MDDHosting Review

It's really Fast (393ms load time), but its uptime is only 99.82%

Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews

We’ve been a paying customer of MDDHosting for 40+ months. During that time, we’ve monitored their performance.

This review relies strongly on data, such as uptime, load time (speed) and customer support experience.

What is MDDHosting?

MDD Hosting review

MDD is a boutique (read: small), private hosting company founded fairly recently in 2007.

Their claims to fame?

Speed and service. The ‘meat and potatoes’ of web hosting. Their straightforward, no-BS approach seems refreshingly honest in an industry that can be – well – less so.

It also reflects their down-to-earth, Mid-Western roots (started and headquartered in Indiana, with data centers in Denver, Colorado.)

We’re always on the lookout for the diamond in the rough; new hosting companies that offer a different or better approach than the old industry stalwarts.

MDD looks like a perfect candidate.

We purchased MDDHosting’s ‘Basic Plan’ in June 2015, and set-up a basic WordPress website to begin running tests for the eventual unbiased review you’re reading now. You can find all of our detailed performance stats, like uptime and speed, by clicking ‘History’ for more.

 

Pros of using MDDHosting

Most hosting companies sell the same service (more or less). Some throw in a few extras, but the big three of uptime, speed, and service support are primarily what you’re buying.

If a web hosting company fall short in any one of these areas, there’s an issue. Two or more – run!

Fortunately, MDD passes two of the three with flying colors.

1. Very Fast in Page Load Time (393ms)

First up – speed. This is where MDD have been pretty good the last 10 months.

During the last 10-months, they put up an incredible page load time of 393ms, which is 77% faster than the industry average page speed of 890ms.

That makes them an above average host, although they do have the potential to become a Top 5 host. (Being outperformed only by Hostinger and HostGator Cloud)

A quick background check with other sources confirmed that speed is one of the biggest reasons for so many happy MDD customers.

See for yourself:

Last 10-month average load time:

  • December 2017 average speed: 359ms
  • January 2018 average speed: 390ms
  • February 2018 average speed: 385ms
  • March 2018 average speed: 423ms
  • April 2018 average speed: 420ms
  • May 2018 average speed: 390ms
  • June 2018 average speed: 355ms
  • July  2018 average speed: 405ms
  • August 2018 average speed: 3822ms
  • September 2018 average speed: 421ms

We also noticed that they use LiteSpeed servers which seems to do the trick for them:

LiteSpeed servers

2. Quick, Efficient Support

MDD provides standard 24/7/365 customer support through phone, email, and ticketing system. No live chat for now.

During our review processes, they responded to our tickets within less than three minutes (which is fast enough to be considered as slow live chat I guess).

Once again MDD performs well in one of the ‘big three’, providing quick, efficient support that’s good enough for an 8/10 at the very least.

MDD Hosting review: Evaluating customer support

A quick chat with MDDHosting support agent

3. Straightforward Hosting

WYSIWYG.

That was a bad technical joke, that stands for what you see is what you get with MDD.

No hidden fees. No pricing tricks where you have to sign away the next 35 years of your life for the low advertised website price. And no games with limiting standard features to force you to accept the more expensive plans.

Sure, there is some space and storage limitation for lesser plans. Otherwise, you get all of the same features that the more expensive ones offer.

For example, even with their basic plan, you get unlimited:

  • Domains
  • Subdomains
  • Databases
  • Emails
  • FTP accounts

You want to pay for just a single month, as opposed to a full year (or more)? Sure, you can go ahead and do that. The annual discount isn’t that big either, therefore you’re not missing out on much.

MDD Hosting pricing

4. Free Transfers

MDDhosting will happily help you relocate your site for free if you’re moving from another host. No fees or tricks.

5. 30-Day Money Back Guarantee

MDDHosting offers an unconditional, hassle-free 30-day money back guarantee with most of their plans. Nothing special like 90 or even 97 days, but not bad either.

 

Cons of using MDDHosting

Everything good comes at a price. With MDDhosting, one of their ‘cons’ is just that.

1. One Month Took It Way Below Average

Over a ten-month period, we tracked MDDHosting’s uptime for our site to make sure things ran smoothly (and that there weren’t any hiccups).

Industry standard comes out to around 99.94% uptime, and MDD 10-month overall was pretty bad. It’s a bit of a mixed bag, most months they have a really good uptime, but this year September has really let them down. Coming in at 99.82% over the 10-month testing period, which is not good.

