Hosting24 Review

Average uptime and load time - not recommended.

Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews

We’ve been a paying customer for Hosting24 for the last 40+ months. During that time, we’ve monitored their performance – avg. load time and uptime.

This review relies strongly on data, such as uptime, load time (speed) and customer support experience.

 

What is Hosting24?

Hosting24 review
Hosting24 homepage

Hosting24 was founded in 2004 in the beautiful Larnaca, Cyprus. Because… taxes? Also, beaches.

Similarly to many other web hosts, their website is chock-full of hyperbolic language, including 99.9% uptime guarantees and ‘automatic backups’ (which we’ll debunk in a minute).

Let’s see how they measure up.

We set up a WordPress website with their cheapest shared hosting plan back in June of 2015. Since then, we’ve been closely monitoring uptime and speed, in addition to testing their customer support and performing background checks to compile our results in an unbiased, honest review.

Keep reading to find out what we found.

 

Pros of using Hosting24

Hosting24 has pretty good customer support. They also throw in a few other nice-to-have (but not essential) things. That’s about it.

Take a look:

1. Decently Good Customer Support

Hosting24 primarily offers support via live chat, which connected us immediately to one of their support agents.

Their responses were thoughtful, detailed, and clear enough. Although there was a noticeable delay in between answering questions if we’re nit-picking. A quick background check reveals other similarly mixed reviews.

In overall, the reviews are not too bad.

Hosting24 support is good

2. Enhanced Security with Automated Backups

Hosting24 follows up their seemingly customer-centric approach by paying special attention to your site’s security.

Many of their hosting plans come standard with CloudFlare DDOS Protection and the ClamAV antivirus scanner to proactively protect your site.

They’ll also perform weekly backups. In an ideal world, you would have daily backups. Since they’re throwing it in for free, while many other sites force you to pay extra, it’s not a bad deal. We’ll review these backups in more detail soon.

In addition, they also offer SpamAssassin Protection for emails.

3. U.S. and European Server Locations

When signing up for a new shared or VPS hosting account, you’re given the option to choose between hosting your site on their North America (Asheville, North Carolina) or European (United Kingdom) locations (depending on your target group).

4. Numerous Promotional Sales

If you time it right, you might get an incredible deal.

At the time of writing this review (5/18/16 – Update 11/01/18 they appear to be still doing them!), they were running a 50% lifetime discount flash sale.

A quick look at their Facebook Page reveals numerous different sales, usually associated with some holiday.

5. Free Website Transfer(s)

Hosting24 will help you transfer or migrate an existing website — free of charge — if it’s hosted elsewhere. (It’s worth noting that almost every other host we’ve reviewed also offers this perk.)

 

Cons of using Hosting24

Hosting24 offered pretty decent customer support. Unfortunately, that’s pretty much it. The rest of their performance is pretty bad.

Here are the details:

1. Barely Average 99.93% Uptime Over Prior 10 Months

One of the first things you’ll notice when visiting the Hosting24 website is the 99.9%+ uptime boasts.

After putting them to the test, we got the result they offer.

Over the last ten months, Hosting24 was able to deliver 99.929% uptime in our test (only .011% worse than the industry average)

Our background checks revealed that many customers complain about being unable to access their website (including the dreaded ‘Service Temporarily Unavailable’ message).

  1. The uptime has been horrible. My website gets offline almost daily. According to Pingdom, my website has been offline for over 50+ times.”
  2. Uptime was the worst point: my websites have been down so many times because of so-called “server updates” and Hosting24 never noticed it themselves.”
  3. “The most regular error that I get is: Service Temporarily Unavailable
  4. “I worked with Hosting24 but didn’t like their stability and support
  5. “Now they are providing good service, just uptime is not 100%

Last 10-month average uptime:

  • December 2017 average uptime: 99.85%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.88%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.89%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.82%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 99.95%

Hosting24 10-month performance stats

Hosting24: Page Load Speed and Uptime 10-Months (Full data can be found here.)

2. 5.5% Slower than the Competition

If Hosting24’s uptime is below average, their page loading times are absolutely abysmal.

They clocked in at 941ms over the past eight months, which makes them 5.5% slower than the competition’s 890ms average.

Honestly, after reviewing thirty web hosts to date, this is one of the worst page speed times we’ve seen.

Consider this:

74% of people will leave your site forever if it fails to load within just 5 seconds. HALF of the people won’t even wait 3 seconds.

That means speed isn’t just an experience issue. In fact, it has a direct impact on your conversion rates too, causing site visitors to leave in droves.

One of the most important factors for site speed comes down to the speed of your hosting. There’s only so many things you can do if the foundation is faulty.

