GoDaddy Review

Strong uptime and speed, but still many drawbacks...

Avatar
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews
GoDaddy review
GoDaddy is ranked #5 out of 32 hosts

GoDaddy’s hosting is stable (99.97% uptime) and fast (517ms average).

Their base plan gives you up to 100 GB storage and unmetered bandwidth. And it integrates with over 125 services that you can install with a single click.

However, they will charge you a lot for everything from migrations ($99/site) to backups ($2.99/mo), SSL certificates ($63.99/year), and pretty much anything else you’d need.

Their customer support is slow and frustrating. And their money-back guarantee is sketchy on top of it all (so you might not get a single dollar back).

Here’s an in-depth look at the pros and cons we’ve uncovered over the past 16 months of hands-on testing:

General Info & Hosting Overview


OVERALL RANK: Rated #5 out of 32 web hosts
SPEED: 517ms (December 2017 to March 2019 average)
UPTIME: 99.97% (December 2017 to March 2019 average)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and more
FEATURES: Unmetered bandwidth, 100GB storage, free email and free domain 1st year
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, Cloud, Reseller, VPS and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Not Free
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $7.99/mo)

Pros of using GoDaddy Hosting

GoDaddy has delivered solid uptime and page speed over the last 16 months. They integrate with over 125 popular web applications so there’s a little something for everyone. And their cheapest “Economy” plan is now excellent value for the price, too.

Here are the top things we liked about GoDaddy’s hosting:

1. Good Uptime of 99.97%

GoDaddy might be known for domain names, but they’ve figured out how to deliver some rock-solid uptime on their shared hosting plans, too.

There were a few dodgy months almost a year ago where they fluctuated between 99.85% – 99.94%. But then they followed that up with a consistent 99.99% – 100% streak to bring the average up to 99.97% over the past 16 months.

After testing 33 other hosts, that puts GoDaddy well above average. And it means the average monthly downtime is only around ~13 minutes — not enough to derail your business during a big sale or launch.

Last 16-month average uptime:

  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.97%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • January 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • December 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • October 2018 average uptime: 100%
  • September 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • August 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • July 2018 average uptime: 99.85%
  • June 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • May 2018 average uptime: 99.94%
  • April 2018 average uptime: 99.99%
  • March 2018 average uptime: 99.91%
  • February 2018 average uptime: 99.96%
  • January 2018 average uptime: 99.98%
  • December 2017 average uptime: 99.97%
GoDaddy last 16-month statistics
GoDaddy average speed 2017-2019 | See stats

2. Great Page Speed

I’ll admit: I didn’t see this coming.

Years ago, you wouldn’t associate cheaper web hosts like GoDaddy with good performance. Yet, that’s exactly what they’ve done. Our GoDaddy test site has posted an average page loading time of only 517ms over the past 16 months.

Fast loading times aren’t just a vanity metric. Studies have shown that they can do everything from force visitors to leave your site faster, hurt your search engine rankings (especially on mobile), and even negatively impact your conversion rates, too.

The speed of your web host is also important because you can’t really do anything to control it.

Here’s what I mean:

If you have an image-heavy site, you can compress them or use a Content Delivery Network (CDN) to take the burden off your servers and make your site faster.

In other words, you can control things to directly speed up your site.

But if your web host is consistently slow to begin with? Your hands are tied. You’ll constantly fight a losing battle.

Fortunately, with GoDaddy hosting, you don’t have to worry about that based on our tests.

The past sixteen months they’ve held a steady 517ms average.

Last 16-month average load time:

GoDaddy last 16-month detailed statistics
GoDaddy average load time 2017-2019 | See stats

 

3. Over 125+ One-Click Install Applications

GoDaddy has their own website builder if you’re looking for just a simple, drag-and-drop experience.

However, if you want something with a little more power under the hood, GoDaddy also has one-click installations with over 125 of the most popular applications on the Internet. That includes content management systems like WordPress, Joomla, and Drupal.

But it also includes developer-friendly tools like cPanel, MySQL, CloudLinux, Python, and multiple versions of PHP.

So they have a good variety of options that suit everyone from beginning bloggers to savvy webmasters.

4. Basic Cheap Plan is a Good Value on Paper

When we originally reviewed GoDaddy, their cheapest shared hosting plan was too expensive and the features were too limited.

It seems like they’ve done a complete 180-degree turn since then, though.

Now, the Economy plan pricing is only $2.99/month. No discount code needed.

