GoDaddy Review

Good uptime & speed, but too many upsells and features at an extra cost...

John Stevens  —  · Read user reviews

We finally got around to signing up for GoDaddy’s Economy hosting in November 2017. After building a simple WordPress test site, we’ve been monitoring their uptime, performance, and service ever since. Here’s how they stack up against the competition.

What is GoDaddy Hosting?

GoDaddy reviewGoDaddy needs no introduction.

Everyone knows them. Everyone saw the Super Bowl ads over a decade ago. Everyone recognizes spokespeople like Danica Patrick.

Even your parents, who annoy you on Facebook and still don’t know proper texting etiquette, recognize GoDaddy.

They were founded in ‘97, over two decades ago. They were originally known as Jomax Technologies back then. (Good call on the name change.)

Jomax errr… GoDaddy, was started in Baltimore, Maryland, before seeking warmer climates (literally) in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Bob Parsons, the founder, knew what he was doing: He sold his previous company to Intuit for a cool $65 million bucks a few years before founding GoDaddy.

Just last year, they made an eye-watering $2,231,900,000 in revenue, according to our friends at Wikipedia. They’re reportedly the biggest domain registrar in the world, with over 6,000 employees servicing 17 million customers.

So yeah, you could say they’re doing OK.

But here’s the thing – size doesn’t always matter. (At least, not in web hosting.)

Many of the biggest brands we’ve tested have posted the worst results. They have more money, seemingly more people, and servers, and yet their performance is awful. It doesn’t make any sense.

Which camp does GoDaddy fall under? Do they make many of the same mistakes as some of the other well-known brands in the hosting industry? Or have they been able to side-step a lot of the problems that plague their competitors?

We purchased a GoDaddy hosting account just like any other customer in November 2017.

Then, we set up a test website on WordPress to evaluate their performance. You can see the test website for yourself, here.

You can even play along at home, digging into the Pingdom uptime and speed results, too.

Let’s see how they fared.

 

Pros of GoDaddy Hosting

GoDaddy has more money than some countries. They’ve been in the industry for over 20 years.

Apparently, they’ve learned a thing or two along the way.

Here are some of the highlights we saw.

1. Good Uptime of 99.96%

GoDaddy performed well right out of the gate, posting a 99.96% uptime average over the past ten months.

In this case, ‘no news’ is definitely good news. You don’t want to notice your host’s uptime. Because if you do, chances are, it’s because your site is down again. (And your visitors are pissed, again.)

Here’s a quick look at the past few month’s performances.

Last 10 month average uptime:

  • December 2017 average uptime: 99.97%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.91%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.94%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.85%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 99.99%

GoDaddy 10-month stats

Click here to find more detailed uptime and speed data for GoDaddy

2. Great Page Speed

After keeping your site live, a web host is only as good as its speed.

Why?

Because the internet is obsessed with it.

Slow page speeds mean fewer visitors, less revenue, and fewer conversions across the board.

It’s true: A reported 79% of customers won’t purchase from a site again if they had a slow experience.

Speed is so important that even Google has debuted an entire toolset to help everyone out.

Now, we’ve seen some fast speeds over the past few years. After testing dozens of hosting companies, we’ve grown accustomed to strong page loads in the low ~500ms range.

Even we were surprised at GoDaddy’s performance these past ten months.

The past ten months they’ve held a steady 455ms average. It’s still a little too early to call it the best we’ve seen, but they’re already a front-runner, vying for the top position.

Last 10-month average load time:

  • December 2017 average speed: 389ms
  • January 2018 average speed: 363ms
  • February 2018 average speed: 415ms
  • March 2018 average speed: 386ms
  • April 2018 average speed: 395ms
  • May 2018 average speed: 415ms
  • June 2018 average speed: 492ms
  • July 2018 average speed: 540ms
  • August 2018 average speed: 593ms
  • September 2018 average speed: 564ms

3. Additional Services Thrown In

GoDaddy might be known for domains and hosting, but it seems they have every product under the sun for small business people.

That means they can serve as your one-stop shop. There are countless complementary products that will play nice with your new website.

For example, GoDaddy will throw in their website builder, GoCentral, so you can build your own site. They will also connect you with over 125 applications to instantly add to your new hosting account.

