iPage Review

They're cheap, but what about their performance?

Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews

I’ve been a paying customer for iPage for the last 37 months. During that time, I’ve monitored their performance – avg. load time and uptime.

This review relies strongly on data, such as uptime, load time (speed) and customer support experience.

 

What is iPage?

iPage Hosting is an Endurance International Group (EIG) brand, acquired in 2010 from founder Thomas Gorny.

EIG has been around for about 20 years, and they’re a force to be reckoned with, to say the least.

EIG owns some huge names in the web hosting world, like FatCow, Bluehost, HostMonster, Just Host, PowWeb, EasyCGI, StartLogic, Dot5Hosting, VPSLink, and more.

Originally started in 1998, iPage Hosting now has offices in six worldwide locations serving over one million websites between two data centers in the U.S.

Phew, that was a mouthful.


There’s a slight hesitation that occurs when we find out we’re reviewing yet another EIG-owned company. Our experience with most of them has been, well, not great.

They’re big. Well known. And wildly inconsistent (typically falling somewhere between average and poor).

That being said, we want to be proved wrong. Maybe iPage could, delivering stunning performance statistics that we can’t deny or hide.

To find out, we set up a WordPress website on their ‘Essential’ shared hosting plan in June 2015. We’ve been running performance tests ever since to monitor the most important hosting characteristics like uptime and speed which are critical to your site (and business) success.

 

Pros of iPage Hosting

First, the good news.

iPage is perhaps the cheapest hosting option available. Like, cheap x 2.

Their support is pretty decent (albeit inconsistent), while their partnership with SiteLock can help you sleep well at night knowing someone else is worrying about the potential security problems or issues.

Here’s a quick rundown of the biggest benefits to iPage.

 

1. Cheap, Inexpensive Hosting

iPage Hosting comes in at only $1.99 per month (Check out our article on Cheapest & Best Performing Web Hosting), making it one of the cheapest web hosts available in the marketplace.

The great news, is that not only does this rate apply to their long-term deals (like 36 months), but also their shorter, minimum one of 12 months too.

That means you won’t necessarily have to get locked into (or pay upfront) a three-year deal (like many other hosts out there required) just to get the best advertised rate.

2. Good Customer Support

You don’t always expect the lowest cost provider to have good support. But iPage bucks that trend, providing decent support through phone, email and live chat.

Despite the twenty-minute connection delay, their rep answered all of our questions directly with additional helpful details along the way. We were very satisfied, especially when compared across all of the other web hosts we’ve reviewed this far.

iPage Support reviewed

(It’s worth mentioning that our background checks revealed mixed reviews. So buyer beware I guess.)

3. Enhanced Security Options

All iPage Hosting plans come with a SiteLock security suite, which is like a security frontline for your site.

Apparently, iPage and SiteLock did a user study and found that 12%+ of subscriber sites contained malware at some point in 2014.

SiteLock helps prevent unwanted security breaches by regularly scanning for malware issues. Depending on the plan you choose, this also includes them going in and removing the malicious stuff for you.

In addition, they’ll use a firewall to help prevent any potential security leaks. For example, running a site with outdated plugins makes you an easy target, as updates regularly reveal where holes or breaches exist in past versions.

Best of all, they’ll also include daily backups. So IF something were to happy, you can simply roll back to a prior version ASAP to get things back online.

This is a nice added bonus that many other web hosts will charge additionally for, making that super low $1.99 look even better yet.

4. Third Party Application Support

iPage plays well with others, connecting simply with Google Apps, PayPal, and more. That’s especially helpful for eCommerce websites who need to handle secure payment transactions.

iPage also throws in some bonus credits on new accounts for Google AdWords, Yahoo, and Bing.

5. Upfront, Honest (Cheap) Pricing

Many web hosts appear inexpensive at first. Especially most EIG brands who are frequent perpetrators of this trick.

Things look rosy until you click ‘Checkout’ and discover (to your dismay) that to lock-in that great deal you’ve been told about thus far, you’ll have to fork over three-years worth, all at once.

Fortunately, iPage is different – charging you the same monthly rate no matter which duration you’d prefer (assuming a minimum of 12 months). Honesty and transparency goes a long way in our books.

It IS worth noting however, that when this low-priced promotional period ends, get ready for a huge rate hike. Without spoiling the punchline, check out Con #3 below.

6. 30-Day Money Back Guarantee

Most web hosts offer some kind of money back guarantee. iPage Hosting is one of them.

But there’s something a bit different about this web host’s money back guarantee in comparison to others:

There are no strange terms and conditions that apply.

iPage Hosting claims that if you contact them within 30 days of purchasing and request a refund, they’ll give it to you with no questions asked.

Some other web hosts, in comparison, won’t give you a refund if you use a certain amount of bandwidth or payment method that their guarantee doesn’t cover.

You’ll have to pay for your domain name though. Skip to con number 4 to read more about expensive domain names.

7. Strong Uptime of 99.98%

While iPage’s pricing is among the cheapest we’ve seen, their uptime (similarly to HostGator) is among the highest we’ve seen too. That’s is really good.

Their average uptime of 99.98% over the past twelve months is significantly higher than many of the other web hosts we’ve reviewed to date (and .04% better than the industry average).

2017:

  • September average uptime: 99.87%
  • October average uptime: 100%
  • November average uptime: 99.96%
  • December average uptime: 100%

2018:

  • January average uptime: 99.98%
  • February average uptime: 99.97%
  • March average uptime: 99.98%
  • April average uptime: 100%

 

iPage: Page Load Speed and Uptime (Last 8 months, full data can be found here.)

In addition to that, iPage claims to offer 24/7 uptime monitoring. If a site goes down, iPage’s support is supposed to begin working to get things back online immediately.

8. iPage is an EPA Green Power Partner

iPage is an EPA Green Power Partner, meaning that the data centers and web servers that support iPage and its users are powered by wind energy.

Because of this, iPage is certified as a green site, and the company purchases enough Renewable Energy Certificates (REC) to offset their energy use by as much as 200%!

This is the same as planting a whopping 244 acres of trees or taking 244 cars off of the road. Talk about saving the planet!

ipage epa green

RECs prove that, although electricity is purchased from a regular grid, the portion that is being used was created from renewable energy sources.

By hosting with iPage, you’ll be contributing to their commitment to helping the planet.

If you’re looking to reduce your carbon footprint or work with socially conscious brands, iPage is a web host you should seriously consider.

 

Cons of iPage Hosting

iPage’s pricing is virtually unbeatable. Their customer support is pretty good too!

Unfortunately, their other performance statistics don’t fair as well. Let’s take a look.

 

 

1. Loading Time Could be Better

If their uptime wasn’t bad enough, prepare to be amazed.

iPage’s page loading times came in at 868ms, making it only about 2.47% faster than competition’s average (890ms).

That’s almost absurdly bad, especially when some of the best web hosts we’ve reviewed regularly deliver page loading speeds of under 500ms.

Here’s the other problem.

Site speed isn’t just a vanity metric. Slow page loading times negatively impact SEO, meaning lower rankings and less visibility, which = lower site traffic.

But if that’s not bad enough, slow site speed can also tank conversions by causing people to leave your site in droves. For example, if your site fails to load under three seconds, 50% of your visitors will leave!

Typically when a company gets acquired by a large conglomerate, they get access to more resources (read: more $$$) to reinvest.

However based on their performance so far, we’re not exactly sure where that pocket change went. Perhaps for marketing?

Last 8 month average load time

2017:

  • September average speed: 896ms
  • October average speed: 928ms
  • November average speed: 885ms
  • December average speed: 888ms

2018:

  • January average speed: 854ms
  • February average speed: 804ms
  • March average speed: 870ms
  • April average speed: 818ms

2. Expensive Renewal Costs

iPage advertises (and delivers) low ‘promotional pricing’ for plans of 12-36 months. They’re honest and transparent about those rates, which is great!

But…

What happens when that plan period ends? Unfortunately, our investigation revealed that your costs will jump on up more than $8.99 when it’s time to renew.

This ‘renewal pricing’ applies to ALL of their hosting plans, too.

That’s a minimum jump of over 350%! Ouch.

