MDDHosting Review

It's really Fast (376ms Load Time), but Its Uptime Is Only 99.87%

Brad Smith
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews
MDDHosting review
MDDHosting Homepage

MDD is a boutique (read: small), a private hosting company founded fairly recently in 2007.

Their claims to fame?

Speed and service. The ‘meat and potatoes’ of web hosting. Their straightforward, no-BS approach seems refreshingly honest in an industry that can be – well – less so.

It also reflects their down-to-earth, Mid-Western roots (started and headquartered in Indiana, with data centers in Denver, Colorado.)

We’re always on the lookout for the diamond in the rough; new hosting companies that offer a different or better approach than the old industry stalwarts.

MDD looks like a perfect candidate.

We purchased MDDHosting’s ‘Basic Plan’ in June 2015, and set-up a basic WordPress website to begin running tests for the eventual unbiased review you’re reading now. You can find all of our detailed performance stats, like uptime and speed, by clicking ‘History’ for more.

Pros of Using MDDHosting

Most hosting companies sell the same service (more or less). Some throw in a few extras, but the big three of uptime, speed, and service support are primarily what you’re buying.

If a web hosting company falls short in any one of these areas, there’s an issue. Two or more – run!

Fortunately, MDD passes two of the three with flying colors.

1. Very Fast in Page Load Time (376ms)

First up – speed. This is where MDD has been pretty good for the last 16 months.

During the last 10-months, they put up an incredible page load time of 376ms, which is ~58% faster than the industry average page speed of 890ms.

That makes them an above-average host, although they do have the potential to become a Top 5 host. (Being outperformed only by Hostinger and HostGator Cloud)

A quick background check with other sources confirmed that speed is one of the biggest reasons for so many happy MDD customers.

Last 16-month average load time:

MDDHosting last 16-month detailed statistics
MDDHosting average speed 2017-2019 | See stats

We also noticed that they use LiteSpeed servers which seems to do the trick for them:

MDDHosting LiteSpeed

2. Quick, Efficient Support

MDD provides standard 24/7/365 customer support through phone, email, and ticketing system. No live chat for now.

During our review processes, they responded to our tickets within less than three minutes (which is fast enough to be considered as a slow live chat I guess).

Once again MDD performs well in one of the ‘big three’, providing quick, efficient support that’s good enough for an 8/10 at the very least.

MDDHosting Support

A quick chat with MDDHosting support agent

3. Straightforward Hosting

WYSIWYG.

That was a bad technical joke that stands for what you see is what you get with MDD.

No hidden fees. No pricing tricks where you have to sign away the next 35 years of your life for the low advertised website price. And no games with limiting standard features to force you to accept the more expensive plans.

Sure, there is some space and storage limitation for lesser plans. Otherwise, you get all of the same features that the more expensive ones offer.

For example, even with their basic plan, you get unlimited:

  • Domains
  • Subdomains
  • Databases
  • Emails
  • FTP accounts

You want to pay for just a single month, as opposed to a full year (or more)? Sure, you can go ahead and do that. The annual discount isn’t that big either; therefore you’re not missing out on much.

4. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

MDDHosting offers an unconditional, hassle-free 30-day money-back guarantee with most of their plans. Nothing special like 90 or even 97 days, but not bad either.

5. Free Migrations for cPanel Sites

Some web hosts we’ve reviewed will charge you for every site migration. That’s right: they’re basically charging you extra for bringing your business to them.

Others will offer to move a single site over to their servers for free. But if you want to bring any additional ones over? That’s right: they’ll charge you extra.

We’re happy to report that MDDHosting does neither. According to their terms, they’ll help move any of your sites over to their data centers for free. There’s also no limit, so you can move two, five, or ten, and not be charged extra.

There are only two caveats.

The first is that you need to ask within the first 60 days. That seems pretty obvious, though, so no big deal. After that, it’ll cost $10 per site.

The other potential issue is that these free site migrations are only available for accounts with cPanel. If you’re trying to move sites without cPanel access, then it’ll cost $25 per site or account after that.

The silver lining is that these policies are fairly common. Most cPanel-friendly hosts can move these files faster and easier than other custom configurations that don’t match with their own server setup.

