InterServer Review

Avatar
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews
interserver homepage
InterServer Homepage

InterServer is a web hosting provider that seeks to create an all-in-one experience for its users. It has been providing hosting services for 21 years, since 1999. Not only does InterServer offer shared hosting, but also dedicated servers, quick servers, and cloud hosting.

On top of hosting, InterServer also features email, domain names, and a website builder.

But is all of that enough to get our recommendation?

We personally test every web hosting service that we review — judging the effectiveness of its customer service department, its uptime, speed, and overall usability to determine which one is right for you and your business.

How did InterServer stack up against its biggest competitors like Bluehost and GoDaddy?

Read on to find out!

General Info & Hosting Overview


OUR VERDICT: Recommended
SPEED: 489ms (December 2019 to May 2020)
UPTIME: 99.92% (December 2019 to May 2020)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat, Email, Contact Form, Knowledge Base
APPS: WordPress, Drupal, Mambo, Joomla, Magento, PrestaShop, etc.
FEATURES: Inter-Proxy Caching, Intershield Security, Unlimited Email Accounts, Unlimited Storage and Bandwidth, Site Builder, Unlimited Domains, Weekly Backups, Cloudflare CDN
HOSTING PLANS: Standard, Pro, ASP.net, Email Hosting, Cloud VPS, Dedicated
SITE TRANSFER: Free
PRICING: Starting at $4.00/mo (with a 2-year plan)

Pros of Using InterServer Hosting

1. Free Email Accounts

InterServer provides email accounts for free. What’s more, these accounts are unlimited, with no cap imposed on the end-user.

This is not just great for the branding of your business, but it’s also one less monthly expense that you have to pay. This way you don’t have to use a third-party service like G-Suite to have a branded email account that matches your domain.

2. Free Site Migration

Not every business that signs up with InterServer is going to be building an all-new website. Some of them have established sites on other platforms and will need to transfer that site over to InterServer.

That’s another service that InterServer includes for free.

Free migration is something that we always like to see in a web host provider. It helps to ease the burden of transitioning your site.

3. Uptime – 99.92%

Uptime is crucial when choosing a web hosting provider. After all, you want to make sure that when you’re paying for a service to keep your website on the internet, it’s actually keeping your website on the internet.

Most hosting providers that we review claim an uptime of 99.9%, but we still like to do our own test to provide you with the most complete and accurate information possible.

InterServer last 6 month uptime and speed
InterServer average uptime | See stats

InterServer delivered an average uptime of  99.92% for the last 6 months with 4 hours of downtime and 25 outages. It could definitely be better, but luckily they have already shown improved data from January 2020, so we hope to see even better results from now on.

We will continue to monitor them and will keep updating this review once we have more data.

4. Great Speed

Among uptime, speed is also an important factor while choosing a host. Not only does Google penalize sites that load too slow, but also users are more likely to leave your website if it takes too much time to respond.

For example, according to one study, website conversion rates drop by an average of 4.42% with each additional second of load time (between seconds 0-5) and the best speed for your conversion rates is 0-4 seconds.

InterServer claims that its service is specially optimized to provide users with the fastest website speeds possible. Of course, we wanted to measure that ourselves and created a test site on their platform which we continuously monitor over an extended period of time.

interserver average speed
InterServer average speed December 2019-May 2020 | See stats

It seems that their claims are true. InterServer has delivered an excellent average speed of 489ms for the last 6 months.

This is a huge improvement, especially compared to 2018 and 2019 data, where their speed was way slower. For example, in January 2019 it took an average of 1.7 seconds to load our test site.

Once we have gathered more data, we will update this review accordingly.

5. 24/7 Live Chat Support

Live chat is an essential communication option on any business’ website. Not only is it the fastest way to contact customer support but it also plays a huge role in customer satisfactory – live chat has the highest consumer satisfaction rate at 92%.

We went hands-on with InterServer’s 24/7 live chat support and were happy with what we encountered.

Chat sessions are initiated by clicking on the chat link on the bottom of the page.

interserver chat logo

It took InterServer about 5 minutes to respond. Definitely not the fastest response time we’ve encountered, but still quick enough to keep our attention and not go looking for answers elsewhere.

interserver live chat

What followed was a pleasant chat with the InterServer support team, during which they provided us with prompt and complete answers.

On top of live chat, InterServer also has a vast knowledge base, phone support, ticketing, and email option.

6. Price Lock Guarantee

InterServer allows you to keep the price that you signed up with through its price lock guarantee.

That means the price of hosting isn’t going to shoot up after a year or two. The price you pay when you sign up will stay the same.

