WebHostingBuzz Review

Find out If This UK Web Host Is Worth Buying...

Brad Smith
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews
WebHostingBuzz review
WebHostingBuzz is ranked #6 out of 32 hosts

WebHostingBuzz powers more than 250,000 websites in 140+ countries.

That’s no surprise given their uptime has been solid (99.98%) and page loading times have been fast (474 ms) over the past 16 months.

Bloggers will love access to over 450 popular applications like WordPress, while advanced webmasters will enjoy access to the latest programming languages.

WebHostingBuzz has a transparent and straightforward 45-day money-back guarantee so you don’t have to jump through hoops if you decide to cancel your subscription. This is good news, considering there’s no special new customer pricing and a strange termination clause that could trick you before renewing.

Here’s an in-depth, unbiased review of their 16-month performance:

General Info & Hosting Overview


OVERALL RANK: Rated #6 out of 32 web hosts
SPEED: 474ms (December 2017 to March 2019 average)
UPTIME: 99.98% (December 2017 to March 2019 average)
SUPPORT: Tickets
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, PrestaShop, and AbanteCart
FEATURES: Unlimited bandwidth, 20GB storage, free SSL
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, Reseller, VPS and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Single Free Site Transfer
PRICING: Starting at $4.99/mo (same renewal price)

Pros of Using WebHostingBuzz

WebHostingBuzz has posted fast loading times and reliable uptime for the past few years. Their plans provide access to over 450+ applications that can be installed with just a few clicks. And they have a 45-day refund policy for anyone who’s not completely sold on their service.

Here is an in-depth look at their performance over the past 16 months:

1. Fast Page Load Times (474 ms)

Web Hosting Buzz load time

Speed is important when choosing a host because it has a direct impact on your visitors’ experience. A whopping 79% of buyers won’t purchase again from a site that has a bad performance.

And if your host is slow to begin with, it’ll only get slower as you start building out new pages, directly hitting you where it hurts — your wallet.

WebHostingBuzz has been consistently quick over the past few years. In the last 16 months, they’ve kept an average page loading time of 474ms, which places them easily among the top 10 fastest hosts we’ve reviewed. As of 2019 they’ve shown even better speeds of under 300ms — we’ll have to wait and see if they can maintain this speed going forward.

Here’s a recap of the past 16 months from WebHostingBuzz:

Last 16-month average speed:

WebHostingBuzz last 16-month detailed statistics
WebHostingBuzz average speed 2017 – 2019 | See stats

2. 45-Day Money-Back Guarantee

WebHostingBuzz has a 45-day money-back guarantee for all shared, business, and reseller accounts. VPS accounts, on the other hand, are eligible for a refund within 30 days of purchase.

Other additional services, from dedicated servers to IP addresses, SSL certificates, and domain names will not be refunded. Like other hosts we’ve reviewed, a domain name fee will be deducted from any refunds.

However, unlike the standard ~$15 range we’ve seen with domain names, WebHostingBuzz will only charge you $10.87 for a .com or .net. Any domain ending in .org, .info, .us, or .biz will cost $9.69. And if you wanted to transfer any of those domains out to use with another hosting provider, the cost is $12 each.

3. Over 450 1-Click Applications and Free Migrations

WebHostingBuzz comes fully-loaded with over 450 popular apps. Most can be automatically installed within just a few minutes and a couple of clicks. No messy code to get your hands dirty.

If you already have an existing website that you want to bring over, WebHostingBuzz’s team will migrate it for free.

And if you’re a developer who wants access to more advanced features, you’re also in luck. Their servers fully support everything from HTML5 and JavaScript to PHP 5, MySQL 5, Perl, and more.

4. Uptime Almost as Good as Advertised

uptime

WebHostingBuzz has posted a 99.98% uptime over the last 16-months.

The last few months have been especially strong, fluctuating from 99.99% to 100%. However, go back to spring 2018 and WebHostingBuzz struggled with consistency. One month would be a flawless 100%, while others would be an unsatisfactory 99.83%.

We’ve seen similar reports of inconsistent uptime around the same time period from other customers. So hopefully the past few months of strong performance mean they’ve finally figured it out.