And it ends up being MORE expensive than a seriously legit host (not one who’s uptime is so bad and speed so embarrassing that you wonder how they remain in business).

3. Expensive Domain Names

Good news. iPage will throw in a new domain name with a 30-day money back guarantee for new account signups.

Only issue?

If you DO ask for your money back during that thirty-day window, they’ll deduct a $15 fee for the domain name (even though those typically cost under $10 in most cases).

So technically, that free domain name and money back guarantee aren’t so great (or free) after all.

4. No cPanel

Almost every single web host will let you use cPanel.

But not iPage. Instead, they go with lesser known cPanel alternative vDeck (Dreamhost is one of the only others to not use cPanel either).

This isn’t ideal, as cPanel tends to be more user-friendly and up-to-date than vDeck for more sophisticated users.

5. It’s Not Really “Unlimited”

iPage claims to offer unlimited hosting. But if you take a closer look at the company’s User Agreement, you’ll find that it isn’t truly unlimited.

ipage user agreement

It’s only “unlimited” if you don’t exceed the amount of CPU resources that they’re allocating to your account.

In fact, if you exceed a certain level of CPU usage, iPage could even suspend your account.

If your account has a large number of files over 200,000 inodes, they will ask you to reduce the size (or be suspended).

The same thing goes for accounts with an excessive number of MySQL/PostgreSQL tables (over 1,000).

 

iPage Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the hosting plans offered by iPage:

Shared Hosting: iPage currently only offers one shared hosting plan called the ‘Essential Plan’. This plan costs $1.99 per month when you first sign up and can cost up to $11.95 per month when it is time to renew your hosting.

Their shared hosting plan comes with unlimited storage, bandwidth, domain names and MySQL databases. It also comes with several integrations, apps and site builders like Wix.

WordPress Hosting: They have two main WordPress hosting plans:

  • WP Starter: This plan costs $3.75 per month. It comes with a customized control panel, important plugins preinstalled and handpicked themes.
  • WP Essential: This plan costs $6.95 per month. It comes with all the features of the Starter plan, and it uses SSD-based infrastructure to boost site speed and performance. It has unlimited disk space and malware protection, and they claim it can handle millions of visitors monthly.

iPage pricing options

 

  • Free domain? Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Fairly easy sign up process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Refunds only issued to Credit Cards, and they charge a $35 fee for early cancellation. Customers cannot use ‘excessive’ amount of CPU resources; although they do not specify what they mean by ‘excessive’.
  • Upsells: Lots of upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: Easy-to-use vDeck control Panel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Easy installation of popular apps and CMSs via their control panel.

 

Do we recommend iPage?

Low prices ($1.99/mo) and the availability of Live Chat Support make iPage on of the most appealing web hosting services around. This might be true, but hosting with them will make your site a little slower.

What’s good about iPage Hosting?

  • Strong uptime – 99.98%
  • Very affordable hosting
  • Excellent customer support
  • Top-notch security options
  • Supports third-party applications
  • Pricing is honest, upfront, and cheap
  • 30-day money back guarantee
  • iPage is a green web host

What’s bad about iPage Hosting?

  • Poor page loading speeds
  • Costly renewals
  • Pricey domain names
  • No cPanel

Any experience with iPage Hosting? Please leave us your iPage review (positive or negative) – as long as it’s transparent and authentic!

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and earn $10 when we approve it.

Review Title

Web Host Rating (1-100)

Upload image (optional)

83 user reviews for iPage

40/100 — 

Customer service not what it was

Service used to be great, but now has been farmed out oversees, so had a number of errors occur last week where the "tech support" folks ended up help lose a number of pages on my original site. I was adding a domain and moving some pages over from the original site. A "ticket" was placed, but no action taken and now they say the pages can't be recovered. Huge waste of time these folks have caused.

1/100 — 

Horrible Service

I had trouble with it since day one. I bought my own domain and they wouldn't change it from the subdomain, I tried calling for weeks with no answer. I got emails with more advertising and there so called tips and to call if you need support so I called some more. No answer, and there emails the send are no reply. No response from the one they gave for contact info. After months with no Help I tried emailing them again to cancel. I don't think looked at it. Today I received a email from them telling me my time is up they will cancel me if I don't renew in a couple days. Renew they have to be joking.

50/100 — 

Terrible Support and Hidden Fees

I have had this service for several days. Nothing worked right from the start and every call I made to the 24/7 support was answered eventually by some person on the other side of the planet who I could barely understand. They were all reading the same script which says "I am sorry but I can not fix this problem" at which point they pass me on to someone else who will contact me in 24/48 hours. Try 72 hours. I have eventually gotten my site going and I discover that every time I try to do anything I find that I need an upgrade of some sort and they want another 500 dollars. I would have never gotten this plan had I noticed that it only allows 5 pages and 6 products. This thing sucks.

1/100 — 

Ipage = Crooks

They are not $1.99/month. They jacked my price up to over $300/year using negative billing (I didn't see the email telling me the price was going up so instead waiting until I consented, they jacked up the price immensely without my realizing it). Disputed the auto-billed charge but only received automated message that didn't acknowledge my issue, nor would the send me our original contract to see how they were allowed to do that without my consent. Bad company, do not use!!!

1/100 — 

IPage Incompetiance Galor!

Had Ipage for 1 year just to have an email server. Time comes by where I have to renew my domain name, they wanted 10x more and refused to lower the price. So the only thing I wanted to do was renew the domain and host somewhere else. I've tried 4 different types of payments were I knew 100% the card was good. Called these fools up and they keep on giving you the run around. After explaining to a bunch of illiterates, I said Ok i'll just use PayPal. Thinking PayPal would be 123 and done with, I still get errors from PayPal even though once again there's nothing wrong with my account! Stay away from these jokesters. What would seem to be an easy thing to do, now has cost me the ability to transfer my domain in time before I loose my email addresses because of an expired domain!

1/100 — 

This is a ripoff run away

This company is the biggest rip off hosting service you will find. I tried there service, and after trying it I made sure I marked it not to renew the hosting services as well as the domain names and I forgot about it never using it again. Then what happen next shocked me!! They renewed it anyway without my permission. I tried disputing it with my financial institution, but they still charged me. Then what happen next was even more shocking. iPage disabled my access to my hosting because I disputed the charge . So, I was charged for 4 months worth of service I didn't get or use then they only offered me a partial refund of the money they was not suppose to take in the first place and said they was still going to charge me for the 4 months where I had no access to my hosting service. This company is the biggest crooks in the business. Don't use there service unless you want to be cheated too.

1/100 — 

Wish I'd found this review site first

I was looking for a good priced hosting site. I booked 3 years hosting, 1 SSL certificate ($19.99 for a year) and took the Free domain name even though I didn't need it.
When my receipts for payment arrived by email they didn't seem right so I went to Paypal to check. ipage had charged for my hosting and SSL certificate in one payment. (as it should be) but then they had taken an extra $19.99 for the SSL certificate and $15.00 for the FREE domain name.
I got that corrected and the refund appeared in my Paypal.
When I applied for a refund for hosting (30 days) they said it would be done in 2-3 days. A week later and I am told there would be no refund because I had bought it on credit. I argued, but because the phone connection was pathetic I gave up in fury and disgust. I'll now work with Paypal to get the cost refunded.

50/100 — 

Follow through lacking

When I first started using iPage several years ago, tech support was quick, native English speaking, and problems resolved in minutes. That first site was written in Weebly. NOW, times have changed. Tech support is outsourced to companies outside of the US, tough to understand half of the people assisting you, absolutely zero quick resolution. I renewed my SSL in February, and this week, my small business site went dark due to iPage not following through and updating the SSL certificate. I am told this will take anywhere between 24 and 48 hours. Unacceptable! I am absolutely frustrated. This is the second time this has happened. I will be migrating my site, if I can ever get access to it, to another host. When I asked to speak to someone in billing and customer service, the person I was speaking with refused to transfer me. What was once a nice option for hosting is now, less desirable.

2/100 — 

Held for Ransome

I have had a business site for years. All of a sudden, the site is suspended for some "fake" malware their sister company sitelock detected. I checked the report - it is not really malware but in my opinion a clever way to generate revenue for this hosting giant. It is almost impossible to get rid of the files they claim are malware - so many users hire sitelock to do it for them. In my opinion it is underhanded way to generate a lot of revenue. I personally cancelled and never plan on using any hosting affiliated with this company.