They’ll also take a step further and connect you with web design professionals.

GoDaddy web design

That way, you don’t have to lift a finger. You can just add some of these products to your cart, request a call from an expert, and let them take care of everything so you can get back to what you do best.

 

Cons of GoDaddy

So far so good, right?

Strong uptime and fast speeds are about as good as you can hope for.

We hoped we could say that it was all sunny but unfortunately, there were a few hiccups along the way.

GoDaddy has performed extremely well for a big brand so far. We haven’t seen a lot of the same carelessness that often creeps into larger hosting companies that now only compete on name alone.

But we did have a few issues. Here is the biggest:

1. Lowest Priced Plan is Expensive & Limited

GoDaddy’s Economy plan is the highest costing low-priced plan in the industry.

GoDaddy pricing

Unfortunately, it seems that they’ve also stripped out a lot of the value, too.

The ‘Economy’ plan only allows you to host one single website. This, in itself, isn’t that unusual.

The bad part is that they also don’t include standard features like backups, a CDN, or an SSL certificate (more on this in the next point).

With the heavy $7.99/month price, you’ll find that a lot of other ‘extras’ aren’t factored into this price at all.

Which means you’re going to have to fork over some more dough…

2. A Stomach-Churning Number of Upsells & High Renewal Fees

Remember that SSL certificate mentioned a second ago?

These things are virtually required for any website today. Google is basically starting to require them on all sites to help keep customers safe.

Or else, they’ll publicly shame you with warnings:

no https with godaddy

Any sites that ask for information, without an SSL, will receive different warning signs that tell customers their connection isn’t secure.

They’ll even color it red to make sure you get the hint.

http is not secure

As a result, many hosting companies are beginning to throw these in for free.

If they don’t offer it natively through their service, many will partner with organizations like Lets Encrypt to help customers get a free SSL certificate.

After all – it’s in the best interest for all internet users, right?

On the first pass, it seems like GoDaddy is playing along by throwing in an SSL with new hosting accounts.

But when you read the fine print, you’ll notice that it’s going to renew at $75/year for as long as you have it. (Which, if you’re paying attention, should be the rest of time.)

very high priced https certificate

Unfortunately, this same exact game is played out over and over and over and over again across their site. There are almost too many other instances to name.

Perhaps the most egregious is their email upsells.

Think about it:

You buy a domain name, you should automatically get access to running emails through that site.

Right? Everyone should be nodding their head right now. It’s only fair – you’ve already paid for the thing.

Once again, GoDaddy will throw in one email account when you sign up for a new hosting plan.

One.

A single lousy mailbox with Microsoft’s Outlook.

Hold up, though. That’s not even the worst part…

The worst part is that they’ll charge you $60 bucks per mailbox, per year thereafter!

email cost

Are you going to suddenly not need email one day in the future?

We can only hope but it’s most unlikely.

Many web hosts will throw in these special features because (a) they don’t really cost the company extra and (b) they will help keep the customer around longer.

GoDaddy will give you them for free, too, at first. But after the initial year is up, they’ll charge you an arm, leg, torso, and your head.

3. Sketchy Money-Back Guarantee

You might think that a company’s Terms of Service is a decent cure for insomnia.

You’d be wrong, though.

Some businesses pack enough surprises to give you nightmares for weeks.

Case in point: GoDaddy’s.

On the one hand, their terms essentially say that annual hosting plans can be refunded if canceled within 30 days of being purchased.

On the other hand, it says this in the fine print:

“If a Hosting Service has already been performed, then it is non-refundable (if not yet performed, eligible for a refund within 30 days of the date of the transaction).”

Now, I’ve been doing this internet thing for decades. Yet I still don’t know what “if a hosting service has already been performed…” means.

Sounds like some carefully-crafted legalese that’s just vague enough to be up for interpretation.

Do you get a refund or you don’t?

Good luck trying to find the answer to that question. I fear you may need it.

4. Mixed Reviews on Tech Support

I’ve personally had mixed reviews with GoDaddy’s tech support.

Their U.S.-based, phone, tech support is great. The people we spoke to were based in Arizona and could easily translate technical mumbo-jumbo for you.