Last 16-month average uptime:

  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • December 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • October 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.94%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.83%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.93%
  • December 2017 average uptime: 99.98%
WebHostingBuzz last 16-month statistics
WebHostingBuzz average uptime 2017 – 2019 | See stats

5. Green Web Hosting

WebHostingBuzz has made an environmental commitment and has sponsorship and partnership with The Woodland Trust.

The goal is to offset the energy demand from their servers and keep all of their hosting services carbon neutral.

6. Annual Prepayment Discount with Same Renewal Price

The initial sticker price for WebHostingBuzz isn’t that cheap compared to other hosts (more on that below).

But there are two pricing benefits that do fall in your favor.

The first is that they have an annual prepayment discount. So if you paid for the year, you could get two months free across the board on all plans. So the breakdown looks like the this:

• Personal: $49.99
• Developer: $99.99
• Business: $249.99

On top is the monthly price for each plan, with the annual option underneath:

WebHostingBuzz Annual Discount Compared to Monthly

The second advantage is that renewal rates don’t increase.

Many other hosts will double your monthly price when your plan automatically renews. However, according to WebHostingBuzz’s billing FAQ, the price you pay basically “freezes” and gets applied to all future renewals, too. So you don’t have to worry about an expensive surprise showing up on your credit card statement a year from now.

Cons of Using WebHostingBuzz

WebHostingBuzz performed well across the board. Uptime and page loading times were both great. The free migrations are a nice perk, and the refund policy is also more than fair.

Unfortunately, there were a few categories that still let them down at the end of the day.

Here’s a quick summary of the biggest issues we experienced:

1. No New Customer Discount

Some of the cheapest web hosts on the market might only cost you a buck or two each month.

How can they possibly afford to be so cheap?

New customers get special pricing to help sweeten the deal. So plans renew at a higher rate later on. This, combined with prepaying for up to three years, can help you lock in a really low rate with a new host.

It seems like almost all of the 30+ web hosts we’ve reviewed follow this same trend. Except for WebHostingBuzz.

For starters, there is no long-term discount. You pay $4.99/month for the cheapest personal plan. This comes with a single website, 20GB of SSD storage, 1GB of memory, unlimited bandwidth, and free SSL. That’s pretty good on the surface, but the storage amount is fairly low. (In comparison, some other hosts, like iPage, give you unlimited storage). This basic plan does not come with a free domain name or daily backups, either.

If you wanted to upgrade to one of their bigger plans to get these features, the Developer plan costs $9.99/mo, and the Business option is $24.99/mo. You can prepay for the year, as discussed above, to bring the cost down a little bit. And your renewal pricing will not jump up, either.

But you also lose the opportunity to enjoy a new customer discount and save a bunch over the course of three or so years as you get with most other hosts.

2. Limited Support (~6 Hour Delay)

Almost every single host we’ve reviewed offers 24/7 live chat support so customers can get relatively instant answers.

Once again, WebHostingBuzz bucks the trend.

They have the usual knowledge base and support tickets. But they do not offer phone or live chat support.

They have a little icon in the lower right-hand corner that looks like live chat. However, we checked it at two different times of the day (a Monday evening and Tuesday mid-morning) and both times we got the same response:

WebHostingBuzz Live Chat Message Submission

So the live chat basically served as a glorified ticket-based system, where we submitted a question and had to wait for an email reply to come about six hours later. (They apologized for the delay in response time, which does seem to suggest they’re aware of the issue.)

WebHostingBuzz Customer Support Email Reply

The answer was direct but not complete. We asked about the price per site migration, because even though one free migration is included, usually anything above and beyond that is paid.

And because we’re working through email instead of a live chat, now we have to send another reply to get these details — presumably waiting another few hours before the answer arrives.

This is frustratingly slow compared to pretty much every other host out there.

3. Odd Termination Clause

When you sign up for a new host, you’re usually excited to get a new project off the ground. You’re probably not thinking about what might happen down the road if an issue or problem pops up.

We took a look at the fine print that is usually buried deep inside a host’s Terms of Service.

This is the place where you can usually find something that might prevent you from getting your money back or the service running like you think it should.

WebHostingBuzz has its own variation on this, too. There’s an odd termination clause that dictates how plans renew and how you can cancel to prevent being automatically charged for the next term.

Here’s what it says: “Notification of Your intent to terminate must be provided to WebHostingBuzz no earlier than 10 days prior to Your billing date but no later than three days prior to Your billing date.”