1/100 — 

Worst Hosting Ever

Ipage is the worst hosting in World. Their WordPress site performance is very poor and their support is totally bad. Suddenly I got a database small error, I asked their support to help me and they tried 2 times and after that, they asked me for 250$ for this small error fix. and I fixed it within 30 min with the help of Google.

20/100 — 

They suck

CON #1) They lie.

I've been with them for years and ready to move on after what they've done to my 3 sites. They messed them up by forcing an update on my old Weebly sites that I stopped paying for.. The idea was that as long as I don't update my sites all of my old data would work just as on premium. And it did until they forced the update anyways...

I called them prior and asked not to update anything. They sent me a letter in which they promised the update wouldn't affect my site at all. Of course everything got messed up, links broken, pages missing... loading times are ridiculous (40+ seconds or not at all). It's a total mess. I contacted them and they nonchalantly me told me they could do nothing about it in the end unless I paid for the Weebly premium service again... The email they sent me was completely ignored by them. So they lie to get the money.

CON #2) SSL ripoff

No free or 3rd party SSL certificates and their own certificate is $30 a year. Many other hosts allow you to use Let's encrypt plugin on your sites for free or allow you to install a 3rd party one. If you have more than a couple of sites you will be paying through the nose for just that one feature alone (which as you might know is a must for good SEO ranking).

CON #3) bad support

As mentioned before and by many the support is horrible. I now have switched to another host and it's like heaven in comparison with Ipage.

CON#4) email and features

The roundsquare email is not the best and lots of features I like are missing in the cPanel.

CON#5) security issues

The Wordpress installations are not easy and they won't be helping you much with any of that stuff. I now run a multinetwork with SSL on a shared host, that isolates my sites and has much better security in place. My new host has guided me through some very complicated for a beginner things, which are important and won't be addressed by Ipage.

PROS: I can't think of any. With slow loading speeds and bad support, paying for SSL you are not going to be saving any money or time.

25/100 — 

Have had no problem thus far

I've been using ipage for approx 4 months, and haven't run into any real issues. Their support isn't based in the US as the article stated, but they've always answered any questions I've had in reasonable time and I never was put on hold. Mind you, I never called.. only used live chat, so I would recommend using that. One thing that confuses me about this article, in the Pro section you mention how they have a "Strong Uptime of 99.97%" but then as you reach the Con section, you continually bash there uptime after just saying 2 paragraphs above that it was great? "If their uptime wasn’t bad enough.." .. didn't really get that part of the article, at first I thought maybe it was just a typo, but you mentioned it again about their uptime not being good, but just finished saying they had good uptime. That might confuse someone who is still on the fence on whether to go with them or not. As I stated, so far I have no complaints.. other than, they bait people with there website builder, saying it's free with purchase.. but it only allows you to to build a single page, not multiple pages connected without paying extra. I suppose one could create a few single page sites with the free credits, but for a beginner that will confuse them. When going to checkout, there is alot of fluff they try to sell you on your way out the door to pay for your hosting and domain. I would hate to see what $1.99 would turn into if you accepted all that additional stuff they try recommending.

10/100 — 

Great if you want to be ripped off

Their web page charged my card before confirming my purchase (I was just trying to browse plans). I was annoyed at first, but after literally 6 hours ON chat and phone calls with their customer service in attempts to get this so-called "money back guarantee (hah)", I'm furious. I have no problem with outsourced customer service, if they're competent, but these folks will just keep saying the same gaslighting line, over and over. I've been told by several people the hosting plan would be canceled and I would be refunded, but surprise surprise, it hasn't happened yet. On top of that, they refuse to refund me for the domain name registration, even though they have agreed to cancel the registration! So in other words, I don't even have the product they refuse to refund me for! Sweet! Unless you have some sort of masochistic desire to get high blood pressure and lose money, steer well clear.

2/100 — 

NO Remote access to MySQL

They do not offer remote access to MySQL database which is not good for me. You cannot use it for any program like MySQL Workbench. You cannot make your own programs to connect to a remote database even for personal or edu porpuses

1/100 — 

My request to cancel ignored

I have had great difficulty logging in the the homepage, there must be an error as it doesn’t recognise any of my details.

I initially signed up for a package that cost 30 pound sterling however after a couple of months I decided that I no longer needed the website.

I have sent several emails to explain that I am unable to log in to cancel my subscription, and also requesting that my account is cancelled and no further payments are taken.

To my horror, they have ignored my requests and taken a payment for 134 pound sterling!!

I have sent dozens of emails asking for this to be rectified and have been ignored in all accounts.

This company is conducting fraudulent transactions on my account by turning a blind eye to my requests.

It would seem that I am not getting anywhere with this and any help would be appreciated. I’m not 134 pound out of pocket with insufficient funds to rectify the PayPal balance.

1/100 — 

Another horrible Endurance International Group company

Stay clear of this host. It is the typical Endurance International Group acquisition where they acquire a good hosting company and gut it service and support. The support is slow and hard to communicate with. They abuse the security service SIteLock to flag and suspend your site and the only way to get un suspended is to hire their security professional to fix. So they effectively hold your sites for ransome. Beware. Also they claim trhere support is based in the Us, this is not true,

100/100 — 

Never use them again - Hidden charges

I removed my auto renew only to find out that they have a hidden section to manage the domain auto renew which meant I was still charged (without my authorization). They also kept information about my previous credit cards which is ilegal in the UK. Absolute shocker, I do not recommend them

1/100 — 

Beware of iPage

iPage will be happy to sell you products they cannot support. I purchased the upgrade to WP Essential last May so that I could use the Sandbox feature to build a new web site for our organization. Publishing that web site resulted in a "404 Page not found error". That was Dec 2, 2018. As of March 12, 2018 they still do not know when they'll fix the "bug". iPage will not refund the purchase. They will not help to publish the new site. And the only communication I've received is the closing of the problem ticket. On a positive note, they are very good at apologizing.

1/100 — 

Terrible company

I asked them to repoint my website to a new host, they could not get it done right, caused my website to be down for over 10 days - when you call in for support you get a foreign country, who puts me on hold two times over 20 minutes both times

1/100 — 

HORRIBLE SUPPORT!

ATROCIOUS SERVICE! Will be moving all domains. EVERYONE ELSE - STAY AWAY!

People BLOCK you from discussing issues with supervisors. They barely speak English and have little knowledge or training.

1/100 — 

Bunch of crooks

The absolute worst. I signed up for the inexpensive intro rate but turned into $150 /yr after. Hosting was always slow. Service was 2 days to get anything done. And when I cancelled, they tried to hit a card for the next year's hosting. Please pick any other hosting provider.

25/100 — 

Not if you are trying to make money

They did some type of upgrade when they renewed my hosting package. For 2 months and 3 weeks I could not accept payments. I was using a commerce tool for which they advertised they partner with. They deleted my store with no hope of a restore and didn’t give me the application back on my dashboard. I had a back up of my site and my store but it only addressed the design aspect. The file I needed was a file that I could not access on their server (it was not customer facing) so I didn’t have a backup copy of it. When I reached out they told me to use another product (I won’t say the name) I looked into it and it was more expensive (much more). I had to rebuild (while my phones were ringing off the hook) my entire shopping cart. They offered me a 3 month credit for any future or additional services I may want to buy. This is just one of the issues I had…. I won’t even go into the overcharging. I will just say don’t rely on billing central for the source of truth….review your credit card statements.

1/100 — 

iPage is a waste of money

iPage is garbage. You will end up with more headaches than its worth. I have had tons of issues with their service. WordPress pages load slower than a 4k video streaming on 56k. The support is fine, except they there are always issues. Take your business elsewhere.

50/100 — 

Utter Rubbish

Having started a new hosting account, I received an email asking me to update my CC, which I did.

Then neither my Domain nor the email worked, I went on the live chat help when I was put on hold for ten minutes.
Eventually I was told that I had not updated my CC details despite receiving and email saying that I had.

Then I received another email telling me that the account had been cancelled.

