HostPapa Review

It's CHEAP, but high renewal fees and lack of speed...

Avatar
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews
HostPapa Review
HostPapa Homepage

HostPapa hosts over 500,000 websites on their data centers in the US and Canada.

That’s impressive considering they’ve only been around since 2006 (founded by Jamie Opalchuck).

One potential explanation for their meteoric rise could be their various customer services options, offering phone support in a few different languages including English, French, Spanish and German to both domestic and international clients.

They must be doing something right to have grown so quickly over the past few years.

In order to find out, we purchased the HostPapa ‘Starter Plan’ in June of 2015. We set-up a simple WordPress website. You can dive into its in-depth performance statistics including uptime and speed (click ‘History’ for more info).

Let’s take a look at how they measure up against the thirty other reviews we’ve done so far:

Pros of HostPapa

Upon signing up, we were excited to see what makes them tick. What could possibly cause such a quick ascent?

At first, we were pleasantly surprised by their great uptime (as you’ll see). They also offer a plethora of customer support options to choose from.

So far so good! But can they live up to the type? Let’s take a look.

1. Above Industry-Average Uptime

We’re happy to report that HostPapa’s uptime has been good since day one.

They’ve posted a 16-month average of 99.96% uptime, .02% above the industry average.

While it sounds trite and obvious, you’d be surprised just how many web hosts struggle with the most foundational element of actually hosting a website — keeping the damn thing live!

Last 16-month average uptime:

  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 99.63%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • December 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • October 2018 average uptime: 99.88%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 99.95%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • December 2017 average uptime: 100%
HostPapa last 16-month statistics
HostPapa average uptime | See stats

2. Extensive Support Options

HostPapa offers extensive support options to help customers in a variety of ways.

You can browse their huge library of self-help videos. They offer 24/7 support through phone, mail, email and even fax (!).

They provide phone support in 18 countries (which might be the most we’ve seen from any company). They’re one of the only hosts to provide support in different languages, including English, French, Spanish, and German.

As if that’s not enough, they also provide an interesting support feature allowing you to connect in a one-on-one session with ‘Papa Squad Experts’, which are essentially guided walkthroughs using video or telephone conference (also – it’s the best customer support title ever!!).

During our own personal investigation, we received a response in less than three minutes from their support staff. Answers to questions were provided within a modest two minutes.

In overall, our experience with AbhijeetJ, our customer service rep, was pretty good.

(Despite the fact that the stock image of Abhijeet being used to represent her, doesn’t seem… well… real. I think it was the blond hair, blue eyes, pearly white smile, and stark white background that tipped me off.)

HostPapa Support

3. Proactive Security Features

HostPapa’s shared hosting plans come with Panda Cloud antispam protection enabled, as well as a server firewall, monitoring, and intrusion detection. Over 37,000 websites get hacked daily, so HostPapa’s proactive security measures are reassuring.

Their Business Pro plan also comes with additional features including domain privacy protection, a free SSL certificate, a dedicated IP address, and automated website backups.

The last thing you need to worry about is security details like spam protection. It’s nice to have someone else watch your back.

4. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee & Site Migration

HostPapa offers an industry standard 30-day money back guarantee for most of their hosting plans.

In addition, they’ll gladly help you transfer an existing website from another host (while also throwing in a free domain name too).

5. Good Value for the Price

HostPapa’s basic pricing starts at $3.95 for the first three years. If you’d rather just sign up for a year or two, it’ll be about a buck extra in both cases.

HostPapa One, Two, and Three-Year Pricing

This pricing is also lower for new customers. That means renewal pricing will increase to $7.99/month on this same Starter plan. So not the best news overall, but fairly common.

The good news is that they do throw in a lot of value for this initial pricing. You get two websites, compared to just one on the basic plan at most other hosts. You also get a free domain registration, 100GB SSD storage, and unmetered bandwidth.

Pretty good, right?

But that’s not all. You’ll also get their “Essential Features” which includes a free website migration, Cloudflare CDN, SSL certificate, and access to their 400+ apps and website builder.

So overall, it’s a pretty good value. Other hosts would make you pay for this stuff, easily pushing the monthly price up well above this initial $3.95/month range.

Cons of HostPapa

Sure, HostPapa had good uptime and support options. Lots of ’em.