However, you still actually get a lot of value for that price. You get everything needed for a single website, including up to 100 GB of storage and unmetered bandwidth.

They’re currently even throwing in a free domain name and business email for the first year, too.

Some of the other hosts we’ve reviewed, like SiteGround, performed well in our tests. But when it comes to actually hosting a site with them, they only give you 10GB of storage on the cheapest plan.

GoDaddy literally gives you ten times that for similar pricing. So the overall value you’re getting is excellent on first pass. It’s only when you dig a little more beneath the surface that you realize it might not be such a good value after all. Here’s why…

Cons of using GoDaddy Hosting

GoDaddy’s performed was pretty solid across the board. The value for the initial price is pretty good, too.

However, that’s also part of the problem. There are a lot of upsells throughout the checkout process. And the renewal pricing will also come back to haunt you, too.

We also didn’t like the confusing, vague money-back guarantee, either.

Here are the biggest cons we saw:

1. Lots of Upsells

GoDaddy has become relatively infamous for the number of upsells used to increase the price you’re ultimately going to pay.

The first one you’ll run into is the hosting plan cost based on the amount of time that you’re prepaying. You’ll have pony up for three years if you want to get that $2.99/monthly price. Otherwise, a shorter, three-month plan will cost you $10.99/month.

GoDaddy Hosting Term Length Pricing

This is just the first of many.

GoDaddy will also try to sell you a lot of extra services at checkout, too. For example, they will automatically opt you in for website backups that will cost another $2.99/month for three years.

GoDaddy Hosting Website Backup Pricing

Just that one upsell alone will already double your price.

They don’t stop there, there. You’ll also see upsells for Office 365 access, SSL certificates, and “essential website security” which refers malware scans and updates.

GoDaddy’s checkout process can feel like a minefield, where you need to carefully check each step before accidentally paying two or three times the initial price.

2. Base Plans Lack Critical Features (No SSL Certificate, Backups, Security, or Site Migrations)

The top hosts we’ve reviewed will throw in features like an SSL certificate on every plan. These have become commonplace and are basically required to run a site today.

Unfortunately, GoDaddy doesn’t offer any of these in their base plans, which leads to a lot of the upsells along the way.

Take their SSL certificates for example. Unless you’re paying for their top plan, this feature can cost you an arm and a leg:

• 63.99/year for a single site (79.99/year renew)
• 159.99/year multiple sites (199.99/year renew)
• $295.99/year all subdomains (369.99/year renew)

Those prices are outrageous to be honest, because most hosts today will give you a free Let’s Encrypt SSL certificate for every site.

Other hosts will give you backups and website security, too. But both of those will cost you another $2.99/month and $5.59/month respectively.

Oh, and then there’s the migration fees.

Again, many hosts will move at least one existing site over to their servers for free. Many of them can even do this within a few hours of asking so you don’t have to wait around.

Not GoDaddy, though. They don’t offer any free site migrations. And if you want them to do it for you, the cost is $99.99/site and might take at least 7-10 days. So it’s both expensive and slow.

Add all of these extra costs up over the course of a few years and GoDaddy hosting doesn’t look too cheap anymore.

3. Renewal Rates are Higher, Too

GoDaddy’s Economy plan pricing starts at $2.99/month for three years.

However, all of their plans follow the industry-standard pricing trick where they double or triple when it’s time to renew.

This same Economy plan, for comparison, will jump to $7.99/month when you renew.

You don’t get any extra features or any better performance. But you will have to pay more.

4. Sketchy Money-Back Guarantee

Most web hosts we’ve reviewed will give you a no-questions-asked refund if you cancel within 30 days.

On the surface, GoDaddy’s money-back guarantee looks similar. Annual plans can get a refund within a month of buying.

However, here’s where all of the issues start popping up.

If you pay for a “Monthly Plan” (anything less than an annual plan — three, six, or nine months), you have to ask for a refund within 48 hours. That only gives you two days to try them out.

To get either of these refunds, you have to call into their operators (so they can try to talk you out of it).

And almost each plan GoDaddy offers has some crazy terms that could jeopardize your chances of actually receiving that refund.

For example, here’s what their terms say for web hosting refunds:

If a Hosting Service has already been performed, then it is non-refundable (if not yet performed, eligible for a refund within 30 days of the date of the transaction).

That’s not very clear, is it?

