monitoring and automated “failover” to make sure if you have any hardware issues, you’ll know about it ASAP and there’s a Plan B in place to save your site.

Included in each plan is cPanel access, along with new email accounts. Plus, you get a free site or cPanel migration from your existing web host.

All Cloud Hosting options include a single free site migration. Some others will throw in extra sites for free, but some others make you pay for any migrations at all. So this one falls somewhere in the middle.

If you want to move more sites than that, they’ll do it for an estimated cost of ~$25/site. Although, it might depend a little on the size or number of files.

Unfortunately, there are a number of sites that HostGator cannot move for you. These usually include any that lack FTP and/or databases. The short list includes anything from VistaPrint, Intuit, Wix, Google Sites, Microsoft Office, or MobileMe.

6. Good, Friendly Support

HostGator provides 24/7/365 support through a knowledge base and tons of video tutorials, a phone number, and live chat.

We tested their live chat, dropping in our name and initial query. We only needed to wait around five minutes for Puneeth to jump on and help us out.

Overall, Puneeth was really friendly and answered most of our questions.

HostGator Cloud Live Chat Customer Support
HostGator Cloud Live Chat Customer Support

Until it came answering a few questions around the site migrations.

Most web hosts we’ve reviewed will offer at least one free site migration. HostGator Cloud follows that trend.

However, if other hosts won’t move more sites for free, there’s usually a simple fee to have others moved for you.

Puneeth wasn’t really able to give me a straight answer for costs around multiple migrations. He claimed it usually comes down to the size or number of files and a few other details.

We ended up refreshing the live chat session and trying again. This time, we finally got an answer for an estimated ~$25/site.

So overall, a little bumpy, but still pretty good at the end of the day.

There’s one final bit of good news here. When we first reviewed HostGator, they did not offer any social media support.

But we’re happy to let you know that they’re now very responsive on social, answering individual issues multiple times a day:

HostGator Cloud Social Media Support
HostGator Cloud Social Media Support

Now you have lots of different options to get a quick response from HostGator.

Cons of using HostGator Cloud

HostGator Cloud’s performance was mostly impressive. There are just two blemishes on their record, though.

The first is higher prices for short-term plans and high renewal rates when your first term expires. The second major issue is that it seems like they’ve taken away a few additional services and now make you pay for them.

Here’s an overview:

1. Introductory Price Hikes & High Renewal Rates

You can save big on hosting if you know how to navigate the common pricing ploys that plague the industry.

The first is the initial introductory rate that you see on a host’s site. It’s usually a pretty low monthly price. The catch, however, is that you’ll usually have to prepay for at least two or three years to take advantage.

A shorter monthly option, if they even offer it, can sometimes be as much as two or three times that cost.

For example, HostGator Cloud will cost $4.95/mo 36 months (or $2.99/mo with our discount for the shorter term). But the true one-month price is $12.95/month.

HostGator Cloud Hosting Long Term Pricing
HostGator Cloud Hosting Long Term Pricing

Once you find a host you like, though, you’re probably better off locking in the three-year rate for as long as possible. Here’s why.

The second common pricing issue in the hosting industry is the high renewal rate. In this case, when your initial term ends, your plan will automatically renew at $8.95/month for the exact same service. You’re not getting anything extra or better service necessarily. They’re just banking on you not switching hosts again at that point.

So make sure you like the host you’re going with. And then, pay for the longest term possible to keep your monthly rate low.

HostGator Cloud Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

HostGator Cloud Plans and Pricing
HostGator Cloud Pricing and Plans

Here’s a quick overview of the HostGator Cloud plans offered:

  • Hatchling Cloud: This plan starts at $2.99 per month with our discount (not $4.95). It supports 1 site, 2GB of memory, 2 core CPUs, a free SSL certificate, unmetered storage and bandwidth.<- We used this plan for our test site.
  • Baby Cloud: This plan starts at $6.57 per month. It supports unlimited sites, 4FB memory, 4 core CPUs, free SSL certificate, unmetered storage and bandwidth.
  • Business Cloud: This plan starts at $9.95 per month. It supports unlimited domains, 6GB memory, 5 core CPUs, free SSL certificate (Positive), free dedicated IP, free SEO tools, unmetered storage and bandwidth.
  • Ease of Signup: Signup process is a breeze!
  • Payment Methods: You can pay by credit card or PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Despite unmetered bandwidth and storage, you can’t use over 25% of their system for over 90 seconds. Renewal rates are higher than normal rates. And certain types of FTP-less sites can’t be migrated by their team.
  • Upsells: There are some upsells along the way.
  • Account Activation: It might require up to 24-48 hours for accounts to be activated in some cases.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Extremely easy, one-click installation process of the most popular apps available.

Do We Recommend HostGator Cloud?

Yes, we do.

HostGator Cloud manages to do a few things really well. It’s extremely user-friendly and inexpensive with our discount. But at the same time, you’re getting some of the best uptime and page loading performance we’ve seen after reviewing over 30 other hosts.

Customer support was solid, too.

So despite renewal rates being a little higher and some potential extra fees, the fact that this plan is discounted to about the same price as their shared options make it a no brainer.

Visit HostGator Cloud

If you’ve used HostGator Cloud, please consider leaving a review below – good or bad – doesn’t matter. Thanks for your support!

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Any proof of your experience (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

13 user reviews for HostGator Cloud

Avatar

1 — 

Misinformed at point of sale

Was sold a two-year subscription with a 45-day guarantee of money back. This was on a dedicated server. There were some issues with incompatibility, and we are not able to use the server at all. Of course, took up this with their support and was told a refund would be made. A day later after further review, the refund was cancelled. The product and service were paid for in advance. I would honestly think twice about using this company. Strictly because of issues having to do with their honesty. They are not to be trusted. We have not been able to gauge their service since we cannot use their product. Guarantees by salespeople should be recognized.