However, that’s only good for in-depth issues that could take hours to resolve.

What about a faster, lightweight option?

Can you get a simple answer to a basic question, like the one above about the refunds?

That’s what we set out to do with their live chat, only to be met by this:

Hard to get in touch with their support

The result was the same, no matter which page we tried loading.

This was also frustrating because the live chat widget would send a targeted message when each page loaded initially, prompting you to chat.

It was only when you tried to connect and ask a question that you’d get this, “Connection Unavailable” error.

 

GoDaddy Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of GoDaddy’s hosting plans:

GoDaddy pricing and plans 2018

 

Economy plan: One basic website for $7.99/month.

Deluxe plan: A souped-up plan allowing for unlimited websites that will run you $10.99/month.

Ultimate plan: More power, more databases, and one year of an SSL certificate for $16.99/month.

Business Hosting: $29.99/month gets you a dedicated, Virtual Private Server (VPS) and free SSL.

More facts about GoDaddy:

  • Free domain? You get one year for free, but then it will cost you dearly after that.
  • Ease of Signup: Pretty easy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: All major credit cards and PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: “If a Hosting Service has already been performed, then it is non-refundable (if not yet performed, eligible for a refund within 30 days of the date of the transaction).”
  • Upsells: So. Many. Upsells.
  • Account Activation: Fast account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Lots of 1-click installation options with most popular open source apps.

 

Do We Recommend GoDaddy?

GoDaddy is well known. They’ve got strong uptime and some of the fastest page speeds we’ve seen.

However, there are just too many potential issues to be sincerely recommended by us.

The first year of your GoDaddy service will be pretty good (assuming you don’t need to try out that money-back guarantee).

Additional years will cost you two or three times the initial rate.

There are just too many other good web hosts out there that offer the same (or better) performance, without all the hidden fees.

Want to check those out? You can see the full list of our best web hosting providers.

Do you have any personal experience with GoDaddy – positive or negative? If so, please leave us an honest, transparent review below!

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Upload image (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

26 user reviews for GoDaddy

1 — 

30 day money back is a LIE

I had been working on my future site during my trial period. Getting to know the site I must have created another website under the same name. However I have not worked on the dummy site. Long story short when renewing the site that I actually want to eventually have go live I somehow renewed the dummy site. When I realized my error i immediately cancelled the renewal and renewed the correct site (all within 15-20 mins). Due to life happening I had time to place a call on Sunday afternoon ( maybe 3 days later) to have my money refunded for the dummy site. I paid for the correct site too. I was told i was past the 48 hrs refund policy. Bad customer service and false advertisement.

2 — 

Scamers

Godaddy will change their price in a heartbeat (I've been dealing with them for several years, and haven't found anyone else, plus I would of to change my hosting). I called on 2/12/19 and spoke with agent Richard in hosting. I asked Richard to increase the PHP to the max file size of 256 or above, he stated if he does it, it will cost $30.00, however; I can do it myself and he will he send the instruction via email to me. I forward the instruction to the site builder, but she was unsuccessful in doing so. I called back on 2/14/19, and spoke to agent name Bret, he quoted me $50.00. I stated to him, that Richard quoted me $30.00, then he said "I don't know how long he's been here, but I've been with the company for 6 years". This guys was so arrogant and rude. I could not tolerate the back and forth, I told him no worries I will call back and speak with another agent, which I did. I called back and spoke with John, much better conversation, and he was able to explain the difference between the $30 and the $50, needless to say the $30 is what I needed Bret for my WordPress site.

1 — 

GoDaddy Was Not Honest When Selling Me Products

I've used GoDaddy for a variety of products over the years and it has been nothing but trouble. Stay away from GoDaddy. The latest fiasco is that I made the mistake of purchasing Office365 through GoDaddy, only to find out it is NOT the same product and NOT the same support you get if you go through MS directly. I was told it was the same. But when I called to point out that I was misled, the rudest tech support manager of all time, Eric, told me that was not what I meant. Seriously? OBVIOUSLY, I meant am I getting the SAME PRODUCT? Now I've prepaid for 3 years of Office365 with GoDaddy only to be stuck with a shoddy product and tech support accuracy of a cockroach.