Essentially, what we think it means is that if you try to actually use the hosting plan and set up a WordPress site, for example, you might be violating this term. And so they could, in theory, deny your refund request.

We don’t like this at all.

5. Poor Tech Support

GoDaddy claims to offer tech support 24/7. They have a knowledge base, phone support, and live chat.

The live chat says that reps are available “all day” from Monday through Friday.

Except, apparently, 8pm on Thursdays. Because we tried and got this message:

GoDaddy Hosting Live Chat Not Available

We waited around for awhile but it never changed.

So we tried it again at 9am on a Friday morning. And we got the same result.

We sat there with the window open for about ten minutes, waiting for it to change and open up.

Finally, we were able to “Chat Now.” Except, when we opened the live chat session, we were again put on hold.

They said the “estimated wait time” was one minute. The actual wait time, however, was another three minutes.

GoDaddy Hosting Customer Support Live Chat Session

The rep was friendly and knowledgeable enough.

But then when we didn’t respond for a few minutes, their system automatically logs you off. So you not only lose your place in line, you also lose a record of the entire conversation.

A pretty disappointing experience all-around.

GoDaddy Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of GoDaddy’s hosting plans:

GoDaddy Shared Hosting Plans and Pricing

Economy Plan: One website for $2.99/month (renews at $7.99/month). You get 100 GB storage, unmetered bandwidth, free business email and a free domain name for the first year.

Deluxe Plan: Unlimited websites for $4.99/month (renews at $10.99/month). It comes with all of the Economy features, plus unlimited storage and subdomains.

Ultimate Plan: All Deluxe features and more for $5.99/month (renews at $16.99/month). Includes two times the processing power and memory, a free SSL certificate for the first year, premium DNS, and unlimited databases.

Maximum Plan: All Ultimate features and more for $12.99/month (renews at $29.99/month). You get two times the power and memory, two times “maximum site traffic” and a free SSL certificate the entire term you purchase.

More facts about GoDaddy:

  • Free domain? You get one year for free, but then it will cost you after that.
  • Ease of Signup: Pretty easy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: All major credit cards and PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: “If a Hosting Service has already been performed, then it is non-refundable (if not yet performed, eligible for a refund within 30 days of the date of the transaction).”
  • Upsells: Tons of upsells. The initial term, site migrations, backups, SSL certificates, security, and more.
  • Account Activation: Fast account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): Lots of 1-click installation options with most popular open source apps.

Do We Recommend GoDaddy?

Yes, we do. You might want to look at other options, too, though.

GoDaddy has strong uptime and fast page loading speeds. They work well with most popular web apps you’d want. And the initial pricing for the base features is a good value at first pass.

It’s only when you start adding everything else up that the picture starts to look a little different.

There are tons of upsells for basic features that you’d assume were just included for free. Any one of these might double the cost of your plan. But together, they could easily end up costing you significantly more than the best web hosting providers.

So while their performance overall was good, they had enough drawbacks that we’d recommend reviewing others at the top of our list, too.

Visit www.GoDaddy.com

Do you have any personal experience with GoDaddy – positive or negative? If so, please leave us an honest, transparent review below!

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

Review Title

Rating

Any proof of your experience (optional)

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

34 user reviews for GoDaddy

Avatar

1 — 

Worst hosting ever and serious privacy concerns

I don't know why anyone still uses these guys. Their servers are slow, customer service is seriously lacking and there are problems around every corner. I contacted their support because I have a client that is using their Ultimate shared hosting package. I know... shared hosting isn't always the best, but it's what the client wanted. So, we ran into an issue where emails from the website were always going to spam.

The simple solution is to change it so that emails are being sent via smtp through an email account. It shouldn't be a problem. I've done this before. Except for when I went to run a test and found out that all email ports (25, 465 and 587) were being blocked. I ran a quick port checker from an external site and confirmed that they were open on the email server. It appeared that Godaddy was blocking the website from connecting to those ports.

So, I contact customer support in order to see if we can work out a resolution. Besides, this is the first time I've ever run across this issue with any web host... even shared hosting from other web hosts. I tell the tech what the issue is and instead of being straight with me and telling me that that won't allow a website to connect to port 587, he leads me on this hour long journey to prove to me that our website can send through their email server at port 25 ONLY. What he doesn't say is that the emails will only end up in your spam. Even their own chat transcript ends up in my spam. Great solution, huh???