Utter shit!!!!

1/100 — 

Domain renewal

IPAGE made an error renewing the domain that I had paid for. Allowed it to expire and go into redemption….without a single notification. When calling to find out what happened, I have been continually lied to, given conflicting answers and each time promised it would be resolved in 24 hours. Website has been down for 10 days now and still no resolution in sight.
Customer service on this issue is absolutely appalling! Never been so frustrated and bitterly disappointed in the way customers are treated. Will be moving my business at the earliest opportunity!

50/100 — 

Worst. Hosting ever

I was with EHOST for a yr and they chnaged to this Ipage shit… From the first day i got it i has issuse i called and they were closed fo i called my domanin godaddy as they have 24/7 support and they hleped me.. They i wake up seeing emails sagibg my site was down 3 to be exact i called and spoke to this clown that did not help just kept repeating my problem very annoying so i hun up then i called back because i got another email and spoke to clown #2 these ppl are NOT trained for support muchless customer sevice i swear they in another country NO MANAGER when u ask NO higher tech support jist a bunch of philipino in a building answering call im on hold now and my phone say 54.33 to be exact and NOTHING has nlbeen done she said she writing a ticket for a so called manager and it been over 15 mins so i have 7 more days left and GODADDY HERE I COME!!!!

100/100 — 

Excellent customer service representative

I also joined a 30 day challenge to get my blog going. My computer skills are very poor and I needed help from iPage support. Manisha M was a superb customer service representative. The patience and help was superb.

1/100 — 

Worst ever!

Worst customer service ever …. close tickets when problem isn’t resolved… suspended account without warning after I hadn’t done some verification. Over 2 days and counting to lift suspension after providing everything they asked for .This meant no emails too. If you rely on these guys for you business you are in big trouble !!

50/100 — 

I think I'm done with iPage

I’m so disappointed with iPage. I have a blog that is loading so slow that even myself want to give up waiting on it. How will I ever get readers that are this patient to stay??.. I have brought this issue to their attention numerous times but they just blame the plugins etc. That I have very few of btw.

I also have an eCommerce store, gethappyedeals.com, which is loading better, but is always mysteriously down hindering us from getting sales!! I don’t know how MANY times I’ve been contacting their support lately, and all they gave me was $3.54 for 1 month future hosting that I’m not going to use because I’ll leave!

1/100 — 

Outright Scam

I have been warned that this scam site will secretly renew your hosting when you already turn auto-renew off, but I wasn’t aware that they will do it A FEW MONTHS after the cycle end when you’re least expected.
I have previously stop using their service and turned all auto-renew off. Since I already saw comment on them secretly charging your card, I checked my statement closely for a few months, until I got busy and forgot about them. That’s the biggest mistake. Apparently, now their scam tactics including secretly turn on auto-renewal months after your cycle end, and charging your card when you’re least expected. My fault for not checking my statement every month, but this is really sneaky and should be illegal since I already unsubscribe.

Oh, to go back to why I turn off auto-renew and left them? Basically one day they shutted my site down, claimed that my site has been infected, then told me that I need to pay a lump sum to get it removed, which, basically is an extortion (I used their build in script installer to install WordPress, not even managed to upload any content). So basically I told them to ** off, log in to make sure that the auto-renewal is off, then move on. When the renewal date is close by, I found that my site has long been re-activated, and auto-renewal turned on, hence lead to the beginning of this review.

1/100 — 

Pathetic tech support- BEWARE

Absolutely pathetic uncaring tech support. Their webmail is mostly unusable because of sluggishness and connection being deliberately reset. Their incompetent tech support just closes tickets that we can’t reopen.

1/100 — 

Worse host ever

A few months ago I started an affiliate site and chose iPage to host it as their pricing was attractive. I purchased an SSL and a shared server, not too much out of my pocket, no problems.

About 2 weeks ago, my SEO started to really kick in, I’ve been getting as many as 16,000 visitors a day from Google. Obviously this is taxing to iPage shared servers, so the site was being taken down for abusing resources (Yes, shared servers claim unlimited usage, but that’s not typically true when you get this type of traffic).

They told me I can upgrade my server to a VPS for $518 and pay $150 for professional migration – no problem, fair price, let’s do it so we can handle the traffic.

They told me 3 days to migrate and everything would be good from there.

This is where the nightmare begins…

It has been over a week they still have not migrated me and my site has gone down at least 15 times, including mostly all of Cyber Monday.

Because of iPage, my site has been down more than it has been up.

Every day I’m on the phone with them at least 2 times letting them know that I paid for a VPS and professional migration, and was promised my site would not go down during migration.

Also, several of these times that my site went down, they claimed there was Malware and recommend that I buy Sitelock from them, because Sitelock customers are automatically protected from malware.

Here’s the funny thing, I am already a Sitelock customer, I pay for it every month

Each time my site goes down, it’s down for at least 4 hours and I’m back on the outsourced overseas support trying to get my site back up.

This is costing me a ton of money (and time and frustration).

When I first signed up with iPage I didn’t think I’d have a site doing 16,000 visitors a day, but now that I’m in this situation the lucrative pricing is starting to look like not such a good deal.

If you’re looking for a review of iPage hosting, and thinking about buying a shared server from them, think again.

Go with someone more reputable, someone that can easily scale as you and your business do… don’t get yourself in the same situation I am in, this really sucks.

50/100 — 

Don't!

I joined a 30 day challenge to get my blog going. the challenge guy, matt, kept sending me these “get going get going” emails to join ipage, which i did, prematurely, with a domain name i didn’t really want. when i contacted them to see about changing the name, they said no. now i’m stuck with a charge and a domain name i do not want. DON’T DO IT. They sound great – but if they won’t help with a problem that Bludhost could’ve easily done, this is not a good company!

32/100 — 

Never again

They will sell your domain if you don’t pay on time. For some reason their domain expiration warnings were going into my junk folder; one day my biz website was shut down. Turns out not only did they pull the domain but they wasted no time in selling it to a buyer, who I should list his full name and address but I won’t, that will sell it back to me for 2500.00. I paid 12.00 for it.

In addition, they used to have all US call centers (AZ) now they have outsourced to the Philippines.

Good for cheap websites, nothing more.

1/100 — 

I don't recommend this hosting service

I highly recommend not to use this hosting provider. What you pay for it is what you actually get. Cheap and slow hosting, also having many issues reagarding my wordpress website, while getting many uknown errors.

Their support is very slow, not user-friendly, and they haven’t gave my answers on how to fix my problems in 9 out of 10 times.

The third, also the biggest problem for me, was my account being renewed automatically even if I checked “Do not renew my account”. After contacting the support, they wanted me to confirm my identity by giving the answer to my security question, which I forgot, then had to give them the last four digets on my credit card.

I tried to resolve the issue, which was that I was billed even though I checked “Do not renew”. Also, I was billed on October 3rd, and in my Control panel says that the renewal date is October 16th. After I asked them how come they billed me 13 days earlier without my knowledge, while I was being misguided with the date in the control panel, they sad they won’t refund me and that the account was put on schedule for deletion.

I HIGHLY RECOMEND you not to use this provider.

-Slow website
-Many errors
-Slow and not user-friendly support
-Billing you before the scheduled bill date

1/100 — 

Worthless--Worthless--Worthless

Purchased to host photos for an eBay store and asked questions before purchasing. Well now I am out $32 for absolutely nothing. Everything I need to do is a surcharge and I don’t know where it stops. Customer service is useless useless useless. Their job is to get more money out of its customers. Help is to refer one to a page of instructions which may not fit the question. All the promises before you buy are lies. So are I paid an additional $2 and now they want another $40 a year so far (which is really $80 for two years). They got money for a sale; they don’t have to do a thing. When I brought up my problem–okay–good bye. While my old host was expensive, at least there were no costs–everything was upfront. Stay away; far away.

50/100 — 

Poor Support

Over the few years I have used iPage, I have been generally impressed with their services. However, the tech support has really gone downhill lately. In the last couple of days I tried to get support on a revision of my website. When I called, the response time was always over 10 minutes. Three of the four techs I spoke with, knew next to nothing on how to help me. Two of the conversations were cut off. I learned that each of these techs were based in the Philipines. It was a challenge to sometimes understand them. Two of the techs were very poor listeners, although courteous. Sadly, I am looking to move my site to another webhost.