In addition I've had non-stop problems with my other GoDaddy products and have steadily been transferring out. One problem is that my hosting was on a bad, compromised, hacked server and they did not tell me that the quality of hosting I was getting was sub-par from most of their other servers AND they charged me more. Ironically, their bad servers cost more than their better ones. Either way, it is not OK to put customers at risk. Not surprised to read the reviews here saying their sites were infiltrated with porn. It's the bad servers. I had to go to the work of migrating every site, but I never would have known I was on a bad server if I had not pressed the issue.

On top of that, I have almost never had accurate info in any tech support call with GoDaddy EVER! Each person tells you a different, made-up, guessed answer. I've even spent hours on the phone with tech support only to be told at the end, "Yah, I don't really know how to do this. I was just guessing. Why don't you call back later?" What?

Thanks a lot, GoDaddy. Worst service and ethics. What makes them stand out most is that they take no responsibility for telling you false information to convince you to buy something. If I am considering buying a product I should be told the TRUTH about what I am buying. Instead, GoDaddy had LIED/MISLED me. They have gone downhill as a company. Stay away from GoStinky GoDaddy. GoSomewhereElse.

1 — 

Good tech support is declining

I was on the phone with Godaddy on chat for over an hour discussing a several years long problem. I kept getting emails coming from just about everywhere. The email TO section from the incoming emails was your standard "[email protected]" They asked me if I own this email and I told them it was an email assigned by Godaddy when I first developed the online store. After over an hour of escalating the issue to higher up the chain, they finally came back and stated it was coming from my Contact Page. I asked them then how do I block the trash coming in from everywhere using my contact page. Godaddy had no answer and I could tell the Godaddy rep was tired of working the issue (I could tell by her short irritating remarks at the end) as I was just as tired getting nowhere. So, no resolution provided by Godaddy, so I dug deeper on my own. Come to find out, there was a solution and I found it on my own. Godaddy tech reps, know your systems network capabilities well before you begin to work with customers. It was a one-step process that I did to correct the system preventing incoming garbage emails. Your Incompetency precedes you.

1 — 

Worst than worst!

I will give them a zero star if I could. I mean, take a look all the people on here giving them 2-3 stars, I'm on their delux plan with less than 100 product Images and they constantly asking me to upgrade, and it's been over 7months now I can't even launch my website as I get 503 Service Unavailable Error almost everyday! This guys need to go out of business.

2 — 

GoDaddy? Nope!

Your review of GoDaddy is to the point - sadly, I have had the same experience mentioned above. I am the victim of one of the sketchy tactics of "Free" outlook for one year scheme. They used my saved payment method on their site to be used for the auto-renewal of this product. I haven't even used the product during their so-called "Free" offer time. In fact I did not register for the product and I have never even used it. Even though I explained that to their support team - - their response was "No refund after 30 days". Disappointed! I am looking for alternative hosting company.

1 — 

They never help!

These people are terrible at helping. I needed a assistance to guide me on how to link a page on the Text Button, and the first call sent me this website with more links to figure out my self. How if they know the answer they could not assist a beginner on such a task? it would of take me less time for him to guide me through the task than finding the answer, actually I never did found the answer in their website, and within a day I called back. I got the same response, but this representative send me the link with the exact location of the article. I LOSE HOURS OF WORK trying to find a simple answer. Their job supposed to be helping customers with this problems. I was not asking to help design my website, I was asking for a solution to an action button that I wanted to add to my website. I am now highly considering to close my account. I can not stand their support.

1 — 

No customer oriented

Every time I call tech support, I've got a different answer. They have no more willing to help customers, they just throwing a whatever answer. They charged me twice on a product and they don't recognize it. I showed them the bill and they still deny. I disputed one of the charges and they shut down my entire site. I would not recommend godadyy anymore... bad tech support.

1 — 

RIP-OFF

Worst service ever. I turned auto renew off for my domain and was charged anyway. I proved to them with several emails that auto renew was off. They don't care! They said if I wanted to get money back I need to delete this domain. I did it and now I don't have the domain and don't have the money. I would give a minus rating if I could.

1 — 

Lost all my content

I was using their services for Managed Wordpress site for 1,5 years, then due to my card becoming inactive, I was late around 20 days on the payment. Lost all my data. Wasted 3 hours chatting with the support which was very unhelpful and didnt resolved the issue. Moving somewhere else.