Unfortunately, other customers haven’t shared the same positive experience we had. There are also some issues with hidden fees relating to just how ‘free’ the money back guarantee and website setup really is.

We’ll dive into where things start to fall apart in a second.

But first, let’s talk about speed. Or more critically – the absence of it!

1. Average speed

HostPapa’s uptime was great. Their page loading speeds, however, are not.

Over the last sixteen months, they had exactly the industry average page load time(posting an 886ms page loading time compared with 890ms average of the competition).

That’s troubling because slow page loading times have been shown to decrease almost every single important metric across the board, including traffic, page views, conversions, sales, and customer satisfaction.

One month they had a very slow 1,358ms loading time. Beyond that extra sluggish month, they’ve consistently posted below average results too with the exception of those few month periods every year.

Last 16 month average load time:

HostPapa last 16-month detailed statistics
HostPapa average speed | See stats

2. Poor Customer Experience with Support

Personally, our customer support experience went smoothly.

When we conducted a background check into how other customers viewed their extensive support options, the picture wasn’t so rosy.

Despite the HUGE number of available options or avenues to reach HostPapa, the overall customer experience on average is below par.

3. Additional Fees

Most web hosts will set up your website for free. Most web hosts will also offer a ‘free money back guarantee.’

Apparently, two rights make a wrong…

IF you DO request a refund during that 30-day window, they WILL charge you a $29.95 setup fee upon cancellation.

Which means, technically, it’s not a ‘free’ money back guarantee and it’s not a ‘free’ website setup either.

So thanks, but no thanks.

Overview on HostPapa hosting plans + quick facts

Below is a quick overview of HostPapa’s three shared hosting plans.

Please note: Pricing tends to fluctuate often, and these low advertised prices required a three-year sign-up.

HostPapa Pricing and Plans

Starter plan costs $3.95 per month. This plan allows you to host two websites, free domain registration, provides 100GB of disk space, and ‘unlimited’ bandwidth. You also get all of their “Essential Features,” including a free site migration, Cloudflare CDN, SSL certificate, and access to 400+ web apps.

Business plan also costs $3.95 per month. This one allows you to host unlimited websites, free domain registration, unlimited disk space, and unlimited bandwidth. It, too, offers the Essential Features, as well as Advanced Features like unlimited add-on domains, email accounts, and MySQL databases.

Business Pro plan costs $12.95 per month. You get unlimited websites, free domain registration, unlimited SSD storage, bandwidth, plus both Essential and Advanced Features. You also get certain Performance Enhancements like rocket fast servers and unlimited pages for their website builder. You’ll also get automatic site backups, a Premium Wildcard SSL, and domain privacy.

  • Ease of Signup: Very easy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, Paypal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Advertised price is only for the first payment term. Renewals are much more expensive. You will be charged a setup fee of $29.99 if you make use of their refund policy.
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Activation can take a while.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): One-click installer to install popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend HostPapa?

Unfortunately, we do not.

Their uptime was good. They have a TON of different support options available, and we personally had a positive experience.

Digging deeper we found out that the support experience across the board is too inconsistent. Their page load times are honestly bad, posting below-average results regularly. And there are too many hidden fees that make their ‘low’ promotion pricing hard to stomach.

There are simply too many other good web hosts out there that give you a better bang for your buck.

What’s your experience been like with HostPapa? We’d love to hear about it, no matter if it’s positive or negative (as long as it’s transparent and honest).

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Any proof of your experience (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

27 user reviews for HostPapa

Avatar

1 — 

Very poor services

I've received a notification that my website is being negatively impacted the shared website and It need to be resolved by 03/06/2019. However HostPapa did not identify what is causing this issue. I did check my website and hosting dashboard but couldn't find any issue. After that I used email and livechat to find out more details but tech guy couldn't answer what is the issue as he didn't see from his side. I requested whether the ticket should be closed or deadline extension as they need more time to scan my website. The answer was they can only put a request and this will be taken care by the management. So I asked for a management phone number but apparently it was a tech support call centre. I re-provided the issue and the said my account was already been suspended by that issue. How come today was 25/05/2019 and he also couldn't provide what was being issued. Again what he could do was a some requests and make my website goes live again. He said the auto system made that but I paid for the hosting service without a good service and support. This was very unprofessional and very poor service ever. I wouldn't recommend anyone to use HostPapa at all. I will definitely find another supplier.