Two key points there:

1. You can’t tell them you want to cancel too early — no earlier than ten days before your billing date, and
2. You also can’t cancel later than three days before the billing date.

Sounds odd, right? You have this tiny window of time to notify them you want to cancel; otherwise, it sounds like they can basically just say “no.”

To us, that sounds like they’re just trying to build in a backdoor to not accept the majority of cancellations without at least trying to get you to pay the renewal rate for the next term, first.

WebHostingBuzz Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s an overview of their shared hosting plans and pricing:

WebHostingBuzz Pricing and Plans

Shared Hosting: WebHostingBuzz has three shared hosting plans:

  1. Personal Plan: This plan costs $4.99 per month. You get enough space for one small site with 20GB of disk space, 100% CPU speed, 1GB memory, a free SSL certificate, and unlimited bandwidth.
  2. Developer Plan: This plan costs $9.99 per month. You can host unlimited websites up to 100 GB of storage, unlimited bandwidth, free domain name and SSL certificate, 2GB of memory, and 200% CPU speed.
  3. Business Plan: This plan costs $24.99 per month. You can host unlimited websites and get unlimited SSD storage, too. It also comes with 300% CPU speed, 3GB of memory, a free domain and SSL certificate, plus access to daily backups.

All their shared hosting plans come with cPanel, and you’ll be given a free domain name upon registration of a new account with them.

  • Free Domain: Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, WebMoney, Dwolla.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Account termination can’t happen before ten days or after three days before the renewal date. You also can’t use more than 25% of their resources for over a minute or have 5,000+ files opened at the same time, or send over 200 emails in the span of an hour.
  • Upsells: Few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick installation of popular apps and CMSs via Softaculous.

Do We Recommend WebHostingBuzz?

Yes, we do.

WebHostingBuzz has performed pretty well in our tests. Uptime and page loading times have both been above average.

They have access to hundreds of applications for beginners, as well as the latest and great tech stacks for power users. Their 45-day refund policy is legitimate, too.

Unfortunately, our customer service experience was slow and disjointed. We had to wait for hours for a reply and didn’t even get a complete answer.

Their termination policy is written in a way that suggests you only have a tiny window to actually cancel before your card is charged again. And while the annual payment pricing is good, there’s no new customer discount to lock-in an extremely low rate for the first three years.

Overall, they’re not quite good enough to make the TOP 5, but still a good choice.

Visit www.WebHostingBuzz.com

P.S. If you want to see hosting providers that ranked above WebHostingBuzz, check our top hosts here.

Do you have any experience with WebHostingBuzz? If so, please leave a review below. We welcome all honest and transparent reviews – good or bad!

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Any proof of your experience (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

15 user reviews for WebHostingBuzz

Avatar

5 — 

Excellent Support and Hosting

Very happy with WebHostingBuzz overall. I have been hosting at WebHostingBuzz for a little over 5 years now.

The staff and support at WebHostingBuzz were always friendly and helpful. I have never had a problem with DOWNtime and support. I recommend them to anyone tired of crappy support and unstable hosting. I have never even considered moving my websites away from them.

I can go as far as saying... I love WebHostingBuzz <3

Avatar

5 — 

Problem with websites

Got some emails from UptimeRobot which triggers off when a website goes down for whatever reason.

Was not a WebhostingBuzz problem, in fact they were able to confirm and advise on solutions very quickly. Great Service!

PS: I used the UptimeRobot service many years ago when I was having problems with another provider, and I had forgotten that I still had it up and running.

Avatar

5 — 

Absolutely great speed, uptime and support

We have a good dozen of websites with WebHostingBuzz, about a half are hosted on their new shared plans they launched earlier this year. I have to admit we haven't had any downtime or performance issues for a very long time. That being said, all our websites are being maintained by an in-house developer - we take updates, security and related things very seriously. Support at WebHostingBuzz is always fast and helpful.

Avatar

5 — 

Improved Over the Year

I’ve been on their shared hosting plan since the early 2000’s, and for a 13-year-old kid who was just doing web design for a hobby, they were absolutely fantastic. They would get back to me promptly and help me resolve issues, explained things step by step, and I felt really comfortable communicating with them. I still do to this day. If anything, their customer service has been consistently top-notch since then, which I’m grateful for.