Worse yet, they want all email from their shared hosting to flow through THEIR unencrypted email servers. Do you have secure password reset links that need to be sent from your website. Bad news... Godaddy want to read that email? That's exceptionally bad for website owners and their customers. He couldn't give me a straight answer as to why they won't permit it and that means they're okay with bad privacy standards.

Do not ever work with this company. I'm moving all of my domain names away and I will never recommend them again!

Avatar

1 — 

Terrible for WordPress

I've built a large number of wordpress sites for clients in the last few years, and Godaddy is a host I refuse to work with. One thing they never tell you upfront is the amount of RAM allocated to your site. It's so pathetic that it CRASHES your host service for 10-15 mins when you install certain plugins into Wordpress. I've had to spend extra time tweaking settings on both the server and WP's side just to counter this nonsense. Considering that most other hosts are pretty much install and go for WP, Godaddy should be avoided if you're gonna use WP.

Avatar

1 — 

Terrible Customer Support

I have been a Godaddy customer for over 3 years. They were the first host I ever tried. When I needed SSL, I bought a certificate, but it took them forever to install it. when I contacted support, they tried successfully upsell me to a more expensive (managed certificate) at nearly twice the advertised price.
My sites worked well when they worked, but whenever I had an issue, customer support was more interested in renewing upcoming product renewals than solving my issues.

If you want to contact support through their chat, I've discovered you have to lie and say you are interested in sales, instead of a support issue. Then you get through to chat agent. They deliberately make it almost impossible for you to contact them for support issues.

They had been sending me emails for the past month or so asking me to upgrade to a Business Hosting plan from shared hosting. I decided I will try it. Their help and support pages boast that it will be a better plan and that the migration will take 30-40 minutes.

I paid for the upgrade, and they do nothing for two days. I contact support to find out why it wasnt done, they give me some reason that my storage space (on the lower plan) was more than what I was allowed on the higher plan, which makes no sense, and that I need to remove some files. When I check my files, I was using less than 1/2 of the storage allowed for either plan, but I still removed some files and asked them to please migrate my site since I already paid for it.

They attempted to migrate the site, and send me an email that it was completed (of course asking me to purchase something else as well). But when I check my migrated site, they did not transfer the databases, so the sites were not loading on the new server.

I contacted support again (after lying and saying my issue was a sales related issue) so that the live chat button will be active, and tell them that the sites are not loading. They open a ticket for me and tell me to wait, and still have the audacity to tell me that my ssl certificate is expiring in the next 4 months, and if I want to renew it now, while my sites are down.

After another day of my site not loading, they tell me they are having some issues with my databases being corrupted (they were working fine before) and that I have to wait another 72 hours with my sites down for them to rectify it. When I ask for a refund and to revert my plan to the shared hosting plan, they refuse and say I must wait for the 72 hours for them to sort out the problem.

I am now convinced that Godaddy is only concerned with upselling, and not about support. I will definitely be moving my sites to another host at the end of my current hosting period. I will not advise anyone to use Godaddy for anything other than a basic website without any databases or any need for real technical support

Avatar

1 — 

They reel you in and steal your money

As most of you who are small business owners know, there are times when you are to busy to check the details. About 3 years ago I added an email for a temporary employee to my account . When the employee left I called GoDaddy and canceled the email. Yet they continued to charge me for it for 3 years(I didn't notice the charges because I had my main emails set to auto renew every 3 years.) When I called them out on it they refused to refund my money and told me that it was my responsibility to manage my auto renewals and that even though I canceled the email. When asked I asked where to find my auto renewals I was directed down a path that required four clicks to find the secure location of the auto renewals. The charge was relatively small for a big company like GoDaddy however they said they couldn't refund it because the charge was more than 30 days old even though the product wasn't being used. I am trapped because I just renewed for 3 years. Don't make the same mistake I did and support the unethical culture of this company.

Avatar

1 — 

GoDaddy shut my business down

If I could leave zero stars, I absolutely would! I've been with GoDaddy for awhile, and for the most part, everything seemed okay until last year when they pressured me to upgrade my emails to Outlook 365 - that's been a nightmare of its own, but we've mostly worked thru that or dealt with the issues.

But, yesterday pushed me over the edge. So, I was advised by a kind customer that our site was down. When I checked, it looked like an SSL certificate issue, which had just auto-renewed thru GoDaddy. So I called them.

First call: 35 minutes on hold - I had to leave the office for an appointment so I hung up.