Avatar

1 — 

Offer Cheap, Threaten Suspension, Upsell, Rince, Repeat

After having used them for a few years, they weren't great but they weren't bad. Last year they pulled a stunt pushing for an upsell to a VPS for a couple of sites that has very little traffic. Probably along the lines of other reviews here that have complained about the same. After overcoming this hurdle and making it very clear that the so called 'tech support' was simply pushing an upsell, we overcome this hurdle with great frustration.

It seems it's time to revenue raise again or someone in tech support is trying to earn their commissions and another suspension threat has been raised. Great to raise suspension threats but respond very slowly with little effort to help resolve. Apologies, there was effort, in providing a proposal to upgrade to either a VPS or a premium business site this time.

Other providers have been so much better, especially with customer service and support and response times.

Avatar

1 — 

Stay away

I signed up several years ago and specifically asked how much email data can I store. I was told unlimited. Last week my website was shut down and I was told that if I want to store more than 500 MB per email address, I could purchase a package. They said it wasn't fair to other users o the same server. Funny, but if I pay over $200.00/year extra all of a sudden its fair? just a cash grab. This company claims to be cheap, but they will screw you later.

Avatar

1 — 

Never Buy

This service provider is cheap in price as well as cheap in quality. I need to chat with customer care 4-5 times in a week for telling them my site is not live. I frustrate with this hosting, sadly buy for 3 years.

Avatar

1 — 

False promises

I was with a host called Site5 last year when I received an email from Derek at Hostpapa stating that Site5 was acquired, their service would change for the worse, and a majority of the original server health and servicing teams had onboarded with Hostpapa. I was extremely fond of the servicing from my previous host, so I started asking questions about the service. They even had Jamie (the CEO of Hostpapa) court me as a lead. I was concerned over the server's physical location and latency, but was assured by Jamie that "we are opening up DC's in the USA this year (probably match your timing)."

I took the bait and migrated over a vanilla Wordpress blog to start and my page load time had gone from an average of 3-4 seconds to 12-13 seconds - even with site caching. I waited a little bit longer for that US-based server. It never came. When I asked about it again I was met with radio silence. They refused to look at resource usage across the shared environment. When I submitted a support ticket about site speed they sent me to the knowledge base and closed the ticket. When I asked to be refunded a prorated amount for hosting, I was denied. I had only used 6 weeks out of my 52 week purchase, and even a partial prorated refund would have been satisfactory. They refused to work with me. They basically stole my money with yes-sirs and false promises and delivered a level of service that was far below expectations.

Based on my experience, my opinion is that Hostpapa provided a minimum viable product marketed as a top tier solution. If server location, resource balancing, and page load time is absolutely something you're concerned about, consider taking your business to another hosting company.

Avatar

1 — 

Avoid like plague

If you fancy a server that take 5 minute just to install a plugin, or if enjoy inaccessible cPanel that you gotta contact them to reset your password everyday, perhaps you love to see stale cached pages from your website ... Yes, this is the right host.

Oh I forgot, another unique feature of this is the only host you can never add a domain not until and after the DNS is completely pointed to them. Same thing with FTP. Ever heard of a host that you can;t even do SFTP? I have no clue why so except I do know they don't like you to hang around their backend.

Avatar

1 — 

refund stinks

Bought into the sales B.S. Afr a couple of days it was too much for my needs so contaced to get refund.

Original bill was 91.97 including tax

The line items were "web hosting business" 71.40 ( 5.95 / month) Domain registration 0.00 Domain Privacy ( which your are forced to take) 9.99.

Final refund was 64.87 hardly a full refund. I say Stay away. If they cannot provide a full refund then how can you expect them to provide the service they advertise.

Avatar

2 — 

Stay away, desperate in upselling

I'm currently hosting five small sites with Hostpapa under a shared server plan. The amount of traffic my five websites are getting per day is minuscule, each has somewhere between 20 - 50 visits per day only.

Just like the well known GoDaddy practice they now force me to buy a VPS package by claiming that my small sites use up too much resources. This is not justifiable, it's just desperate and unprofessional.

If they can't even host small, low traffic sites without constantly 'breaking' then there is no point staying with Hostpapa. I will leave after my hosting plan finishes.