1 — 

Bad Refund Policy

I purchased a virtual phone line and selected 1-year plan. There was a free month trial. Five days past the 30 days, I called to cancel but refused to issue a refund: they would be glad to cancel but no refund.

I don’t recommend GoDaddy for lack of flexibility in issuing a refund.

1 — 

worst hosting

upgraded the hosting to ultimate and guess what? few days was fine then hangs up, website down, 20 seconds to load a page, tried to copy site from different hosting less than the price I paid in Godaddy and it works just fine maximum of 3 seconds load normal

called Godaddy and the suppport person said "you need to talk to your developer" yup blame it on developer, "you need to upgrade your plan" another lame excuse.

stay away from godaddy

1 — 

Stay away!

Would not recommend this company to any one. Charged much more than just for the domains on auto renew without asking if I wanted extra options and when I noticed it on my credit card they did not want to return the money for unwanted options even after I cancelled, said that more than 30 days went by since auto renew took place. I get the impression that all they seem to care about is to squeeze as much money as possible out of me. Will never use them again!

1 — 

Worst Experience

I've been billed for emails that I deleted and haven't used for over 6 months. Their delete account button somehow empties their slot but keeps on billing you "just in case you may assign another email". Then all of a sudden weird emails popped up one day with username user1, user2 etc in the weirdest way. It took a while for the support person to figure out what's going on etc as well as me. Bad experience, bad billing practises, bad support. Stay out.

1 — 

Why all the calls?

I'm about to stop buying domain names from Go Daddy. A day or two after I purchase a domain I am flooded with emails and phone calls trying to sell me web building, hosting or other such products. Apparently, Go Daddy is selling my contact information to these third-party vendors. It's annoying and a disruption to my workday. This has to stop...

1 — 

Customer Service On Decline

I've been with GoDaddy for 13 years. I've noticed over the last few years their customer service has become crap. Before, they would help you. Now, it's so good. Each time I call about a problem, the person who answers tells me a different story, which usually ends in the problem not being solved, and then them trying to upsell me on some product I don't need.

1 — 

GDaddy's Got Sleezy

I recently agreed to have GoDaddy restructure my web page. I should have known better when they made me pay up front for the service. After spending a significant and detailed amount of time explaining the essence of our work and specifying precisely which content CANNOT be continued in the new version, I received a presentation piece I can only say was written by a first year high school student masquerading as a marketing professional. If it weren't for the $1,600.00+ dollars at stake I would find it humorous. It seems GoDaddy is hiring kids to perform the work of a professional, paying them the usual chump change, and passing this off as first rate craft. Then they want to rewrite what they didn't understand the first time...so guess what. Now, you the customer, will have to spoon feed every morsel of data to someone who has no understanding of or interest in your business. At this point you can get 30% back or roll the dice and let them redo for all the money. So now "Who's The Moron?" Now I'm looking for another web provider and they will eventually loose more money than the $1,600.00 they stole. Hopefully, the word will get out and other buyers will beware. Hats off to Matt at GoDaddy...nice work!

1 — 

I feel like I've been scammed!

I have been with GoDaddy for many years. I have had problems with them a long the way, however, nothing compared with what has happened the past two months.

In mid September, 2018 my website went down. They said it had been hacked and needed info that it needed had been deleted. For a mere $360+ they said they could fix it and provide security that would protect my site from ever being hacked into again. This also included them monitoring my site to make sure it was okay.

It is now November 9th, 2018 and my email and my website have both been down for about a week. I called Google since I use gmail and they said it was a problem with GoDaddy and that they did not see any type of security on my site. They did say they found several infections.

I then called GoDaddy and after 3 hours on the phone may have my website and email back.

The reason it was down? I could not believe it when they said I had cancelled my domain about a week after I had paid them all that money. When I asked to see whatever they think I sent to cancel, they said they cannot show it to me because it is a matter that I need to contact their legal department about. Bottom line...I need to get an attorney and and get a supena to see a document that doesn't exist. So much for their expensive security which is not refundable even though I just paid them about 1 1/2 months ago.

They said they would put my site and email back up, however, it would cost me $80.