Last 10-month average load time:

  • December 2017 average speed: 1,075ms
  • January 2018 average speed: 1,057ms
  • February 2018 average speed: 1,044ms
  • March 2018 average speed: 1,061ms
  • April 2018 average speed: 1,084ms
  • May 2018 average speed: 1,053ms
  • June 2018 average speed: 720ms
  • July 2018 average speed: 797ms
  • August 2018 average speed: 774ms
  • September 2018 average speed: 742ms

 3. Limited, Marginally Beneficial Backups (Despite Claims to the Contrary)

Hosting24 advertises their backup feature as a badge of honor on their website. Unfortunately, in our experience, it doesn’t live up to the hype.

Here’s why:

Reason #1: They only do weekly backups.

Ideally, these should be done daily to make sure you always have a copy ready to restore should anything happen during the course of business as usual or overnight (a hack comes to mind).

Reason #2. During the weekly backup, they will delete your previous ones.

That’s not ideal, because to be on the safe side, it’s always better to have multiple versions. Relying on a single backup could be a problem if there are any random problems or issues that happen.

Reason #3. To top it all off, they won’t backup accounts larger than 2GB.

2BG ain’t that big. Especially if your site is highly visual (eCommerce comes to mind). If you don’t properly scale, crop and compress high-resolution images before uploading them, you could have a single photo take up over 20mb easily. Multiply that by 10 (or 100) and you’re quickly maxing out.

All-in-all, don’t believe the hype!

You’re probably better off backing up the site yourself.

Hosting24 Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of their hosting plans. They offer two shared plans:

Single Web Hosting: This plan starts at $2.59 per month. It comes with 1 website, 10gb disk space. 100gb bandwidth and the option to choose your server location.

Premium Web Hosting: This plan starts at $4.19 per month. It comes with unlimited websites, unlimited disk space, unlimited bandwidth plus custom name servers and add-on domains.

Business Web Hosting This plan starts at $9.55 per month. It comes with everything in the Premium plan plus daily backups, better support, and more speed.

hosting24 pricing and plans

  • Free domain? No.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy sign-up process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Accounts with a single file above 1GB, or with more than 250,000 files, can be terminated without notice to the account owner.
  • Upsells: No upsells.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): One-click installation of popular apps and CMSs through Softaculous.

 

Do We Recommend Hosting24?

No. We cannot.

When you sign up for web hosting, you’re paying for the performance.

Namely, (1) uptime and (2) page loading times.

Hosting24’s uptime was, well, below average. The best website in the world, that’s consistently falling offline, won’t benefit you.

Their page loading times are about that same- just falls sort of industry standard. That’s a BIG problem when it comes to generating revenue from your site (as discussed earlier).

A quick look at our full web hosting list will help you find MUCH better web hosts, with stable uptime, blazing-fast loading times, and a fantastic customer support – all at a decent price point.

Do you have any experience with Hosting24? Please leave a review below – good or bad – as long as it’s honest and transparent.

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and earn $10 when we approve it.

Review Title

Rating

Upload image (optional)

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

13 user reviews for Hosting24

5/100 — 

Unreliable

Hosting24 has betrayed their customers and now extort them to pay again for their domain-name renewals, which were included in their agreements. Rather than inform their customers of this, they invited them to renew their plans with a special discount to celebrate their server renewals (still with no information on the impending demand for extra money).

On this occasion of server renewal, they also messed something up and started serving my PHP-scripts in an uninterpreted clear text to the client browsers.

Their Bitninja "security feature" has always been a pest to developers and TOR browser users.

Their support does not receive many E-mails because they use G-mail. They are also too outrageously incompetent to provide any real help with technical issues, such as the defect in their cpanels feature to edit php.ini (a dummy file is overriding it).

Their level of reliability is comparable to that of the common Pattaya prostitute.

100/100 — 

Simple and cheap best hosting provider.

I have been using this web hosting provider for over a year now and I have really liked it so much because their up time is really good as promised because I hardly see any down times on my site something which I like.

The chat support of hosting providers is also a man factor why I choose some web hosting provider and I must say that they got a great support team who are available 24/7. Just click live support and you will instantly be connected to a person.

Overall I like it.

95/100 — 

Why not use Hosting24

At first I was very skeptical about Hosting24 services because of the negative comments on the internet but then I went a little deeper and explored their services. I was very surprised that they're actually quite good at what they're doing. Can't tell that they're perfect but still very good, especially for a price like that! Uptime is good, response times are also good, everything is very simple and easy to use. So why not choose Hosting24?

95/100 — 

WOW!