1/100 — 

Dishonest tech support

Their webmail is too sluggish to use and their tech support just permanently closes tickets at their whim BEFORE the problem is fixed. Customers can NO LONGER open tickets themselves.

IPAGE stinks now Just sit there watching “waiting for emailmg.ipage.com” most times you want to check webmail

1/100 — 

Very Bad Business Practices

Very poor service. I recently renewed in September with them after being told I would get a discounted price and the domain name would be included. They advertise that the domain name is free with the hosting package and then turn around and try and charge you when your website goes down. This happened to me today I went to look at my website and noticed it was gone. I called and they stated that my domain name had expired. I told them it was not expired i paid a discounted renewal price and was advised that was included. They said the information I got was incorrect and that I would need to pay over $180 to get my domain name turned back on, and the discounted price was for the Essential web hosting package. I was also told I could not get a refund after requesting to cancel the year subscription with them. This company is a scam and I will take my business elsewhere. They seem to change their policies every minute.

25/100 — 

Ipage Review

Ipage is great for an initial customer experience, I had hosting with them for one year, the 1st year I signed up for their essential package with an introductory price of 1.99 per month, the regular advertised price was 7.99 per month, when I went to renew they told me it would be 131.00 for the same service, when I said I was not going to pay that they tried to reduce the price to 107 per year. After I declined that offer I was transferred to their loyalty department, which right away put me on a 3-4 minute hold so they could become versed with the chat history. The Loyalty department came back and offered my a price of 107 per year going forward which comes out to be a 300% increase the 2nd year of having hosting with them.

2/100 — 

Pathetic tech support- BEWARE

Their support is pathetic. They just close tickets without resolving issues. They advertise Squirrlmail but then their only support is to tell you to switch to a different webmail client and then they close the ticket. The customer cannot open or reopen tickets. PATHETIC and DISGUSTING. Keep looking!

1/100 — 

HIGHLY NOT RECOMEND

they are cheater! scam! I HIGHLY NOT RECOMMEND using this hosting company ! i bought my hosting for them and I bought 3 years plan so that I can get the discounted price but then I was not happy with their service so I cancelled my account to them which they allow me but when I ask for a refund after more than 12 days they said they already sent it to me but as I check my bank statement nothing was sent and I went to my bank to double check and they said nothing was sent to my account. so if you are saving money don’t use this unprofessional hosting. they’re hosting sounds cheap that’s because they’re services are poor. plus they still use adobe flash which most browser don’t support anymore its a dead technology.

1/100 — 

WHAT A MISERY!!!

Worst panel to manage your website. Worst customer service as they keep asking all kind of questions to confirm your identity even after security questions answered… Obviously dont want to help and just want to get rid of you… charges…. My mistake to buy 3 year hosting with “introductory” rate.

Dont make a mistake as I did – walk away!!! Running even better!!!

1/100 — 

Very bad hosting, bad support

They limit the server resources and block the site without warning if your site is active. They set the permissoin 000 to your index.php
When I returned permission 0777 every day, the support at all removed access to my files, changed the FTP password so I could not get my files.
They do everything so that you are not their client if your site becomes popular.

40/100 — 

Can't recommend

I host other business sites that I create. I was happy with iPage for about 3 years, and then I actually needed support. What I found was that the support after hours is in the Philippines. I am Latina, and I don’t have anything against the people, but they are not trained technically. They just go round and round giving generic answers, not understanding the issue, making false promises and giving bad information. When I finally got someone stateside, they told me everything I was told was wrong. IN the meantime, I lost about 8 hours of my life. This issue went on for about 9 calls to support.

I can’t recommend iPage to anyone. Perhaps they grew too big too quickly, I don’t know.

They also burned me in my pricing package. Whatever you do, don’t just renew at the price they give you. The guy I talked to told me it was too bad I hadn’t called to say I wanted a lower price because he could have given me the same package for half what I was paying. Too bad that I had signed up for 3 years.

As a loyal customer, I felt totally screwed. So now, I am not feeling loyal or like I want to be their customer.

Whatever you do, if you decide to stick with iPage, call up and bitch about getting a cheaper price when it is time to renew.

1/100 — 

Huge cost and non-refundable

I wish to close the account. Last year when it renewed it had a fully refundable statement. tonight I tried to close and was told there would be no credit issued. RUN from these folks

50/100 — 

rip off

You might think they are cheap because you have not checked your bank statement. They will charge you $25.98 for two years. But when you look at your credit card mine said over $300.00. I called them and the guy on the other line gave me several dollar amounts that they were going to be charging me. I asked why they did not appear on the statement. He said check your printed statement from the site. I advised I already did and it showed 25.98 from two years ago. He then tried throwing different numbers at me at which point we told them to return our money and cancel. I doubt he will so we asked our credit card company to help and they will pursue IPage. Stay away from Ipage.

65/100 — 

They are happy to let things expire without any notification

It seems like when things come up for renewal they don’t send out any notifications. Then when your website and emails don’t work they charge exorbitant amounts to retrieve your information and get you running again in 24 to 48 hours.
Could be avoided with a simple email to me the customer

A pretty shabby way to make an extra $160.00

1/100 — 

charged beforehand for 300eur

My site was going to expire on 26th but they charged me 2 weeks before for i don’t even know what. I got refund but i lost my site. Now they want 300 eur to get the site up again so i could restore my files. Don’t buy your web hosting here!

10/100 — 

UNSECURE SITE, THATS WHAT YOUR CLIENTS WILL READ

My website shows UNSECURE SITE on every browser before each visit, I do not want that for my site!!
If you do not want that, you will need to spend at least $40 a year EXTRA. Because there are ways to get an SSL Certification for free if you do not handle credit card info on your website, but guess what, IPAGE DOES NOT WORK WITH THEM.

Only option to have a normal secured site is to spend MORE MONEY.

On top of that my site takes ages to load on every device.

Terrible!! I will not be renovating, thank god I only signed up for one Year with iPage.

10/100 — 

So Called "Ticket System" In The Toilet Now

They really do not have a ticket system. You cannot open your own ticket. You must go thru chat to have one opened. Then they immediately close it after their first response without so much as waiting or asking to make sure your issue is resolved. That then forces you to do the process of going to chat, waiting in the queue, answering the security question and then asking them to re-open the ticket to add your response. MAJOR waste of time and frustration. Even when you BEG them not to close it until your issue is resolved, they CLOSE IT AGAIN. So each and every multiple time you wish to respond, you must waste 30+ minutes going thru this process. MAJOR PAIN. They used to not do this. You used to be able to open your own ticket, but not anymore.

If your time is important to you, STAY CLEAR of iPage anymore. This from a LONG time customer…one who will be moving elsewhere.

1/100 — 

Terrible

They’ve been ok in the past but I constantly have issues with their pointers and correctly placing “www” in front of websites. In the past they have fixed it in less than 20 minutes but last week, I’ve waited 3 days and hours on the phone to clear and https red-lined out and not secured error. They tried to sell me an SSL certificate which I don’t need and called them out on it, telling them it is their pointers that are screwed up.

Very unhappy. Deceptive business practices and trying to sell you things to fix their problems. Go to some other host!

1/100 — 

iPage payment scam...

I got a 1 year basic page with 1 time payment. The page wasn’t of much use to me so I disabled the account and the payment and everything. A month before that I get some “renew” bill of 17$ for the renew!

iPage is just a scam. They keep your financial data and send you bill for whatever they want. Stay away from them

86/100 — 

Best hosting service

I had a very good experience hosting several of my sites with ipagehoting. Really affordable and good service provided by them. would recommend to anyone who is looking to start a website.

50/100 — 

"After hours" support is questionable

If you call ipage during business hours you will get someone fairly quickly, English will probably be their first language and they will stay with you until the problem is most likely resolved.

If you call ipage outside of business hours you will wait 45 minutes for them to take your call, English may not be their first language and – most frustrating of all – if they can’t solve your problem they will tell you to reboot your computer and everything will work fine but what they’re really doing is just getting rid of you because they can’t solve your problem and don’t want to deal with it anymore.