It’s not terrible, but not great either. Especially when you see how much they cost…

Last 10-month average uptime:

  • December 2017 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.88%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 99.97%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.95%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.93%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.95%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 98.56%

MDDHosting last 10-month performance stats

MDDHosting: Page Load Speed and Uptime (Last 10 months, full data can be found here.)

 

MDDHosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the various hosting plans offered by MDDHosting:

Shared Hosting: They offer two main shared hosting plans:

  • Cloud starter plan: This plan costs $4.00 per month. It comes with 10 GB of disc space, unlimited domains, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited databases and email accounts.
  • Cloud1 plan: With $7.00 per month you get unlimited disk space, domains, data transfer, databases and more.
  • Cloud2 plan: $14.00 per month. Comes with unlimited disc space, unlimited domains, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited databases and email accounts.

MDD Hosting pricing

  • Ease of Signup: Very lengthy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, Paypal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: By signing up you agree that they have the right to change the monthly payment amount and other charges at any time. You must not use more than 25 percent of system resources for longer than 120 seconds or you risk account termination (kinda standard among the industry). Abusing their staff in any medium or format will result in termination of your account without refund (which is also kinda respectable).
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs with Softaculous.

 

Do We Recommend MDDHosting?

MDD is relatively new to the hosting game. So far, they’ve put up questionable uptime numbers, fast page loading times, and great customer support.

Their no-BS approach is also a breath of fresh air.

Yes, we kinda recommend them (but there are better options out there).

Even tho they have come down with their price, there are still many less expensive options out there if you’re just looking for a simple hobby or personal site.

Otherwise, despite being one of the most expensive shared hosting options available, you’ll probably get your money’s worth if you take advantage of all the ‘unlimited’ options that even their Basic, limited plan comes fully loaded with.

P.S. If you want to see hosting providers that ranked above MDDHosting, check our web hosting comparison here.

Have you used MDDHosting? We’d love to hear about your experience – good or bad – as long as it’s honest and transparent. You can leave your MDDHosting review below:

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Upload image (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

4 user reviews for MDD Hosting

40/100 — 

To be honest, i am not impressed

I have 2 websites pointing to MDDhosting (for the last few years).

Please note: These sites are NOT major business things. They are casual sites.
(so if they go down, I am not anxious).

I am disappointed though that they do not load often.

Every time I message MDDhosting support, they either say its my cache that needs re-loading, or that i have been blocked because of their ‘brute force protection’.
but I dont get any warning that I was blocked. I have to find out for myself a few weeks later when I bother checking my sites.

I never have to refresh my cache on any other websites around the web that I re-visit, so why do I need to refresh it constantly with MDD hosting ?

Also: I find that the website loads slowly.

Their customer support replies fast. The first year was cheap, but subsequent years are expensive.

I am not saying they are terrible. I just think they are AVERAGE.
Maybe the people giving great reviews have Premium Hosting plans (and not the entry-level plans).

But either way, they site should always load and keep on getting blocked or other problems.

I’m currently searching for a new host to point my domains to because i think their fees are excessive (for an average service).

60/100 — 

What's up with the constant price changes?

I hate MDDHosting for changing prices all the time. Last week they cost $4.99/month, yesterday they were $2.99 and today they are $3.80 – what’s up with that?

Sketchy marketing tactics?

100/100 — 

gem

MDD Hosting is our last bus stop. We have used so many popular hosting companies that promised so much but delivered very little.

Our last experience with a EIG-owned hosting company prompted us to narrow down our search to MDD hosting and Squidix. We went for the shared server for one of our websites (low traffic) and premium for our primary website. Honestly, we can’t different the performance of the shared server from the semi-dedicated server because both of them are simply awesome. We receive almost instant (about 3 minutes) email support each time we submit a ticket and haven’t noticed a single down-time yet.

The pricing is a bit on the high side bit its really a value for the money. We can easily recommend these guys to anyone in search of a rock-solid hosting company with really solid infrastructure.

97/100 — 

Flawless service

I’ve been hosting with MDDHosting shared hosting since October 2014, and I can describe my experience in one word: flawless; aside from some minor hiccups – a very short outage due to hardware upgrade and the usual scheduled maintenances – my blog on MDDHosting has always been up, fast and I’ve never had a single reason to contact support…because I haven’t had a single issue.

I definitely recommend MDDHosting hands down; while the prices may be a little more expensive than other shared hosts, the extremely high quality of the service is worth every single penny you spend.