6. No Renewal Price Hikes

MDDHosting bucks another common industry price trick that ends up catching customers by surprise.

Many hosts will advertise a shockingly-low rate on their site.

Naturally, people are drawn in with what looks like an amazing value. And it is if you sign up for usually at least three years to lock-in that low rate.

However, the other common issue is that when this introductory plan expires, you’re often left with a “renewal rate” that can be anywhere from 2-3X the initial price you paid.

Thankfully, MDDHosting doesn’t do that. So whatever price you pay when moving to them is the price you’ll pay when your initial plan expires, too. There’s no surprising price increase in two-to-three years’ time.

7. “1000%” Uptime Guarantee

MDDHosting features a “1000% Uptime Guarantee” in their Terms.

What, exactly, does that mean?

It means for every single hour of downtime, “you can request 10 times (1000%) the actual amount of downtime.”

In other words, one hour of downtime gets you ten hours of credit.

The catch is that you need to email their billing department ([email protected]) within seven days of the downtime.

Similar to other uptime guarantees, this only applies to actual downtime for internal issues or mistakes.

Extraordinary circumstances or regular maintenance downtime are not included.

And this guarantee only applies to their shared and reseller hosting accounts.

Cons of Using MDDHosting

Everything good comes at a price. With MDDhosting, one of their ‘cons’ is just that.

1. One Month Took It Way Below Average

Over a ten-month period, we tracked MDDHosting’s uptime for our site to make sure things ran smoothly (and that there weren’t any hiccups).

Industry-standard comes out to around 99.94% uptime, and MDD 10-month overall was pretty bad. It’s a bit of a mixed bag, most months they have really good uptime, but this year September has really let them down. Coming in at 99.82% over the 10-month testing period, which is not good.

It’s not terrible, but not great either. Especially when you see how much they cost…

Last 16-month average uptime:

  • March 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 99.86%
  • December 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2018 average uptime: 99.89%
  • October 2018 average uptime: 99.92%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 98.56%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.95%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.93%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.95%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 99.97%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.88%
  • December 2017 average uptime: 100%
MDDHosting last 16-month statistics
MDDHosting average uptime | See stats

2. Additional Costs for Extra Services

MDDHosting’s basic plans are a pretty good value. However, anything ‘above and beyond’ the normal hosting plan features will cost you a little something on top.

For instance, MDDHosting doesn’t throw in a free domain name for the first year. Instead, it’ll cost you $14.95/year if you need a new one.

There are also tiny price increases if you sign up for a shorter one or two year deal as well. So prepaying for an extra year or two can often save you a few dollars each month (which could add up to a hundred bucks off the overall plan price).

MDD Hosting Pricing Increases

Even though MDDHosting offers a lot of helpful extra security features, those, too, will cost you extra. This includes everything from their SpamExperts email security to SiteLock website security, too.

And the costs for these aren’t cheap, either. You’re looking at anywhere from $62.99 for three years of SiteLock’s lower-tiered Find service on up to $799.99 for three years of their fully-featured Defend offering.

At this rate, you’ll end up paying as much (or more) for these extra features than you will for the basic hosting plan to start.

So while it’s nice that they offer them, when you start adding everything up, the value-per-dollar doesn’t look so great. And you might just be better off paying a little more each month for something that includes all of these features from the get-go.

MDDHosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the various hosting plans offered by MDDHosting:

Shared Hosting: They offer two main shared hosting plans:

  • Cloud starter plan: This plan costs $4.00 per month. It comes with 10 GB of disc space, unlimited domains, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited databases, and email accounts.
  • Cloud1 plan: With $7.00 per month you get unlimited disk space, domains, data transfer, databases and more.
  • Cloud2 plan: $14.00 per month. It comes with unlimited disc space, unlimited domains, unlimited bandwidth, unlimited databases, and email accounts.

MDDHosting pricing and plans

  • Ease of Signup: Very lengthy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, Paypal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: By signing up, you agree that they have the right to change the monthly payment amount and other charges at any time. You must not use more than 25 percent of system resources for longer than 120 seconds or you risk account termination (kinda standard among the industry). Abusing their staff in any medium or format will result in termination of your account without refund (which is also kinda respectable).
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs with Softaculous.