I’m not kidding – this has happened to me FOUR TIMES.

That said, they have been helpful 80% of the time. That’s mostly good. Right?

25/100 — 

Don't Use iPage!

I host multiple small businesses’ websites under my domain. I used to like iPage, but in the last 6 months they have gone into the toilet. I have had to call over 10 times to get email issues fixed, and I still have not gotten it resolved. I am being overcharged for my hosting only to find out that before your renewal, you are supposed to call up to speak to someone in sales to give them the sale. They will give you a better deal than your renewal rate. This is from the mouth of an iPage sales agent.

I thought companies wanted customer loyalty. For being a loyal customer, I get over charged?

My latest debacle is that I signed up for an SSL Certificate at $19.95/yr. It expires in a year at which point the renewal is 300% more at $59.99. That is outrageous! The sales person did not share the entire picture with me.

Sadly, I just renewed for 3 years last summer, so I have two more years stuck with iPage. I will not be renewing with them in 2019. I’d rather pull my fingernails out than stay with them.

Oh yeah, and the support they give stinks. They only allow you to chat with people after hours, so everything is done by typing, you never get the same person twice if you are in the middle of a support ticket, and there is a 2-5 minute lag between when you respond and they answer.

UUUUUUggggghhhhhh. Whoever took over iPage, you are running it into the ground.

1/100 — 

IPage stole $533 by creating fake account

DO NOT USE IPage. I’ve always used one account to manage my two websites, but IPage accidentally created a second account where they billed me $533.12 that they cannot refund me because of their 30 days refund policy. Luckily I took screen capture of those billings, since they were trying to delete that account as soon as I found out. If they don’t refund me the full amount I’m seeking litigation and canceling my account.

50/100 — 

iPage's security scan might be just a scam

I have used (I should say “paid”) ipage for 4 years. Two weeks ago, I started to add more content to my one-pager, extremely lightly trafficked site. I am using WORDPRESS.

Yesterday, I realized that ipage was neither a reliable service provider, nor, even worse, an ethical company to serve its paying clients. Ipage would hijack clients’ interests to coarse them buying more, but likely unnecessary things, from them.

This is what happened. Yesterday afternoon, without any warning, my site went down. After talking with an ipage staff, I learned that ipage ran a “routine security check” and found “compromised files”. As the result, it shut down the site to “protect” God-knows-who.

Following the instruction in an email from ipage, I cleaned those “compromised” files. During the process, I carefully examined all the marked files, but could not find any evidence they were “compromised”. All these files were old, mostly last modified in 2011-12. Some are even named as “backups”, “olds” etc. When I asked an ipage staff what was their criteria of identifying a “compromised” file, I was told that these files were identified because of “potential threats”, rather than actually being “compromised”.

After a few hours, I finally removed all “compromised files” and contacted ipage support again to restart my site.

At first, the ipage staff said that it would take 24-48 hours to re-activate my site. I protested, so the person promised to bring the site back in 1 hour. I waited for 1 hour and 45 minutes before contacted the support again. A different person repeated that it would take 1 hour to bring the site back. This time, I threatened to bring my complaint to Internet. Finally, the staff gave in and re-activated the site in 2 minutes.

During this period of time, everywhere I went on ipage site, I was presented promotions of SiteLock service which promised that all my troubles would not have been there had I had SiteLock service. When I call ipage support number, a SiteLock staff answered, who also did not forgot to promote its services.

It is very clear to me that ipage brought down my site (hijacked my business) to sell SiteLock service (for ransom money) by using a few aging files as justification. Along the way, ipage also made up endless excuses, such as it will take 24-48 hours to reactivate a WORDPRESS site, to add salts to a wound it inflicted just for one purpose: selling services which I don’t need.

I’ll find a new place for my humble site after my contract with ipage is up. Until then, I am preparing myself for more sets of “compromised files”, unjustified downtimes and associated loss of businesses.

10/100 — 

Worst Hosting Experience

iPage is, by far, one of the slowest web hosts I have had.
You have to wait several hours before your updates are shown on a browser that has already visited your site, simply because of caching…
Also, File Manager could use a lot of improvements… It is near impossible to upload a new file, because the “Browse” button almost never does what it’s supposed to — which is to allow you to view your system files so that you can select the items you’d like and actually upload them! You will be relentlessly refreshing, logging in and out, and spam clicking on the damned button, and it still will not execute until several tries (and several feels like an understatement)…

Affordable, indeed, but you certainly get what you pay for…
Low cost = low quality results.

45/100 — 

My domain content compromised

I have been a customer of iPage for quite some time and each year I have been experiencing some issue or the other. Like many, I joined iPage as they are the cheapest. For the price, I did not know that my customized files would be at great risk of being lost. Yes, My 2-3 years worth of data is lost and now I am in a situation where I pay iPage to get the backup of my contents.”The issue would take 2-3 days to resolve” , says the technical support specialist. In my opinion iPage policy is “If it is free , it is not Customer Support. Pay and you may expect some results”.
Last Friday (05/08/2017), one of my page in my domain has been experiencing index problems. I sought the assistance of a technical specialist and he mentioned that this would be resolved in a day or two. Since then, I have experienced lot more difficulties than I should. The customized files in my “File manager” for my domain has been pointing to the wrong directory. Many versions of my domain name has been created in my “File manager” without my knowledge or approval. Each time the customer representative promises to have a resolution immediately, but without any result.
Then the subdirectory of my domain, which has all the main and customized data goes missing.
Someone from iPage, even pointed to the wrong domain name in the Domain settings without my consent or knowledge. This is a serious data and security breach which  I have addressed to the iPage compliance team. There has been no response or acknowledgement of my e-mail yet. To top it all, I am paying $100.00 for getting back my own data. This the technical support specialist says is a service available as a courtesy.He also denies any sort of data breach with my domain. Unfortunately, I am not a highly qualified technical or Network professional nor I have the money to prove them otherwise.
In my opinion , this hosting provider is not worth the data / security breach and the customer support issues one has to undergo for the cost. Prior years, they stick to upgrading the website drag and drop builders with out any information. I was the one who was proactive and point to a different path in the html file. Now, they resort to new level i.e. data and security breach.

30/100 — 

IPAGE IS EMAIL STONE EDGE

ipage is evil with emails and ipage really means it

Why I am moving.

I just got in a company with iPage.

My first problem you can t go over 500mb other wise you pay. Ok, many other hosts are UNLIMITED for a similar cost.

Ok so I decided to go somewhere else.

So I needed to migrate mail accounts and email for all the company. It takes minutes from one ftp server to an other ftp server. You know what? ipage doesn’t allow you to access to your email via ftp. Ok very strange.

So instead of going to each computers to download emails etc I decided to do it via webmail with Horde export tool to then upload for each account on the other server via Horde Webmail.

Guess what? ipage doesn’t use Horde. Only RoundCube and Squirrel and they just can’t let you export bulk emails.

Now, since email folder is not accessible via ftp and you casually you only have webmail platform useless to export email my conclusion is that it’s done on purpose. They want to lock you up if you have no knowledge on how to do that or really make it difficult.

No I will have to set up emails of all my coworkers on my computer to be able to work remotely.

One more thing – other host have a lot more things, all open, unlimited accounts, storage and domains for a competitive price.

Run away from ipage it is a scam.

50/100 — 

Costs are rising, quality is going down fast

I researched the various web hosting sites before I set this one up for a non-profit group, about 5 years ago. The great price offered is only is good for the months you commit to initially, I did 2 years. The rates jump up to around $157 a year after that and the Domain registration is separate, about $12-$15 a year. Originally the site was easy to work with and I could use any browser (IE, Firefox and Google). In the last 2 years all that has changed. Tech support seems to have moved from the US to India and now tell me that I have to use the Google browser only and their Weebly tools are far less friendly and troublesome. I think I have had it with them and will set up my own server next year. I have a Synology server for my home and it has a web hosting feature. I can change my current DNS to Dynamic DNS and save some money and headaches.