Frank

Avatar

1 — 

Absolute Nightmare

Nightmare from start to finish... They were tasked with the transfer of my website from Inmotion hosting... They screwed it up majorly... In the end, I was asked to go back to Inmotion and ask them if they still had my back up and if I get get a copy... (I think they were just too embarrassed to ask for themselves)

When eventually they got it up and running after 7 days my Google ranking had been affected...

Now with Hostpapa, you are responsible for the management of doing your own backups for your site. I explained that I wasn't happy doing this and could they do it. They agreed...

Three months later my site started having issues, I started getting between 5 and 20 Pingdom alerts every day, when I told them about this they just degraded Pingdom and being a joke website. Then a button stopped working, then a page wouldn't load, then another button stopped working, kept doing the repairs but then they started to escalate until eventually, the website crashed...

So I contacted support and asked them to clean it out and run the backup...

THEY HADN'T SET THE BACK UP TO RUN... AND THE FILES THAT THEY GOT FROM INMOTION THEY NO LONGER HAD. SO I HAD NO BACK UP FOR MY SITE (OVER 3,000 PAGES GONE).

Now to make things worse they asked me to ask Inmotion Hosting if they still had my file...

Then about 2 weeks after they lost my site I get this email...

The HostPapa System Administrators have flagged your account for overuse of shared hosting resources.

My name is Oscar, and I am currently your account manager. My job is to resolve the current issue, so that your website +hosting services are active, and optimized.

Your shared hosting account has reached and/or breached its plan resource server limits. It is very likely that you have too many visitors, activities, background processes, or a combination of these factors. Server CPU usage, memory, and disc space are being impacted and, higher than normal resources have been allocated for your shared hosting space.

Currently, 335.000 hits on ourk9.com, in July, were impacting other accounts, because of the constant overuse of shared resources to keep your services active. HostPapa is fair to all clients that are on shared servers and we can’t allow this to continue.

To avoid any service disruptions, I highly recommend you reply to this email in order to find and implement a speedy solution to this matter.

Yea they got a reply...

The plan I was their WP Business Pro Plan $215.40 per year...

Compensation for them destroying my business... A refund of $149.12 of unused hosting...

HOSTPAPA ARE THE WORST OF THE WORST AND I HAVE BEEN USING HOSTING NOW FOR MORE THAN 23 YEARS... THEY ARE WITHOUT DOUBT THE MOST INCOMPETENT HOSTING COMPANY OUT THERE...

Avatar

5 — 

Reliable service

I joined HostPapa over 10 years ago. I paid someone else to do my website and she decided to host it with HostPapa. I also have my domain with them. I eventually started to update my website myself with no prior experience and with help of my friend. Not knowing anything about it, I heavily relied on HostPapa's support. I was not disappointed. Their customer support was always great. So very helpful!!! I just finished my own website I created with WIX and I needed to point my domain to them. HostPapa just did it for me. I misunderstood and cancelled my webhosting with HostPapa having still 2 years left. A service representative from HostPapa pointed it out to me and gave me better options. He cancelled my cancellation and fixed my problem within 24 hrs. I would recommend HostPapa, especially if you have limited knowledge about website hosting. And when you have limited knowledge, that's when customer service is like gold!

Avatar

5 — 

Great service for a simple site

I run a simple website that contains just HTML pages. As such, it delivers the pages and assets quite quickly. However, when I was using WordPress, I didn't notice any issues.

Their support is fantastic! I can always depend on them to help me find an answer.

Regards,
Ryan

Avatar

1 — 

Rubbish Customer Services

Back in 2008 I took out a HostPapa plan where everything was pefect.
However, since 2015, I’ve had nothing but trouble.
Poor server response times and severe lag. With technical support taking days to fix, sometimes taking even 24 hours just to respond to the ticket.

Despite moving my services to a newer server (twice), we still suffered severe outages or web site lag.

This has greatly impacted our Google ranking, and without doubt lost us customers.
In my opinion shared servers are over populated.

So I took it upon myself to raise a complaint with HostPapa, asking how they expect I run a small business with such frequent outages and downtime.

What do I recieve for my complaint?
HostPapa terminating my contract.

I’m absolutely appauled and discusted.
It seems HostPapa’s way of keeping customer satisfaction high, is to terminate the contracts of those who have the audacity to complain.

Please read for yourself.