Avatar

5 — 

Hostgator has powerful servers and level of convenience

Hostgator as the service provider has a clear record of powerful servers situated in superb data centers all over the world. Most of the users have a positive opinion towards the performance of Hostgator servers, and Hostgator powered websites as well as blogs have an enviable PageSpeed in different measures. This is one of important point to consider about Hostgator’s services would be able to satisfy every internet marketers who are concerned about seamless working of their websites. Even if you have chosen the more economy plans of Hostgator, your site will always show awesome performance.

You can try a product many times before you actually buy it. This level of convenience has been hailed for a short time, and it helped enormously people in their purchasing decisions and has also contributed to the strong relationship between the producers of online products and potential customers. Hostgator 1 cent coupon is the best possible web hosting discount available in the market for web hosting services, also their service is supported for all around including CMS, WordPress which is claimed to be the best CMS out there.

Avatar

4 — 

Good

Hostgator are actually good to my liking and I do say I enjoy their service at one of my client’s websites and blogs.

I purchased a shared hosting for their company and over 3 years they have been having a good time with their blogs. All customer service is always active and ready to assist 24/7. What I value much about them is their free live chat customer service which is one way to resolve your complaints. So I don’t see any reason why people are rating them below their limits. I love their service, because it is good.

Avatar

5 — 

I have been using HostGator for years now

I started my account with HostGator when I was still learning HTML/CSS and wanted to publish my first website I was proud of. I am still hosting to this day. Their support is very helpful, one time I was in need of assistance with a SSL certificate and the chat literally went on for over 2,5 hours. Only downside I can think of is that sometimes their live chat is super busy and it can take a while before you can connect. Also 2 times my domains did not register correctly. Other than that the best web host in my opinion.

Avatar

2 — 

No www?

Tried to set up a simple WordPress site via this Cloud package and in all honesty I’m surprised at how much hard work it was.

All of the automated emails seem to be for the old system as they don’t tie up with what actual happens in the customer portal. It also didn’t link the fact that I’d registered a domain at the same time so there were other emails about that.

It then turns out that you can’t change the URL in the WordPress settings so you are stuck with http:// version, no www. Not a major issue in many ways but not mentioned anywhere and a bit of an odd restriction.

Talked to the support team, one of whom advised me to uninstall WordPress and start over, the other of whom said it was all the same and it didn’t matter and insisted on calling me “bud”.

Can’t tell you what the actual hosting is like unfortunately, because I gave up and moved elsewhere.

Avatar

5 — 

Their Cloud hosting is surprisingly good

I am not a very big fan of Hostgator. There are too many negative reviews about their poor speed and slow support on the internet.
Even Hostingfacts does not recommend their regular shared hosting plans.

But, their cloud hosting has been a pleasant surprise for me.
Little to no uptime, fast speed and friendly support staff is something, due to which I have decided to stay with them even after 10 months. Otherwise, I would have transferred to Siteground (I like it a lot) at any point of time.

Hostgator Cloud is different, it is better and deserves the crown for this drastic improvement.

Avatar

3 — 

Expensive if you want more than 1 site

You’re only allowed to have 1 domain with the WordPress cloud hosting starter plan. The renewal rate is $9.95 which is pretty expensive when you consider other services and other plans give you unlimited domains. If you avoid the WordPress plans and choose the baby cloud plan you get unlimited domains for $7.95 and $11.95 renewal. $2 more for unlimited domains. You should get a baby cloud discount instead.

Avatar

4 — 

Long time HostGator user

I have been a customer of Hostgator for some time now. I have upgraded from Hatchling to Cloud Business. The speed of my 2 mb website has been good and all issues on our site have been handled professionally and pagespeed / onpage results are just fine.

Avatar

5 — 

Fast and reliable...

I used your discount and signed up with them 3 months ago. So far, so good. Not a single problem. I used to use Site5, but I discontinued using them as I felt the uptime was too bad.

Hence the reason I switched.

Overall, HostGator Cloud is a great host.

Avatar

5 — 

Support is on the good side...

I’ve been using Hostgator for just under a month and today I received a “500 Error” and my site completely shut down. I called their tech line and they said I had exceeded my bandwidth. Not Cool!

However, after I contacted the support they quickly fixed it.

Hands down – their support is good.

Avatar

5 — 

So far all good

I signed up for HostGator cloud back in June. So far, everything is working properly.

Uptime seems to be 100% and load times are much faster than my previous host (Site5).

I haven’t had a chat with their support (yet), so I can’t rate this.

Avatar

5 — 

Great support

I am quite new to the blogging world. When I finally have the courage to create my own, I chose HostGator due to the reviews on this site. Yep. HostingFacts.com helped me with choosing my host, and I am quite satisfied. One thing I liked about HostGator very much is the support. Being a new blogger, I am quite slow and still learning about it. HostGator is such a huge help.

I recommend this to new bloggers, and although the price is higher than most hosts, this one is worth the money and will leave you satisfied.

Avatar

5 — 

Definitely worth it!

I’ve started my blogging journey with the regular HostGator shared hosting. It worked great for me until my blog started getting high traffic. I’ve faced several downtimes on HostGator and moved to Bluehost shared hosting. My experience with Bluehost shared hosting wasn’t that good. And I decided to upgrade to Bluehost Managed WordPress Hosting. I didn’t find any difference. Believe me.

I bought HostGator Cloud hosting on last black friday and I’m still using it. It’s far-far better than Bluehost or GoDaddy (I’ve used them both).

So far, I haven’t faced any major downtimes with HG Cloud Hosting. Thumbs up for this!