50/100 — 

Good Luck with Ipage

Good luck with customer service – especially if you get the call center in the Philippines. Over 9 calls later and 6 days later, my domain is still locked. They can’t change an email address despite repeated requests. Ask for same documentation over and over again. You speak with a live person but he/she can’t really do much except to file a “ticket” and promise to “expedite” or “high priority” your ticket. Can’t speak to anyone else within Ipage and a manager won’t call you back. Good luck with them. Ipage is a joke.

1/100 — 

Stay far away from iPage!

I had been using iPage for a few years to host a few simple domains I own. You get what you pay for as their customer service is the worst I’ve run into. I had wanted to add a domain to the control panel, but couldn’t because they said someone else had it listed as a domain under some old (closed) account, so they needed me to show all sorts of proof of ownership, which I did, yet they took so long to actually fix the problems on their end I ended up going with another provider.

Huge word of caution: If you close your account and get a new provider, all of your domains still pointed to iPage will then suddenly start loading those Indian virus/support scams that lock your browser up and attempt to get you to call one of those Indian scam places where they will tell you that you have a virus and hijack your computer. It’s pretty sad that iPage seems to be in cahoots with those scammers and is most likely getting money under the table for hosting that garbage. This happened to several of my domains still pointed to iPage that I hadn’t changed the DNS pointers on yet! So word of warnings with iPage and potential computer scams/hijacking!

1/100 — 

F**kpage

i had nothing but embarrassment to my customers and stressful time dealing with ipage. 1 out of 100 that i rated them is not what they actually deserve. I would never use or recommend them to anybody.

They have a security dpt that scans your account for mailware. According to their way of thinking, even if you have a picture that is attached to a product your ecommerce site offers, it is considered a suspecious file and they force you to delete it. The worst part is that they suspend your website and keep it suspended until these files are removed. You may have an important website running, an ecommerce store with high traffic like mine, or a blog that needs to be constantly up and running with content for your viewers to read. With ipage, there is no guarantees. They will suspend your account like they keep doing mine on an average one or two times a month and stay suspended even after you submit a request upon deleting these files recommended. Imagine the embarasment your business will receive when your website looks like the attached picture for days or weeks.

Their service is useless too. All their service is routed in chat rooms only. There is no phone number to call. Their service team are outsourced to India and they are not knowledgable if you need any assistance. If you need to speak to a technical team the only way is to email back and forth.

I am going back to inmotionhosting. I hosted with them in the past and satisfied with their services they offered.

Seriously save your money and struggle and STAY AWAY FROM IPAGE. IT IS NOT WORTH IT

50/100 — 

iPage customer services

The worst services among all internet service providers. 30days money back is never occurred. You either wasting your time to follow up with them or they never will refund.

They don’t like refund and provide any services. They don’t reply email via [email protected] You forced you to use online chat room. It took for long time to wait and wait. After six times following up (about 30mines to one hour each time), there is no answer because they cannot verify you every-time. The verify question can be something like: Paypal billing agreement details which you have not idea what they are talking about. Do you expect the verification question is about third party contract ID number? One time, they asked my password to log in my account – can you believe this? Their instructions to find those information are also wrong. They just try to waste your time until you giving up.

Don’t go near iPage. To cheap and unprofessional in many ways.

1/100 — 

Not recommended

I unintentionally had a person’s address on my web site, which violate the T&C. Ipage immediately deleted my account, did not allow me to edit the content, and refused to provide a refund despite their advertised unconditional 30 day money back guarantee.
I had to wait on hold nearly one hour, twice, to get that information.

50/100 — 

I'm leaving iPage as soon as I can

I had used iPage years ago and that’s why signed up for it again this September. I have also purchased basic services of SiteLock they are partnering with (which is a total scam as I’ve learned today- stay away from them!). I started having issues with my site from day 1. There were issues of contact form connecting to my email, the site was down for no reason a few times, and other small things here and there. Then I had purchased SSL certificate and they couldn’t get it to work for 3 weeks. It appears to work at “their end” and my google ratings are still the same. Anyway, this is not the iPage I knew before. I will not be using them again or recommending them to anyone.

1/100 — 

Very bad and support

I’m a customer of iPage for two years and problems occurred with their support 6 months ago.

I added the VPS and three domains to my account and then the problems started. They couldn’t get the domain names working. One main domain worked after a while, but the two other domains not. Totally misconfigured. One week I tried with their stupid chat box (waiting for 32-3 hours many times), and up to now 8 chats and the problems only got worse.

And I caught their support lying! Can you imagine! Lying that something is fixed or some setting is wrong and when I looked while chatting, everything was alright. And the reaction of that support was: Okay. And that’s it.

I gave them a deadline of 2 hours to fix at least one domainname and if not, I move to another hosting account and taking 5 existing large customers with me (dedicated servers). And start a social media campaign to confront those people working there.

Maybe it happened when iPage was outsourcing their support to India? No idea. Before it was a very professional hosting company with technical problems resolved in minutes.

1/100 — 

THE MOST ATROCIOUS COMPANY IVE EVER DELT WITH!

I highly recommend to anyone considering using IPAGE NEVER USE IPAGE!
WORST customer service I’ve ever had the displeasure of dealing with, my site was down multiple times in the same week while every time I contact them they say they will contact me back in 12 hours which ended up being a LIE ALL 3 TIMES THEY SAID THIS, on top of that I’ve used their keyword and social media lift recomneded services through them for 5 months and a few thousand dollars with literally ZERO RESULTS!
I urge you to take this warning and choose anyone but IPAGE!!

25/100 — 

No Actual Support at IPage.com

Waited over thirty minutes on line for “live chat” and nothing. Then called them, after ten minutes nothing, just terrible music and sales marketing.
Ipage.com does not even have the ability to submit a problem via email, its all wait for them, which is terrible since they have no actual live support 24/7 as they claim.
If you need support or such don’t count on them.
To this day, my contact form does not work, which is basically very simple to operate but their end does not work and they will most likely blame weebly, after all the waiting.

10/100 — 

Seriously [email protected]#* ipage...

I have had the most exasperating and stressful time dealing with ipage and would recommend in the strongest terms possible ABSOLUTELY DO NOT USE IPAGE!!!!

This particular account was for a wesite that had a limited lifespan.
After receiving notification that the hosting plan was due for auto-renewal I called ipage and asked them to cancel the service as the project had ended which was confirmed with emails. Several days after this ipage took the 2-yearly hosting fee from my account, making me overdrawn and incurring $80 in direct debit dishonour bank fees.
I spent around 5 exasperating hours on the phone to ipage’s international call centre where their staff asked me to provide irrelevant information and jump through hoops, suggested that it was my fault because I didn’t ask ipage to delete my paypal details upon cancelling the service. THIS IS A COMPANY THAT CAN BE TRUSTED TO ACCESS YOUR BANK ACCOUNT.

This is 3rd occasion where ipage have taken unauthorised funds out of my bank account, before my negotiated payment date, costing me $160 in bank fees and causing me great stress and difficulty while overseas.

They stalled me, kept me on hold for 1/2 an hour at a time before finally telling me that would refund me [ but they haven’t ] and that they would not be reimbursing me for the extra charges and that I’d have to take it up with my bank.

I have had THE WORST EXPERIENCE IMAGINABLE with this company, the web interface itself is ugly and crap, it takes aages to upload and frequently doesn’t upload at all because of various errors.

Seriously [email protected]#* ipage…

1/100 — 

Really bad...

I’m a new user on dead page .. yes you heard me right . I’m calling (ipage) dead page because there promises are just lies and scams.

they do have a friendly and good support but you can quickly realized that there answers are copy and paste. “we are sorry that your having this problem” beside that they have nothing to give or offer!

Dead page has crazy limits. its supper slow. and there CP is ugly!
they say free security. i didn’t see any free security in my cp. i see paid security but not free.

They say unlimited. its everything but unlimited. when you move your site to dead page you’ll soon realize the extremely big mistake you have done.

site loading time is long and supper slow. they give you 64mb memory till you call them out on there scam then they push it up to 128 then if you still screaming at them they push it to 256.

Data connections limits are extremely annoying. limits for uploading to your data base is 64kb !!? so forget moving your website if your data base is 1mb that is so funny right guys!

I can go on and on with all the freaking limits on their unlimited offer. i believe that if you pay 3$ or 5$ you can get more out of any other hosting serve then dead page.

