MidPhase Review

Cheap, super-reliable (99.99% uptime), but slightly slow...

Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews

We’ve been a paying customer for MidPhase for the last 40+ months. During that time, we’ve monitored their performance – avg. load time and uptime.

This review relies strongly on data, such as uptime, load time (speed) and customer support experience.

 

What is MidPhase?

MidPhase is cheap.MidPhase homepage

Like, four bucks a month cheap.

If life has taught us anything, it’s that something cheap often isn’t good.

I mean, MidPhase must have terrible uptime or spotty customer service like Web Hosting Pad or HostMetro. Right?

Four dollars doesn’t even cover a cup of coffee these days. How on Earth does it cover the insanely high costs to purchase and run hosting servers. Not to mention rent and employees for their HQ in the beautiful technology mecca of Salt Lake City, Utah.

But MidPhase is not a fly-by-night operation. They’ve been around since ’98, have teams in the UK, Ukraine, and India. Since then, they’ve merged with the UK2 Group in ’07 (who also owns WestHost).

Point is: This isn’t their first rodeo.

We set up a basic WordPress website in June of 2015 (just over a year ago) on the MidPhase ‘Personal Web Hosting Plan’ to analyze their performance, and see if great things really can come in cheap packages.

You can check out the performance stats, like uptime & speed, for yourself by clicking on ‘History’ to go deeper.

 

Pros of using MidPhase Hosting

The first thing that comes to mind for $4 hosting, is having to sit on the phone with someone who doesn’t speak your language for three hours while you try to determine why your website’s down – again. Fortunately, that’s not even close to being accurate.

Here’s how MidPhase performed over our ten-month review process.

1. 99.99% Uptime Over 10-Months (it’s really good)

Against all odds, MidPhase delivered 99.99% uptime over eight months (.05 better than the industry average of 99.94%) That’s not just good, it’s phenomenal (one of the best we’ve seen after reviewing over thirty web hosts to date). Only Bluehost, SiteGround and Site5 are currently at the same level.

In fact, this was so unexpected that we analyzed uptime over an additional four months just to be sure – and the results still speak for themselves. Take a look:

Last 10-month average uptime:

  • December 2017 average uptime: 99.99%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 99.98%

MidPhase 10month stats

MidPhase: Page Load Speed and Uptime (last 10 months, more detailed data can be found here.)

2. Quick Support Ticket Responses

OK, uptime is great. That must mean customer service is an outsourced nightmare. How else can you run profitably on $4 a month?

We tested their support ticketing system and received a detailed from Britton (support technician) response within 40 minutes from their customer support. Here’s what the conversation looked like:

MidPhase review: Quick chat with Britton

Customer support agent on MidPhase

Unlike some other hosts, they provide phone support with both toll-free and international numbers.

So far, so good!

3. VERY Inexpensive

Did we mention MidPhase is cheap?

A long-term plan with their cheapest shared hosting option comes out to $3.95 per month.

The catch? It’s at least one-year commitment (which unfortunately is a standard industry trick).

They do offer a true month-to-month plan that starts at $7.95 per month (it’s worth noting that some other hosts require at least 12-month signup, so this is a decent short-term option).

midphase pricing

4. Free Migrations & Transfers

If you’re relocating a website from an existing web host, MidPhase will happily help you transfer and migrate that site for free.

Most other hosts provide this option for free as well. A few exceptions (ahem, BlueHost) will charge you up to $150 per site. So it’s nice to see that despite their inexpensive competitive approach, they’re not nickel-and-diming customers to make up for it.

Also, they’ll throw in a free domain name too.

 

Cons of using MidPhase Hosting

Four dollar hosting can’t be all perfect. There are a few drawbacks to consider if you value other hosting features besides saving the most.

Here we go:

 

1. Slow Average Speed

MidPhase’s uptime is great. Their customer support is attentive.

Unfortunately, the same can’t be said for the page loading times and speed. Our last 12-month analysis showed an average speed of 1,093ms, which is about 21% slower than average.

Not terrible, not great either.

But cheap! And almost the quickest for that price range.

If speed is a top priority (which it should be for commercial sites as it affects usability, conversions, and search rankings), you might want to weigh the costs vs. benefits at this point.

Last 10-month average load time

  • December 2017 average speed: 1,121ms
  • January 2018 average speed: 1,107ms
  • February 2018 average speed: 1,163ms
  • March 2018 average speed: 1,203ms
  • April 2018 average speed: 1,088ms
  • May 2018 average speed: 996ms
  • June 2018 average speed: 1,001ms
  • July 2018 average speed: 1,163ms
  • August 2018 average speed: 1,054ms
  • September 2018 average speed: 1,032ms

For conclusion: These kind of load times are not necessarily bad. For example, way more popular and expensive hosting providers have failed to make a website load faster than 1 second.