Do We Recommend MDDHosting?

MDD is relatively new to the hosting game. So far, they’ve put up questionable uptime numbers, fast page loading times, and great customer support.

Their no-BS approach is also a breath of fresh air.

Yes, we kinda recommend them (but there are better options out there).

Even tho they have come down with their price, there are still many less expensive options out there if you’re just looking for a simple hobby or personal site.

Otherwise, despite being one of the most expensive shared hosting options available, you’ll probably get your money’s worth if you take advantage of all the ‘unlimited’ options that even their Basic, limited plan comes fully loaded with.

P.S. If you want to see hosting providers that ranked above MDDHosting, check our web hosting comparison here.

Have you used MDDHosting? We’d love to hear about your experience – good or bad – as long as it’s honest and transparent. You can leave your MDDHosting review below:

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Any proof of your experience (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

5 user reviews for MDDHosting

Avatar

5 — 

Superb speed and service, decent uptime

I have been with with MDD for a couple of years. Help service is not just very fast, but inevitably polite and knowledgeable. I have never had to go beyond first level of service to get the help I need. Speed is awesome. LiteSpeed server is fast on it's own but MDD makes server-side caching available for free to all users - it blows other caching systems away. Uptime is usually good, not great. September was a nightmare with all shared and reseller sites down for three to five days after the entire data center was destroyed by a typo (yes, a typo!). But even before September uptime was less than elite. If Michael and his team can solve that one glitch - and I think they will with lessons learned from the September debacle - MDD will be as good as it gets for relatively low-cost shared and reseller hosting. They are already my favorite of the eight hosts I have tried over the years.

Avatar

3 — 

To be honest, i am not impressed

I have 2 websites pointing to MDDhosting (for the last few years).

Please note: These sites are NOT major business things. They are casual sites. (so if they go down, I am not anxious).

I am disappointed though that they do not load often.

Every time I message MDDhosting support, they either say its my cache that needs re-loading, or that i have been blocked because of their ‘brute force protection’. But I dont get any warning that I was blocked. I have to find out for myself a few weeks later when I bother checking my sites.

I never have to refresh my cache on any other websites around the web that I re-visit, so why do I need to refresh it constantly with MDD hosting?

Also: I find that the website loads slowly.

Their customer support replies fast. The first year was cheap, but subsequent years are expensive.

I am not saying they are terrible. I just think they are AVERAGE.

Maybe the people giving great reviews have Premium Hosting plans (and not the entry-level plans).

But either way, they site should always load and keep on getting blocked or other problems.

I’m currently searching for a new host to point my domains to because i think their fees are excessive (for an average service).

Avatar

3 — 

What's up with the constant price changes?

I hate MDDHosting for changing prices all the time. Last week they cost $4.99/month, yesterday they were $2.99 and today they are $3.80 – what’s up with that?

Sketchy marketing tactics?

Avatar

5 — 

gem

MDD Hosting is our last bus stop. We have used so many popular hosting companies that promised so much but delivered very little.

Our last experience with a EIG-owned hosting company prompted us to narrow down our search to MDD hosting and Squidix. We went for the shared server for one of our websites (low traffic) and premium for our primary website. Honestly, we can’t different the performance of the shared server from the semi-dedicated server because both of them are simply awesome. We receive almost instant (about 3 minutes) email support each time we submit a ticket and haven’t noticed a single down-time yet.

The pricing is a bit on the high side bit its really a value for the money. We can easily recommend these guys to anyone in search of a rock-solid hosting company with really solid infrastructure.

Avatar

5 — 

Flawless service

I’ve been hosting with MDDHosting shared hosting since October 2014, and I can describe my experience in one word: flawless; aside from some minor hiccups – a very short outage due to hardware upgrade and the usual scheduled maintenances – my blog on MDDHosting has always been up, fast and I’ve never had a single reason to contact support…because I haven’t had a single issue.

I definitely recommend MDDHosting hands down; while the prices may be a little more expensive than other shared hosts, the extremely high quality of the service is worth every single penny you spend.