We want our customers to be happy at HostPapa, unfortunately following a review of your feedback regarding HostPapa and the services we provide it is clear that you have not been happy with us. As this is not a healthy business relationship we have taken the decision to end the relationship at this time and we are now providing you with 30 days notice.

Absolutely appauling customer services.

Avatar

5 — 

Host Papa's Support Team Is The Cat's Pyjamas

I have been hosting multiple websites with Hostpapa for quite a few years and I have had nothing but positive experiences with their team. It can be so stressful for a casual web developer just starting out and the Hostpapa team have been so supportive of every question I’ve had or problem I have experienced. Keep up the great work!

Avatar

5 — 

6 years of great service

I have both a personal and a business site with HostPapa. I find their services to be of good value, and their support is great. I have had quick responses on the phone and through the site chat the few times I had questions. I would certainly recommend HostPapa to my friends and colleagues.

Avatar

5 — 

Do what they say = write!

My first impulse was when what was promoted clearly was actually the deal, with no costs or ridiculous conditions to obtain the price displayed. I am saying it because all other main providers did just that. And on top of that the cost is very good. I must add that customer service is swift, knowledgable and full of solutions. Also their automatic communication is just complete, that leaves you with no guesswork. This is important to me as I am not experienced with all of this, when even transferring my hosting for for the first time :-/
I can only highly recommend HostPapa as a provider for all you small and big websites and mails.

Avatar

5 — 

10 Year Satisfied Customer

I started with Hostpapa in 2007 after some bad experiences elsewhere. Mostly I develop web applications in PHP and MySQL. Hostpapa has been improving steadily over the years. If I have performance problems, one “call” to the chat guy and they fix it. Same with technical problems, one online chat and it’s fixed in minutes. Cpanel is getting better and better, Hostpapa gives me enough access to ini files to configure what I need. If I need more than 50 emails per day, they consider and usually grant my request. The account interface is intuitive and billing/payment is simple. I recommend Hostpapa to ANYONE.

Avatar

5 — 

Quite content

I chose Host Papa on the recommendation of a colleague when I was looking for someone to host my blog. That was a year ago and I have been completely happy with their service, their assistance and their people. I have contacted them a few time for support and they have been very good. Recently I contacted them as I was getting an error message that no one seemed to understand or correct. This firm did and took care of the problem and maintained contact with me to ensure that the correction worked and that I was problem free.
I have been very happy with them.

Avatar

5 — 

Excellent Support

HostPapa was recommended to me by one of our developers. I decided to build some websites myself, partly as a DIY experiment, but more so as an education process so that, to a degree, I have a better handle on what our developers deal with.

As I came across various newbie development issues the HostPapa support people and the online chat people were not only very helpful, they were quite patient. So much so, a few of the HostPapa support people were so kind as to provide me with a tutorial/explanation or a link that provided me info.

Also now that I know a few more things I can say the overall service and hosting has been very good.

So if asked today I would highly recommend HostPapa.

Avatar

5 — 

Good quality service!

I’ve used Hostpapa for four years now, and recommend them to any of my clients who require hosting. The hosting provided by Hostpapa has consistent and reliable uptime, good speed and good stability.

One standout feature of Hostpapas service is their 24/7 support, which I’ve found very useful for helping to resolve and answer technical questions and issues that arise from time to time. Previous hosting providers left my sites open to hackers (which did occur) and did not deliver anywhere near the levels of support that Hostpapa does.

Avatar

3 — 

Great Support

I was only with Host Papa for a year for a new domain I was meaning to develop. As it turned out, I launched a simple site but never made the time to grow it into a viable project, so I chose to cancel my hosting since I wasn’t going to use that web page anymore. For the time I was with HostPapa I found them to be helpful with clear and understandable support. I was not treated as a doddering old fool. They had patience with my questions. Also when I was late in cancelling, they did not charge me extra as they could have which for a business these days is outstanding customer service. I recommend them for excellent hosting and customer care.

Avatar

4 — 

Overall: Long-Term, Satisfied Customer

I’ve been with HostPapa for about 5 years. My personal website is a portfolio, so it is nothing content-heavy – just a paragraph of text and a minimalistic gallery. For this, HostPapa has been excellent. I never experience any downtime & speed is lightning fast.