When I complained they said they would do it for $40.00. I truly believe that I have been scammed and it seems to me that they took down my site so they could charge me more money to put it back. I had to do all the work to get the site back up and after spending over an hour trying to get my domain verified and having Nathan, a supervisor, tell me that he had no problem doing his own site and could not help he told me that I was having the problem because something was wrong on their end. They had many calls about the same issue.

My experience speaking with Nathan for nearly 3 hours was extremely unpleasant. I felt like he was antagonistic rather than helpful. It was absurd that it took 3 hours to get very little accomplished and feel like I have been working with a company that is not honest and misrepresents their services. I will change as soon as possible. He told me I had to wait for a few weeks for some reason. Not much of what he said made any sense and he had problems talking with me in terms I could understand. I would not recommend using this company.

1 — 

Scam

I bought a 3 years both domain name and host in godaddy. About 260$ if i remember properly. I choosed it just because their publicity said that they have special support and optimization for wordpress pages.

Well, the first problem i found with wordpress, i contacted godaddy customer support because wordpress guys said that my host is the only one who can change some particular configuration, important to make my web works.

The first minutes with godaddy customer support was nice. Mostly asking your credentials, blablabla and then, when they really know what your problem is: just change some PHP configuration, they ask for $30 to make any change.

WHAT? i just paid yesterday $260! now you want to scam just to make your work? ok, im done, what could i expect with that stupid name.

1 — 

A disaster

Shortly after I started having issues with Bluehost, who I had been with for more than ten years. I thought I would give GoDaddy a try. I moved one of my seventeen sites. What a mistake!

Within twenty-four hours my site was hacked with all sorts of terrible porn. I had never once been hacked with Bluehost. I contacted GoDaddy tech support and after being transferred all around the company eventually got to a senior tech. "No problem", he said. Just pay the $150 fee to restore your site and everything will be fine.

Luckily I had a site backup with DropBox. Couldn't transfer my site back to Bluehost fast enough.

1 — 

The Absolute Worst

I've been with GoDaddy for @20 years and have over 100 domain sites registered with them. They also host my business website. They have gone from stellar to a total disaster. I'd write a longer, more specific review if I and my co-worker hadn't spent over 4 hours on the phone with their lack-of-tech-support over the past 4 hours. No two people give the same information or advice. It's terrifying for anyone in business. Truly a NIGHTMARE!

2 — 

Technical Support?

When I call for technical support, I get the queasy feeling the customer and GoDaddy are using two different responsibility matrices. I don't get that feeling until I call tech support. The way I understand the relationship is: I put in the data. I pay GoDaddy to host that data, so I don't have to worry about that part. My job is: data and money. GoDaddy's job is: everything else. I am not sure if it is possible to corrupt GoDaddy's software or servers with my "managed", it seems locked down in every other way, WordPress. It seems when I call, I understand my responsibilities, but GoDaddy is iffy/waffling all the way back towards "Go-who? Servers? What servers?" It seems difficult to get GoDaddy technical support to accept responsibility except for 1) data, and 2) money, which I clearly have indicated are mine.

I have to patiently and professionally buttonhole, which is a real pain in the ass to do, them into trying attempting something other than their telling me "You fix it!" Getting them to actually attempt to think about looking under the hood rather than brush me off is painful. But, you know when they do, they go "Hey! You know what? There is something wrong with us?" Ya think?

2 — 

Deteriorating support

I have supported a number of sites over the years, many of them hosted by GoDaddy. When I first started using GoDaddy I was generally able to connect with support staff who understood the technology they were supporting when issues arose, and if the problems weren't urgent, the option of reporting and tracking issues via email was available. Over the years GoDaddy has injected layers of less knowledgeable staff, and it is no longer possible to communicate directly with the folks who actually manage the servers directly. Reporting and tracking of issues were silently eliminated. I awarded a score of 20 instead of something lower because uptime is still reasonably good and performance is acceptable most of the time, but the servers have been acting increasingly flaky (for example, one of the servers randomly changes the fingerprint for its RSA key, which breaks the scheduled backup scripts; for another example, that same server regularly kills the editor process in the middle of modifying a file on the server). GoDaddy isn't interested in resolving the problems and as renewal deadlines come around I've been recommending to the site owners that another hosting provider be selected.