2. Unclear Money Back Guarantee

Many web hosts will offer a standard 30-day money back guarantee. Some even go so far as to stretch this period to 90 (or 97!) days to make sure that you’re happily satisfied with their service before getting you to commit.

We DID find a 30-day money back guarantee for their WordPress and shared hosting plan options. Note that, we didn’t find the same guarantees for many of their other services.

Something to consider and possibly ask about if you’re trying to take advantage of that low, long-term rate.

3. Security? Anyone, Anyone? Bueller?

Many web hosts will provide a looooong list of security apps available with a few simple clicks to lock down your site and keep things secure from nefarious attempts. Some will even go above and beyond, performing preventative maintenance services to make sure you’re A-OK.

We couldn’t find the same support options with MidPhase. Another possibility to consider or inquire about when signing up.

 

MidPhase Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here is a quick overview of MidPhase hosting plans to help to determine if they are a good fit for you:

midphase plans

Shared Hosting Plans:

  • The “Personal Web Hosting” plan starts at $3.95 per month (for one-year commitment). It allows 1 website, 1 subdomain, 1 database and unlimited emails.
  • Their “Professional Hosting” plan starts at $4.95 per month (same one to three-year commitment). It allows up to 3 websites and 3 databases and a maximum of 5 subdomains. It also comes with unlimited emails, and you can have add-ons such as a dedicated IP address, an SSL certificate and web analytics for an additional fee.
  • Their “Business Hosting” plan starts at $5.95 per month (one to three-year commitment). It comes with unlimited websites, unlimited databases, unlimited subdomains and unlimited emails. It also comes with a free dedicated IP address, a free SSL certificate, and free web analytics.

All their shared hosting plans come with unlimited web space, unlimited bandwidth, and a free domain name.

  • Free Domain: Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Friendly and easy to use three-step signup process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: There’s a limit of 200,000 files and 10GB cumulative database size on all shared hosting accounts. Exceeding this limit may result in termination of your account.
  • Upsells: Lots of upsells. Not fun.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Quick and easy install of popular apps and CMSs with Softaculous.

 

Do We Recommend MidPhase?

There are serious questions to consider prior to signing up with MidPhase. Primarily – speed. But also the money back guarantee and security features.

Despite that, if you’re looking for a quick, cheap option with good uptime and support, MidPhase might be worth a roll of the dice. In this case, we kinda recommend them.

P.S. If you want to see hosting providers that ranked above MidPhase, check our best performing hosts here.

Have you used MidPhase? Please leave your MidPhase review based on your experience – positive or negative – to help us provide honest and transparent reviews.

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and earn $10 when we approve it.

Review Title

Rating

Upload image (optional)

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

5 user reviews for MidPhase

90/100 — 

Price increase

I don’t use them, but found as of December 2016 their lowest price is $3.48/month.
I have an older website and I’m not sure where to park it so am considering mmy options.
Currently with Bluehost whose prices went up.

55/100 — 

Try only if you on a budget

I’ve been with them for about 5years (originally AnHosting then acquired by Midphase)… I think the review is being generous with how bad their load times are, its the single reason I am leaving (and why I came to this website). Another thing I struggled with them is my emails were constantly getting bounced back because their ip addresses were blacklisted, I was constantly been uphold a dedicated ip address.

They have very helpful staff but unfortunately as a business I need reliability and speed.

60/100 — 

2 or 3 year commitment involved

MidPhase is cheap indeed, but it only comes with a 2 or 3 year commitment. It’s a shame that it’s not possible to pay monthly. Otherwise it would’ve been to good to be true.

80/100 — 

Just signed up

I like it so far. Getting started was a bit of a hassle and may be a turn off to new people. but that sweet price? Sold.

90/100 — 

Recommending MidPhase for my clients

Since I’m a web developer and one of my day-to-day tasks are also helping clients to find an affordable web hosting provider – I’ve lately started to recommend them using MidPhase.

When customer approaches me, I’ve usually two questions:
A) Do you want a fast, reliable & expensive host?
or..
B) Do you want the cheapest solution?

Many of them quickly reply, saying something along the lines “Is there something that is a bit of this and that?”.. and in my opinion – MidPhase truly is it.

It’s cheap, but at the same time it’s reliable, providing an uptime of 100% which is something hard to compete with. Even Dreamhost fails to meet it, tough it’s recommended by a ton of web developers.

In short – my vote goes for MidPhase.