For another website I run, which is a much heavier site with WordPress and WooCommerce installed, I am experiencing issues. This is on a separate shared hosting plan, and this site is facing a TON of downtime... Almost every day the site has some sort of connection error. This site gets a lot more traffic and I am told that this is just “one of the risks of shared hosting”, and that I should upgrade to VPS to solve all my problems (almost a $300 difference annually). I’m still going back and forth with them to see what my options are.

I will say, however, I always have a pleasant experience with HostPapa’s support team. They always respond almost instantly, and are happy to go through any issues I have until the problem is solved. I am considering upgrading that second website to see if it makes a difference, but if it doesn’t, I will need to go somewhere else for hosting.

I don’t want to leave HostPapa because for my personal site I’ve had nothing but positive experiences, it is only in the past month or so where I’ve been experiencing issues with that second site, but obviously I need a website that is up at all times.

Avatar

2 — 

Good set of tools but horribly fluctuating load times

Initially I was pleased with the set of tools available on Hostpapa and their support also seemed responsive. Was able to build a website fairly quickly and at good quality however the rest of the story is less positive.

The load times of the site fluctuate at incredible rates. Sometimes the site loads under 1 second (5-10% of times), then goes up to 3 seconds (40% of times), it loads above 3 seconds (45% of times) and reaches 5-10-15 second load times easily. Finally about 4-5% of times the site times out. The site is quite small in size – about 4 pages and 1.5 mb in size.

Problem isn’t solved yet, not even after providing them proof and monitoring the site for weeks.

This means visitors have a terrible experience therefore I must consider changing host!

Too bad! Initially I liked their tooling and their support.

Avatar

1 — 

Absolute Thieves

I was with Hostpapa for 12 months. During that time my site was hacked into numerous times. The response from support was usually that I should consider upgrading. I was testing the company for the 12 month period to see if they were suitable at the level at which I had purchased, had I been happy I would have upgraded. The company often didn’t know when the site had been hacked and was offline. They would make silly statements such as ‘the fault is with your browser, other people can see your site’ which wasn’t true, ‘other people’ had contacted me already to say the site was down along with all my other sites.
The worst was yet to come. I purchased hosting elsewhere and began to move my domains and sites away. I moved only two before suddenly I could not get access to my domains or sites. Hostpapa held my domain names captive and refused to let me have them!!! They kept the domains for at least 6 weeks then charged my account for services I didn’t want! I ended up getting some more domains and just left the others which host papa are now trying to charge me for!!! They blocked my emails and ‘support’ would simply lie to me. They have no phone connected in their “Sydney” office (and I have to wonder if it actually exists at all.)
The worst hosting ever! Never ever go near them. They may appear reasonable for a while but if you refuse to pay for more ‘services’ or criticize their poor service you will pay a hefty price. Google ‘host papa won’t give me my domains’ or ‘hostpapa wrongfully debit my account’ and similar searches… which reveal their illegal practices.
If a lawyer happens to read this I would love to take legal action against these thieves.

Avatar

5 — 

Outstanding support

I have been with Host Papa for just over a year. I had issues with my website including malware which they helped me remove and offered me a service for protection from this happening again. The server speed is fast and the support are very friendly. I highly recommend Host Papa.

Avatar

1 — 

Cheating webhost

First year they gave the website with minimum cost. Next year without your permission debit the money from your account. Be careful. Cheating Fellows.

Avatar

5 — 

I'm pleased...

When I first found HostPapa I couldn’t believe I was getting everything my old host offered for a fraction of the price, and figured there had to be a catch. So far I can say the only downsides I have found are that FTP access is a little slow and there have been maybe 2 or 3 instances I’ve noticed in the first year that my sites were briefly inaccessible (which happened on my old host anyway). This hasn’t happened for a few months, however.

On the upside, there is the price, the great customer service, and the fact I have everything I need at my fingertips to host several small sites for my friends’ businesses & take care of their emails. Overall, very pleased.

Avatar

3 — 

April 19, 2016

I bought HostPapa cheapest plan in 2013 – it cost less than $2 at that time. It seems like they’ve raised their prices.

I’ve been using them for smaller projects, thus I haven’t really kept an eye on the uptime/speed. However, for me it seems like it’s on the slower side as I can’t complain much about my internet connection.

Another con is that their renewal fees can be higher (around $4/month if I remember correctly).

Overall they aren’t a bad host. Support is quite helpful and it’s perfect for test/smaller sites.