2016 was not a good year at all – lots of downtime, slow speed, and other issues. I’m not a high priority or high traffic customer, so it was especially difficult to get anything done, despite doing all this as a hobby (I spend maybe a few times a week working on my site). They did another migration in early 2017, and it’s made so much of a difference! I haven’t had any downtime, pages load fine, and everything feels like it runs smoothly.

The most appealing part is their price packaging, which is what kept me with them for years. I can’t speak for businesses, but if you’re looking to host a personal site or portfolio on shared hosting, I’d probably go with these guys.

Avatar

2 — 

15 years of Declining Quality

In the early 2000s, the support was great, the uptime and load speeds were quite good. I started with two reseller hosting packages. Although they were a bit pricey, I felt they were worth it for the support I received. Eventually opted into a virtual server with Webhostingbuzz about 8 years ago. Thankfully, I did not put all my sites onto that server space.

About five years ago, I started experiencing more and more down times. Page loading speed kept getting slower. At one point two years ago, the server crashed. Rather than immediately offering to transfer me to a different server, I was repeatedly told to wait for them to fix it. After almost three weeks of no server, they finally offered to put me on a different server, and told “hopefully” I had a backup. While I did, it still involved a lot of time to rebuild all the pages that had been updated after the last backup. And the crashes/downtimes continued to plague the service.

I pulled all domains that I had with them, and I left a year ago, with a heavy heart. The company and service that I had initially appreciated was basically dead. Throughout all of this, the support people were quick to reply but I don’t think English is their first language for many of them. The service came in little increments with a lot of back and forth communication to get the situations cleared up. Over the years, the quality of product had diminished to sub-par.

Avatar

1 — 

A customer of 10 years; the last year the entire company has fallen to bits

A customer of 10 years. In the last year of so the entire company has fallen to bits, Terrible customer service, Extremely poor performance, Constant downtime, I'm not exaggerating when I say I have been getting 5-50 crashes and time-outs every single day. I moved my websites to SiteGround earlier in the week and have had no issues.
For a customer of 10 years I have been treated terribly by support staff. You submit a ticket, and you get a reply from someone that hasnt read the ticket and has no idea what they are talking about, you explain it again and then someone else replies to the ticket on a completely different subject entirely, always in broken English, repeat yourself 10 times in the same ticket thread as each time you get a new person answer the replys and they start from scratch and don’t read any of the exiting tickets. Tickets were all about downtime, bad performance. I was moved servers on multiple occasions that took 24+ hours to do and was never informed! I was at a point where I was having to send multiple tickets a day to keep my website up as their servers are so unstable. Looking back over the hundreads of tickets I made over 2015/16 they were mostly all about the servers I was put on going down, and I was moved a lot! I was only hosting 1 simple WordPress website.
WHB fell to bits in the last year or two. Avoid like the plague.

Avatar

1 — 

The worst service ever, bar none!

My requirements are not high: two websites of one page each and about half a dozen mail accounts totalling.

In the last months the sever has been down hundreds of times. The first time I found out, they told me it went down when they migrated my virtual server to new hardware. You got it – they didn’t even check to see if my services came back up, so I was down for days.

They said if I want monitoring, I should pay for a nore expensive package – but checking my services came back up is just basic change management!

In the last week my services have been down more than 20 times a day. They don’t respond to service “tickets” (their new “ticketing” system doesn’t send you a copy of your submission or even a reference number). Theyhe don’t respond to emails. They don’t answer their 1800 number.

They suck! Suck! Suck!

Avatar

1 — 

Stay Away!

I have a reseller account and a separate dedicated server and have been a customer for 5+ years. 2 years ago I would have given them a 95+/100. My reseller sites are currently down (going on 2 hours). We are having more and more frequent down time. I cannot get a response from support. Chat is disabled – was disabled a couple weeks ago. Phone support is gone (a post from a few weeks ago said they got rid of it over a year ago, but the number still shows up on their site). Their home page boats fast 24/7 Phone, Chat, Email support. My ticket was in nearly 2 hours ago and I have heard nothing. As soon as my sites are back up I will be moving them to a new host.