Second call: 1 hour, 14 minutes on hold - I was told that I have duplicate SSL certificates on my account, so they cancelled one and refunded the money for it. Interestingly, this was the one that was connected to my site. So, they are going to connect the other one to the site, and that will solve the problem.

Today, third call: no hold time, but today I'm told that it could be up to 72 hours for resolution of the SSL issue. So, a total of up to 5 days my site will possibly be down. No backup plan, no solution offered, no possibility to escalate the issue for faster resolution. Nothing. Just "sorry ma'am".

I run a property management company - our listings are on our site; our application is on our site; our login portals for tenants to pay their rent are on our site!

So, with their auto-renewing SSL, GoDaddy failed and my site went down. Then, when I called to get it fixed, their "fix" caused it to remain down for up to an additional 3 days!

I'll spend those 3 days looking for a new hosting company that cares whether I'm shut down or not....and that answers their customers' calls in less than an hour!

Avatar

1 — 

Moved all my domains away

Godaddy is the most unethical domain registrar you can think of.

1. They use dark patterns and try to push their worthless upsells as much as they can, making you think it's a default add-on you really need.

2. They make transferring domains away a real PITA by purpose. Examples:
- Bought a Godaddy auction domain? There's a 60 days waiting period before you can transfer away.
- Changing domain contact info? You can, but after this you can't transfer the domain away for 60 days.
- Transferring away? You first need to turn off WHOIS privacy and expose your private contact details. No other registrar I know of does this.

I'm using them for 10+ years, but moved all my domains away a long time ago. Unfortunately, I still need to deal with this gang of crooks whenever I buy a Godaddy auction domain which I transfer away as fast as possible.

TL;DR: Godaddy sucks big time!

Avatar

1 — 

Terrible

We were warned about go daddy previously and wish we would have changed our service sooner. In June, a representative from go daddy called us and told us we needed to update something on our web domain hosting. Instead they set up an entirely new website called new.jackandg.com that we weren’t aware existed until now, nine months later, charged us $318, and refuse to refund us. We never authorized this, or received any sort of documentation letting us know this happened. The customer service supervisor, Cache, claimed there is nothing they can do to refund the charges even if we cancel the 3 year hosting now. They claim that since they emailed us and we never called to dispute the charges within the 30-day window then it is our responsibility. This is a bait scheme that they use where they claim you need some new service but they are just ripping you off and creating new websites that no one ever uses. After 7 years of being a loyal customer, with four domains hosted we are transferring all domains to a new host. We tried to reason with you GoDaddy but your lack of interest in retaining loyal customers is abhorred. Insulting!

Avatar

1 — 

Used to be great but now they suck

Godaddy used to provide amazing service with exceptional, knowledgeable staff who could communicate clearly in english. Now I believe they have oversold their product and are understaffed. Waiting on the phone for 30 minutes is not unusual. Once you finally get someone on the line they are inexperienced, poorly trained and constantly put you on hold in order to speak to someone who knows what they are doing. This is a big disappointment. Godaddy has inexperienced staff, with low level knowledge. I spent most of my time with them explaining how websites work to their amateur staff. I am moving all of my sites away from godaddy and towards a hungry web hosting company who needs business and who has the customer service standards that godaddy used to have years ago.

Avatar

1 — 

30 day money back is a LIE

I had been working on my future site during my trial period. Getting to know the site I must have created another website under the same name. However I have not worked on the dummy site. Long story short when renewing the site that I actually want to eventually have go live I somehow renewed the dummy site. When I realized my error i immediately cancelled the renewal and renewed the correct site (all within 15-20 mins). Due to life happening I had time to place a call on Sunday afternoon ( maybe 3 days later) to have my money refunded for the dummy site. I paid for the correct site too. I was told i was past the 48 hrs refund policy. Bad customer service and false advertisement.

Avatar

2 — 

Scamers

Godaddy will change their price in a heartbeat (I've been dealing with them for several years, and haven't found anyone else, plus I would of to change my hosting). I called on 2/12/19 and spoke with agent Richard in hosting. I asked Richard to increase the PHP to the max file size of 256 or above, he stated if he does it, it will cost $30.00, however; I can do it myself and he will he send the instruction via email to me. I forward the instruction to the site builder, but she was unsuccessful in doing so. I called back on 2/14/19, and spoke to agent name Bret, he quoted me $50.00. I stated to him, that Richard quoted me $30.00, then he said "I don't know how long he's been here, but I've been with the company for 6 years". This guys was so arrogant and rude. I could not tolerate the back and forth, I told him no worries I will call back and speak with another agent, which I did. I called back and spoke with John, much better conversation, and he was able to explain the difference between the $30 and the $50, needless to say the $30 is what I needed Bret for my WordPress site.