4 — 

Cost Not Bad, Support is REALLY Hit or Miss

I've used GoDaddy for a few years, have four different hosting servers for over nearly two dozen sites and test sites. While the cost of working with GoDaddy isn't terrible (it is getting more costly), their support is very uneven. When it comes to critical issues, like something tanked and a whole site is down, they've generally been helpful with getting the problem resolved quickly. For pretty much all other issues, the response is sometimes good, other times awful. Let's start with some good or at least, not bad things.

In getting an SSLs setup, GoDaddy was pretty easy to work with, but we did the actual installs and did not pay extra for them to do it.
Backups have been easy and reliable. The CPanel interface is familiar and simple to use. Site speed has generally been good with no issues.
The GoDaddy site requiring you to constantly login over and over as you move across their site = pain in the ass

We had a premium security feature expire on a site, but prior to it expiring, the name of it actually changed. Let me back up just a moment. Premium security isn't something GoDaddy actually handles. They third party it out, used to be SiteLock, but now they run their premium support clients through Securi. We weren't informed of the change, so when the old premium planned expired, it wasn't renewed b/c someone in the office didn't recognize the Securi name on the renewal. No big deal. Security expires, and while the site isn't a little less secure, everything still should be fine, right? I began having a variety of issues on the live version of the site. After three different calls about a variety of connected issues, someone over there finally put things together and found what the issue was - left security software that was directing my site traffic to a dead firewall. Took a fourth support ticket and another week for it be removed and resolved.

In another instance, we used their premium WordPress support (and I know this isn't actually hosting related, but it's a service they offer). Prior to this particular time, we'd used the premium an average of about one time per year. Each time, they were able to resolve the issue, whether it be with a buggy theme or issue with a plugin causing problems. The last time though will be the last time I use that service. After submitting a ticket and going back and forth with the tech (btw, like the security, these are not actual GoDaddy or in-house folks; it's third-partied out), nothing was resolved. The final solution was to have the plugin dev rebuild the plugin or simply stop using it. Sorry, but saying, "I cannot fix this. Someone else will have to fix this" and then taking someone's money isn't an actual solution.

Lastly, I will say that in general, we've had more issues with the Enterprise server than with the other dedicated servers we use through them.

4 — 

Not a Fan

The big reason I gave GoDaddy a shot was because they advertise an easy-to-setup process and good prices. I am not fluent in website building and am certainly not made of money, so this seemed like a great way to get started.

Nope!

Their "getting started" process was confusing and I paid BEYOND more than what I was told at the beginning because they make it sound like your site will not be up and running without certain add-ons. I bit my tongue at my first payment and moved forward with getting my site set up. I took it slowly and did not immediately publish it - apparently, that's not allowed and my draft was deleted after a week or two. Lesson learned, I redid my site, published it and everything seemed good.

Real life happened and I couldn't mess with it for a couple months. Some people were asking about my site one night and I went to pull it up on my phone... FILE NOT FOUND. Well that doesn't make sense, I dropped $200 dollars on unnecessary junk they tricked me into, they can at least host my site properly. I log onto my account once I was able to access my computer and... everything was gone!

I rebuilt my site AGAIN, published it, and made sure to check up on it along with any GoDaddy emails to make sure this didn't happen again. Things seemed fine for a few months and I forgot about my concerns. Yesterday, I got an email for the renewal of one of those useless add-ons that in hindsight I should've canceled when I had the chance. Well since I'm on the topic of spending $60 on my website I've been neglecting, let's go and work on it. Log-in and guess what... DELETED!!!!! I am expected to start from scratch AGAIN and I am fed up.

though that's their big selling point) - your wallet will get sucked dry for next to nothing.

Needless to say, I'm changing my game plan.

2 — 

about GoDaddy

I bought a 5-yr contract and have been with them maybe 3+ years now.
Customer support is pretty good, their phone guys are patient and experienced and relate well to everyday problems. But the SITE is really awkward to navigate and often stumbles upon itself when trying to get into pages. Structure is odd too.... VERY odd. I think it's a mess and could be done better. Likely I will NOT renew, and will consult your service again when time to make the move.