Avatar

1 — 

Terrible Service

I have a reseller account and a separate dedicated server and have been a customer for 5+ years. 2 Years ago I would have given them a 95+/100. My reseller sites are currently down (going on 2 hours). We are having more and more frequent down time. I cannot get a response from support. Chat is disabled – was disabled a couple weeks ago. Phone support is gone (a post from a few weeks ago said they got rid of it over a year ago, but the number still shows up on their site). Their home page boats fast 24/7 Phone, Chat, Email support. My ticket was in nearly 2 hours ago and I have heard nothing. As soon as my sites are back up I will be moving them to a new host.

Webhostingbuzz.com was good at first, but services have declined over the past 6 months. No Live support, Phones are not answered and servers frequently go down. This has affected my business negatively.

Avatar

2 — 

TERRIBLE NIGHTMARE

I have been with Webhostingbuzz for years. They were great until the end of last year and since it's been nothing but a nightmare. They moved me to another server and then kept telling me wrong info trying to blame GoDaddy for the direction host setting when it turned out to be their issue.

My reseller account was OFFLINE FOR 3 FULL MONTHS and they never credit me.

Then when they finally got it back up, I had an old website instead of the one I had just paid a grand in programers to fix. IT IS TILL NOT RIGHT TO DATE!!! and they refuse to take responsibility.

NEXT… they have messed up my account twice and then cut me off server and down does all the sites again.
ONCE AGAIN a problem.

TODAY I go to pay and notice a couple of my sites NOT ONLINE again…. Issues with half them and some are up and find out they cancelled out my acct without notice… so my reseller main site is down and yet some of the reseller sites are still up. THEY AGAIN had worked on their MAINTENANCE last month and this is the result of that AGAIN.

I am in tears, and they do not give a crap nor offer $1 in credit NOR help to fix what they screwed up and its left up to me to HIRE OUT people AGAIN to figure out what the hell they have done.

They’ve turned into nothing but a nightmare company for me to use.

Avatar

1 — 

Why

My experience with Web Hosting Buzz has been nothing but awful these past years.

I have been a customer for over 10 years, and have recommended it to many family members and friends. Over the last year, there have been random server breaking configuration changes with no warning from WHB. I always have to scramble to react.

Currently my site and email have been down all day since WHB decided to migrate my account to a new server with no notice. In the process they did not migrate any MX records taking out my email. They did not migrate any Cname entries taking out many of my URLs. I have contacted support via every means I can, and have yet to get any real help. The one response I got said my account matches the old settings. This clearly cannot be. Even just going to my homepage results in a glaring 403 error.

I will be taking my business else where.

Avatar

1 — 

Beware of this **** company

BEWARE OF THIS HOSTING COMPANY, I have been with them over 10 years, but in the last months, WebHostingBuzz has been a crappy company.

Servers go down frequently, customer service is slow.

DON’T PURCHASE ANYTHING WITH WEBHOSTINGBUZZ, in 2016 they are even worse than Arvixe.

Avatar

1 — 

The Worst Web Hosting Ever!

WebHostingBuzz will kill your online business.

Way too much downtime and your data will always be lost because they always restore old backup with out telling.

Their support team is clueless.

They never meet their guarantees that they claim on their site. In my opinion, Web Hosting Buzz is a scam.

Avatar

4 — 

Pretty good...

Received amazing customer support. Servers run perfectly fine, although there are some times where there are small lag spikes, which can be from server side or client side. They sell at a really good price, what I love about them the most!

Avatar

5 — 

Best hosting I've worked with...

There is no doubt that I will continue to support WebHostingBuzz as long as we will maintain such a great respect to each other. I remember, I started to host some of my web projects on their servers in 2008.

Their hosting services at that time were overall quite buggy, but much improved over the years. Now they are almost (if not) perfect – there are some little server downtimes from time to time, but not too often, and certainly much less than in any other hosting company, I’ve dealt with. Tech Support was and still is their first and most important priority – never any delays (usually they respond in less than 30 minutes, if I use a ticket system or e-mail), and always they come up with a satisfying solution for each problem.

That’s the reason why I decided to stay with this company for so long, and I haven’t had any thought of changing my mind. Price per quality is also very acceptable – for less than 15$/month (even cheaper, when using 12 or 24 month payment plans) you can get almost everything you need to host websites, or to even resell their services (which I’m doing by the way, and I must tell you – all of my clients are satisfied).