Avatar

1 — 

GoDaddy Was Not Honest When Selling Me Products

I've used GoDaddy for a variety of products over the years and it has been nothing but trouble. Stay away from GoDaddy. The latest fiasco is that I made the mistake of purchasing Office365 through GoDaddy, only to find out it is NOT the same product and NOT the same support you get if you go through MS directly. I was told it was the same. But when I called to point out that I was misled, the rudest tech support manager of all time, Eric, told me that was not what I meant. Seriously? OBVIOUSLY, I meant am I getting the SAME PRODUCT? Now I've prepaid for 3 years of Office365 with GoDaddy only to be stuck with a shoddy product and tech support accuracy of a cockroach.

In addition I've had non-stop problems with my other GoDaddy products and have steadily been transferring out. One problem is that my hosting was on a bad, compromised, hacked server and they did not tell me that the quality of hosting I was getting was sub-par from most of their other servers AND they charged me more. Ironically, their bad servers cost more than their better ones. Either way, it is not OK to put customers at risk. Not surprised to read the reviews here saying their sites were infiltrated with porn. It's the bad servers. I had to go to the work of migrating every site, but I never would have known I was on a bad server if I had not pressed the issue.

On top of that, I have almost never had accurate info in any tech support call with GoDaddy EVER! Each person tells you a different, made-up, guessed answer. I've even spent hours on the phone with tech support only to be told at the end, "Yah, I don't really know how to do this. I was just guessing. Why don't you call back later?" What?

Thanks a lot, GoDaddy. Worst service and ethics. What makes them stand out most is that they take no responsibility for telling you false information to convince you to buy something. If I am considering buying a product I should be told the TRUTH about what I am buying. Instead, GoDaddy had LIED/MISLED me. They have gone downhill as a company. Stay away from GoStinky GoDaddy. GoSomewhereElse.

Avatar

1 — 

Good tech support is declining

I was on the phone with Godaddy on chat for over an hour discussing a several years long problem. I kept getting emails coming from just about everywhere. The email TO section from the incoming emails was your standard "[email protected]" They asked me if I own this email and I told them it was an email assigned by Godaddy when I first developed the online store. After over an hour of escalating the issue to higher up the chain, they finally came back and stated it was coming from my Contact Page. I asked them then how do I block the trash coming in from everywhere using my contact page. Godaddy had no answer and I could tell the Godaddy rep was tired of working the issue (I could tell by her short irritating remarks at the end) as I was just as tired getting nowhere. So, no resolution provided by Godaddy, so I dug deeper on my own. Come to find out, there was a solution and I found it on my own. Godaddy tech reps, know your systems network capabilities well before you begin to work with customers. It was a one-step process that I did to correct the system preventing incoming garbage emails. Your Incompetency precedes you.

Avatar

1 — 

Worst than worst!

I will give them a zero star if I could. I mean, take a look all the people on here giving them 2-3 stars, I'm on their delux plan with less than 100 product Images and they constantly asking me to upgrade, and it's been over 7months now I can't even launch my website as I get 503 Service Unavailable Error almost everyday! This guys need to go out of business.

Avatar

2 — 

GoDaddy? Nope!

Your review of GoDaddy is to the point - sadly, I have had the same experience mentioned above. I am the victim of one of the sketchy tactics of "Free" outlook for one year scheme. They used my saved payment method on their site to be used for the auto-renewal of this product. I haven't even used the product during their so-called "Free" offer time. In fact I did not register for the product and I have never even used it. Even though I explained that to their support team - - their response was "No refund after 30 days". Disappointed! I am looking for alternative hosting company.

Avatar

1 — 

They never help!

These people are terrible at helping. I needed a assistance to guide me on how to link a page on the Text Button, and the first call sent me this website with more links to figure out my self. How if they know the answer they could not assist a beginner on such a task? it would of take me less time for him to guide me through the task than finding the answer, actually I never did found the answer in their website, and within a day I called back. I got the same response, but this representative send me the link with the exact location of the article. I LOSE HOURS OF WORK trying to find a simple answer. Their job supposed to be helping customers with this problems. I was not asking to help design my website, I was asking for a solution to an action button that I wanted to add to my website. I am now highly considering to close my account. I can not stand their support.