In fact for under 10$ a month you can get an amazing deals for a VPS that will not limit you to this kind of hustling that dead page is dedicated to. even if its just a shard hosting plane you’ll get better hosting then dead page will ever give you.

Saying that, i would like to add something more. i moved my site from a FREE server that is amazing ! nothing wrong with it . supper fast Zero problems. but i could not backup my site do to it bing free and had to upgrade to paid serves to be able to do that. you could still download it by FTP so its not so bad. but when i moved to dead page the problems are never ending.. it is hopeless frustrating and painful.. you can’t wait for days and weeks without getting things done there.

how they pray one people that have no technical knowledge by telling them its unlimited and we promise you’ll never have a problem and if you need anything our support is there to serve you 24/7.

Of course the hopeless on knowing new user will think they got a good deal for under 2$! little that the pore victim knows what darkness is waiting for him behind the other side

If you own a real website with data base not just an html page then I would strongly advise you never ever in your life use ipage. with 10s and 100s of bad reviews out there you will understand that they are not a as good solid as they claim and advertise to be! they are not a reliable hosting services for a real website.

49/100 — 

iPage Fine Print (billing)

iPage was ok, they do offer a wide range of services from cheap priced hosting, multiple self website design tools from 3rd parties, cpanel, etc.

However, unlike some other hosting sites, ipage is under contract. I paid for a 2 year deal upfront and although they give you a 30 day money back guarantee, it’s non-refundable after the first 30 days.

I had to switch because I was consolidating hosts, but I guess one always needs to read the fine print. I prefer dealing with businesses that are upfront and clear about policies like this.

1/100 — 

NEVER use Ipage!

Their customer service is TERRIBLE!!! Just wasted over an hour of my time where no one listened to a word I was saying and now I am going back to GoDaddy! There are cheaper deals through other competitors…just shop around. The 650% price increase after a year is a little ridiculous as well. Their spam filter does not exist, since switching I receive an insane amount of spam emails that I keep putting into a spam folder but every day new emails from the same email addresses…nothing is being filtered out. DO NOT USE IPAGE!

80/100 — 

Cheap & Decent

I had websites on ipage for about 4 years. The control panel is vdeck, which is more cumbersome and less user-friendly than cPanel. It is also a more limited control panel. Ipage has a lot of upsells, which probably explains their low price. I never purchased any of them. I had occasional issues with the hosting where sites would go haywire and I couldn’t repair them. I don’t think that ever happened when I used cPanel hosting.

You can have “unlimited” sites, etc., but if you have heavy usage they will contact you. Their support was always good and usually fairly fast. I never really needed support before I used iPage though. Strange things would happen and they’d have to repair things on their end.

If you need an inexpensive web host for a club or hobby or something, it would be a great choice if the price mattered. I once got 3 years of hosting for $36. However; if you can afford to pay more, you would probably be better off with a different hosting company.

1/100 — 

IPAGE THREATENS ME

Been a customer for a number of years, then suddenly I notice they raised my hosting fee from about $20 per yr to $286.00 per year. Then they sent me this email after I asked my credit company to help me resolve what’s going on:

We received notification today that you have issued a chargeback against us on your gkn08215 account. Per our Billing policy regarding chargebacks, we have temporarily suspended the paid services to this account. In order to restore these services, we do require that you either contact your credit card company to have the chargeback reversed or that you repay the amount charged back plus the chargeback fee incurred by our company.

If you feel there has been a mistake or if you have any questions about how to rectify this matter please contact us immediately at 877-472-4399 or reach us via chat by clicking on “Live Chat!” on our website at http://www.ipage.com.

If you will be reversing the chargeback with your credit card company, please provide us with evidence of the reversal so we can update our records and reactivate the paid services to your account.

If you will be repaying the amount charged back plus the chargeback fee incurred by our company, please contact us to make those arrangements. We will need your authorization to charge your credit card.

NOTE: The service associated with the chargeback will be cancelled after 3 weeks if we have not heard from you. If the chargeback was for Hosting, VPS, or a Dedicated server, your account will be cancelled. After your account is cancelled, all Web site files and e-mail addresses associated with the account will be taken offline permanently.

If you have questions or concerns, again please contact us by phone or chat listed above. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Sincerely,

The iPage Team

20/100 — 

Pretty terrible host...

I signed up with iPage because the packages are simply cheap and because their website gave off a professional look. I hosted two websites, one which had a decent amount of daily visitors (> one thousand) and a smaller one.

Since the beginning my sites has problems, they were down frequently to my frustration. I thought of switching to bigger packages, but I realized even the small package should be able to fulfill my needs. In comparison to Namecheap or other hosts, the small package is terrible and I really doubt the rest of their offers are good as well.

1/100 — 

Worst hosting ever

It’s the worst hosting I’ve ever used.

Support – awful. You need to wait up to 15 minutes to talk with their support team by online chat.

Uptime – awful. Webmail with lots of bugs every day.

I use iPage for more than 2 years but the last few months have been a disappointment for me. I regret that bought 2 years plan so now I’m looking for the normal hosting with normal support.

60/100 — 

Support let me down...

iPage is my first and only hosting that I currently use it on two of my blogs. I signed up with them because they’re cheap. $1.99/month is almost half of the price of other web hosting currently offer.

iPage does not make me happy because of its Support:

1. It has 7/24/365 support, but I usually have to wait over 10 minutes.
2. iPage support almost ruined my blog. Approx. one year ago I found one of my post was in Trash and when I went to restore it I was told the post was permanently deleted (what?). I then asked iPage for help and they said there was something wrong with the database. They didn’t restore the post for me and made my blog a mess… Some posts and pages were gone and some posts left with only titles or a few sentences. I spent almost a month to restore.

I gave it only 60 out of 100 as it’s really cheap. It’s OK for my startup business, but the support really lets me down. Once my business grows, I’d surely like to try something new (more stable and reliable).

50/100 — 

One of the cheapest, but constant speed issues

iPage is probably the best pick for hobby blogger or someone who just wants to test waters, but for a serious blog/website – it’s not the best option.

Indeed, it’s one of the cheapest – I manage to get my hosting (without a domain name) for less than $25/year – that indeed a bargain, but the constant speed issues are ruining the experience.

Quite often, it takes over 3 seconds to load my page. In my opinion – that’s just toooo much.

60/100 — 

My honest experience after 3 years

Want a honest review? Well, you have one here. I’ve been using ipage for over 3-years. Although they’re not perfect, I’d still recommend their services to anyone. Maybe this is because I’ve not really tried any other host out there. After all, one of the most important things that drew me to ipage was that they were “cheap”, and all the other hosts didn’t matter. Well, there’s a catch. Keep reading.

The good: 24/7 support (expect to wait from 10 seconds to 12 minutes to chat with a representative). Site backup available. Shared hosting available. Money back guarantee (yes, they did refund my money a few times) Great uptime Green web hosting Great control panel options (you can use simple scripts to easily install WordPress, Joomla, etc to your site) and a few more.

The bad: Just like all the hosting companies out there, what you see is not always what you get. When I first opened an account with ipage, I paid around $2 per month for hosting. I was happy as I taught it was cheap. But after my first 3 years with them—on renewal—they welcomed me to their real world, they started charging around $6 per month! So it seems the initial hosting price was to lure me in. How smart ?

There’s a cap on database requests your account can make per hour. So when they say “unlimited hosting”, that’s a big false marketing scheme. And you’d be required to pay to increase the limit. My site has been down many times in the past as a result of this. There are many new things you may realise you have to pay for. But you can survive perfectly fine if you are on a small budget and if your site receives below 5,000 unique visitors per day. For me, the only extra service I’ve paid for on ipage is domain privacy.

In summary, I’d give ipage a 3/5.

Once again, this is just my honest review based on my experience.

65/100 — 

Really cheap...or not?

Their homepage looks a bit iffy, but I signed up nevertheless. After all – they are one of the cheapest hosting providers I’ve came across. Having said that, they are quite OK. Speed isn’t the best, but the rest is okay.

The only problem I’m worried about iPage is their price increase which usually comes after 1 year – this could be more than twice what you paid initially.