The majority of hosting providers offer promotions like this exclusively for a limited time, and you’ll eventually end up paying more. It’s nice to see a web hosting service that is willing to continue honoring promotional pricing forever.

7. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

We always like to see a web host that is willing to stand by its service and provide a no-risk situation for new subscribers.

InterServer gives new subscribers a 30-day money-back guarantee — plenty of time to test InterServer out and make sure that their customer service, uptime, and speed are to your liking.

8. Free SSL Security and Intershield

All of InterServer’s hosting plans come with a free SSL certificate. This is an added security boost at no cost that goes a long way toward establishing trust with your potential customers.

If you don’t have an SSL certificate, Google could list your site as being unsecured, which is a great way to drive off customers before you even get started.

InterServer also comes with Intershield security.

This is a security system developed by InterServer which performs several vital security functions, including:

  • Blocking web attacks
  • Scanning for viruses
  • Includes a firewall built with machine learning
  • Pulls from an in-house malware database

9. Unlimited SSD Storage Space

More expensive services like Kinsta tend to limit the space that you can have on every plan. You’re paying more, but you are also limited to how much information you can put on your site.

InterServer places no such limits on subscribers.

All shared hosting plans come with unlimited SSD storage space

10. Free Website Builder

Another bonus to using InterServer is that the website builder SitePad is included with your subscription at no additional charge.

This is perfect for newer businesses that are not migrating a site onto the service. If they’re just starting up and looking to build a website, they can build and host it all through the same platform.

11. Easy to Use cPanel

InterServer uses cPanel for a dashboard interface, which is popular with a lot of hosting services.

The first thing you’ll notice is that cPanel’s main page is very busy. It can even feel overwhelming at first.

interserver cpanel

However, you don’t need to search through endless items to find what you’re looking for. The search bar at the top makes it easy to find a specific function. Just type what you’re looking for into the search bar and cPanel will immediately pull it up for you.

There’s a reason why so many services use cPanel. It’s simple to use and can be picked up by anyone thanks to its layout and search function.

Cons of Using InterServer Hosting

1. Free Domain Not Included

While it is possible to purchase a domain name through InterServer, they do not offer free domains.

To get a domain, you’re going to have to pay, but InterServer offers these domains at a significant discount. Typically, you’re going to spend around $15-$20 for a domain name for one year using a service like GoDaddy. With InterServer, you’re only paying about $1.99.

While it’s a reasonable price, it’s still $1.99 more than a lot of other web hosting services are charging.

2. Lack of Data Center Locations

The physical location of data centers can majorly influence your website’s speed and uptime. Meaning, if your server is far away from its users, it will take more time for information to arrive at its destination. Since the process of obtaining data can be lengthy due to further locations, it can also make the site’s page load time slower, and that in turn creates a negative user experience.

Currently, InterServer has its servers housed in four data centers, all located in the US: three servers in Secaucus, NJ, and one in Los Angeles. That is not much, especially compared to some hosts who have 20+ data centers all around the globe.

So, if you’re located outside of the US or if most of your web traffic is formed by non-US visitors, you might re-think whether InterServer is for you.

InterServer Cost, Plans, and Payment Methods

InterServer is an affordable web hosting service with only one plan. They are currently offering a discount “stay at home” package for $1.00 for 3 months of the standard hosting plan. After that, you would need to pay the same renewal price, which is $4 per month for 24 months and $4.50 per month for one year.

interserver pricing

When looking for a monthly option on the InterServer website, we could not find anything. However, when speaking with customer support, we were told that it would only be $5 per month to use InterServer with no commitment.

InterServer’s plan comes with unlimited SSD storage, unlimited email, global content caching, website migration, the website builder, access to more than 450 Cloud apps, Intershield protection, and a free SSL Certificate.

InterServer offers a 30-day money-back guarantee. They accept all credit/debit cards and PayPal for payment.

Do We Recommend InterServer?

Yes, we do.

With InterServer, you’re getting a highly secure host with quality customer service. Not to mention added free bonuses like email and site migration.

The ability to build your site, acquire a domain, get email accounts, and host the website all through InterServer makes this an all-in-one service, which is always preferred.

Moreover, InterServer has shown improved page load time and they also keep up with their uptime guarantee.

While the domains are not free, InterServer still provides them at a steep discount, so it’s not going to make too much of a difference.

On top of that, it’s well priced. The service maxes out at just $5 per month, and you get a lot for that little amount.

P.S. Have you used InterServer before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors. Thanks for your support.

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Any proof of your experience (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

0 user reviews for InterServer