Avatar

1 — 

No customer oriented

Every time I call tech support, I've got a different answer. They have no more willing to help customers, they just throwing a whatever answer. They charged me twice on a product and they don't recognize it. I showed them the bill and they still deny. I disputed one of the charges and they shut down my entire site. I would not recommend godadyy anymore... bad tech support.

Avatar

1 — 

RIP-OFF

Worst service ever. I turned auto renew off for my domain and was charged anyway. I proved to them with several emails that auto renew was off. They don't care! They said if I wanted to get money back I need to delete this domain. I did it and now I don't have the domain and don't have the money. I would give a minus rating if I could.

Avatar

1 — 

Lost all my content

I was using their services for Managed Wordpress site for 1,5 years, then due to my card becoming inactive, I was late around 20 days on the payment. Lost all my data. Wasted 3 hours chatting with the support which was very unhelpful and didnt resolved the issue. Moving somewhere else.

Avatar

1 — 

Bad Refund Policy

I purchased a virtual phone line and selected 1-year plan. There was a free month trial. Five days past the 30 days, I called to cancel but refused to issue a refund: they would be glad to cancel but no refund.

I don’t recommend GoDaddy for lack of flexibility in issuing a refund.

Avatar

1 — 

worst hosting

upgraded the hosting to ultimate and guess what? few days was fine then hangs up, website down, 20 seconds to load a page, tried to copy site from different hosting less than the price I paid in Godaddy and it works just fine maximum of 3 seconds load normal

called Godaddy and the suppport person said "you need to talk to your developer" yup blame it on developer, "you need to upgrade your plan" another lame excuse.

stay away from godaddy

Avatar

1 — 

Stay away!

Would not recommend this company to any one. Charged much more than just for the domains on auto renew without asking if I wanted extra options and when I noticed it on my credit card they did not want to return the money for unwanted options even after I cancelled, said that more than 30 days went by since auto renew took place. I get the impression that all they seem to care about is to squeeze as much money as possible out of me. Will never use them again!

Avatar

1 — 

Worst Experience

I've been billed for emails that I deleted and haven't used for over 6 months. Their delete account button somehow empties their slot but keeps on billing you "just in case you may assign another email". Then all of a sudden weird emails popped up one day with username user1, user2 etc in the weirdest way. It took a while for the support person to figure out what's going on etc as well as me. Bad experience, bad billing practises, bad support. Stay out.

Avatar

1 — 

Why all the calls?

I'm about to stop buying domain names from Go Daddy. A day or two after I purchase a domain I am flooded with emails and phone calls trying to sell me web building, hosting or other such products. Apparently, Go Daddy is selling my contact information to these third-party vendors. It's annoying and a disruption to my workday. This has to stop...

Avatar

1 — 

Customer Service On Decline

I've been with GoDaddy for 13 years. I've noticed over the last few years their customer service has become crap. Before, they would help you. Now, it's so good. Each time I call about a problem, the person who answers tells me a different story, which usually ends in the problem not being solved, and then them trying to upsell me on some product I don't need.

Avatar

1 — 

GDaddy's Got Sleezy

I recently agreed to have GoDaddy restructure my web page. I should have known better when they made me pay up front for the service. After spending a significant and detailed amount of time explaining the essence of our work and specifying precisely which content CANNOT be continued in the new version, I received a presentation piece I can only say was written by a first year high school student masquerading as a marketing professional. If it weren't for the $1,600.00+ dollars at stake I would find it humorous. It seems GoDaddy is hiring kids to perform the work of a professional, paying them the usual chump change, and passing this off as first rate craft. Then they want to rewrite what they didn't understand the first time...so guess what. Now, you the customer, will have to spoon feed every morsel of data to someone who has no understanding of or interest in your business. At this point you can get 30% back or roll the dice and let them redo for all the money. So now "Who's The Moron?" Now I'm looking for another web provider and they will eventually loose more money than the $1,600.00 they stole. Hopefully, the word will get out and other buyers will beware. Hats off to Matt at GoDaddy...nice work!

Avatar

1 — 

I feel like I've been scammed!

I have been with GoDaddy for many years. I have had problems with them a long the way, however, nothing compared with what has happened the past two months.

In mid September, 2018 my website went down. They said it had been hacked and needed info that it needed had been deleted. For a mere $360+ they said they could fix it and provide security that would protect my site from ever being hacked into again. This also included them monitoring my site to make sure it was okay.