Wow! I really love Hosting24 platform. It's so much cheaper than anything else on the market. Also, user interface is really simple, intuitive and easy to use. Waso waso waso waso!

80/100 — 

Great For the Price

Hosting24 is much better than your review indicates. For one, the coupon price is always available at approx $24 a year, including a free domain. That’s ideal for small sites, especially personal ones. I moved a wordpress site there from a big-name host because Hosting24 gave PHP 7.2 where the other was still at 5.6. Hosting24 also provided encrypted URL and weekly backup (which is a good alternative, although I do my own backups). I have three sites there and all three routinely get straight A’s at webpagetest.org. The sites have never been down and are always fast. Customer support is always friendly and helpful, although sometimes slow.

For $100 a year, I could move to a host with phone support and daily backups, but I don’t need that level of support. If I had a commercial site, those would be mandatory, and Hosting24 may even offer that with their VPS, but I don’t know. Overall, for small sites, you could pay four times as much and receive little, if anything, more.

5/100 — 

Even worse than your review

They’re far worse than your review.
Uploading a website, it’s always hit and miss whether it’ll work.
I’ve purchased another domain and the domain according to them is purchased, but if you try and go to the URL it just doesn’t work.
I have a bi-monthly issue where I have to reset my email, password and have had to re-upload my website a couple of times.
Their customer service is non-existent, claiming to be 24/7/365 you’re incredibly lucky if you actually get in touch with anyone at all. Through chat, messages and emails I don’t get any kind of response.
Frankly, I’ve never had this poor a service from anyone with anything and would not recommend them to anyone.

50/100 — 

Insecure password storage

I’ve been a Hosting24 client since January 2017. The load times are abysmal, but I haven’t noticed much downtime – but that may be due to my use of their hosting services for a professional portfolio rather than a client-facing website.

My biggest concern is that I forgot my password early on. I reset my password, and they sent me a password reset email. Cool. But either their random password generator is on point, or they’re storing passwords in a way that can be easily decrpyted because my “new password” was one I frequently use.

80/100 — 

Not that bad!

I’m using hosting24 since 2009. I host more websites and finally I change to a reseller account due the large number of websites I’m hosting on there servers.

I got some problems, like my sites were down, a couple of times, I contact the support, and I got very fast my problem solved! I have some experience also with other hosting sites but the proportional between price and quality is much more better with hosting24! I consider for those prices, services are very good. Maybe when my sites arrive over 1 million visitors per day (!) I’m going to move to another server!

The only con- I will add, is about domain transfer, not all domains are supported, so I need maybe to move some of my .de domains.

91/100 — 

Better than Hostgator

I switched to Hosting24 from hostgator and to tell you the truth this small company has been better than the big , well-known hostgator. My sites loads faster, support is 100 times better and it’s half prize. I read the review about hosting24 being slow and down alot -I haven’t experienced this at all, I guess it depends on what server you are on.

1/100 — 

Conniving Company?

I have a hosting account with 000webhost.com which is ran by Hosting24.. (its their free hosting site), they intentionally suspend your free hosting account essentially locking it and telling you to upgrade to the paid hosting (Hosting24) to un-suspend your account.

They claim I violated the 20% CPU limit over 1000 times.. That is Bullsh*t, I don’t have the traffic nor anything continuous running that would use up CPU, It appears they wait until you establish a website then suspend you to get you to upgrade.. Oh and that 20% CPU limit IS NOT IN THERE TOS… So I believe I’m in my legal rights and am going to attempt to retrieve my website content and if they do not allow me to, I’ll get a lawyer.

70/100 — 

Only one experience with Hosting24

I was using free host before I moved to hosting24. I’m pretty satisifed with them, but to be honest – I don’t have much experience with other hosting providers, nor do I track my website uptime and speed.

Perhaps it’s time for change.

65/100 — 

Decent host, could be much better, though.

Hosting24 was offering a good deal that included a domain name and the hosting for about $10/month. It took quite some time for it to process around 24-48 hours. They claimed that if you did not enjoy they service you can cancel within 30 days and receive your money back, no questions asked. I tried to cancel and they asked for a reason. I told them that I found a better service and they didn’t refund me.

35/100 — 

Too slow

I know that Hosting24 also offer free hosting via 00webhost.com which is VERY bad, but hey – it’s FREE!

Since they heavily suggest Hosting24 – I decided to give it a go. After all, they made my transfer for free which was great as I’m not very computer savvy.

However, after using them for nearly 6 months I’m thinking of leaving. Page load times is a BIG issue for me and lot of my friends and colleagues who want to access to my blog are often saying that it’s loading way to slowly.