It is now November 9th, 2018 and my email and my website have both been down for about a week. I called Google since I use gmail and they said it was a problem with GoDaddy and that they did not see any type of security on my site. They did say they found several infections.

I then called GoDaddy and after 3 hours on the phone may have my website and email back.

The reason it was down? I could not believe it when they said I had cancelled my domain about a week after I had paid them all that money. When I asked to see whatever they think I sent to cancel, they said they cannot show it to me because it is a matter that I need to contact their legal department about. Bottom line...I need to get an attorney and and get a supena to see a document that doesn't exist. So much for their expensive security which is not refundable even though I just paid them about 1 1/2 months ago.

They said they would put my site and email back up, however, it would cost me $80.

When I complained they said they would do it for $40.00. I truly believe that I have been scammed and it seems to me that they took down my site so they could charge me more money to put it back. I had to do all the work to get the site back up and after spending over an hour trying to get my domain verified and having Nathan, a supervisor, tell me that he had no problem doing his own site and could not help he told me that I was having the problem because something was wrong on their end. They had many calls about the same issue.

My experience speaking with Nathan for nearly 3 hours was extremely unpleasant. I felt like he was antagonistic rather than helpful. It was absurd that it took 3 hours to get very little accomplished and feel like I have been working with a company that is not honest and misrepresents their services. I will change as soon as possible. He told me I had to wait for a few weeks for some reason. Not much of what he said made any sense and he had problems talking with me in terms I could understand. I would not recommend using this company.

Avatar

1 — 

Scam

I bought a 3 years both domain name and host in godaddy. About 260$ if i remember properly. I choosed it just because their publicity said that they have special support and optimization for wordpress pages.

Well, the first problem i found with wordpress, i contacted godaddy customer support because wordpress guys said that my host is the only one who can change some particular configuration, important to make my web works.

The first minutes with godaddy customer support was nice. Mostly asking your credentials, blablabla and then, when they really know what your problem is: just change some PHP configuration, they ask for $30 to make any change.

WHAT? i just paid yesterday $260! now you want to scam just to make your work? ok, im done, what could i expect with that stupid name.

Avatar

1 — 

A disaster

Shortly after I started having issues with Bluehost, who I had been with for more than ten years. I thought I would give GoDaddy a try. I moved one of my seventeen sites. What a mistake!

Within twenty-four hours my site was hacked with all sorts of terrible porn. I had never once been hacked with Bluehost. I contacted GoDaddy tech support and after being transferred all around the company eventually got to a senior tech. "No problem", he said. Just pay the $150 fee to restore your site and everything will be fine.

Luckily I had a site backup with DropBox. Couldn't transfer my site back to Bluehost fast enough.

Avatar

1 — 

The Absolute Worst

I've been with GoDaddy for @20 years and have over 100 domain sites registered with them. They also host my business website. They have gone from stellar to a total disaster. I'd write a longer, more specific review if I and my co-worker hadn't spent over 4 hours on the phone with their lack-of-tech-support over the past 4 hours. No two people give the same information or advice. It's terrifying for anyone in business. Truly a NIGHTMARE!

Avatar

2 — 

Technical Support?

When I call for technical support, I get the queasy feeling the customer and GoDaddy are using two different responsibility matrices. I don't get that feeling until I call tech support. The way I understand the relationship is: I put in the data. I pay GoDaddy to host that data, so I don't have to worry about that part. My job is: data and money. GoDaddy's job is: everything else. I am not sure if it is possible to corrupt GoDaddy's software or servers with my "managed", it seems locked down in every other way, WordPress. It seems when I call, I understand my responsibilities, but GoDaddy is iffy/waffling all the way back towards "Go-who? Servers? What servers?" It seems difficult to get GoDaddy technical support to accept responsibility except for 1) data, and 2) money, which I clearly have indicated are mine.

I have to patiently and professionally buttonhole, which is a real pain in the ass to do, them into trying attempting something other than their telling me "You fix it!" Getting them to actually attempt to think about looking under the hood rather than brush me off is painful. But, you know when they do, they go "Hey! You know what? There is something wrong with us?" Ya think?

Avatar

2 — 

Deteriorating support

I have supported a number of sites over the years, many of them hosted by GoDaddy. When I first started using GoDaddy I was generally able to connect with support staff who understood the technology they were supporting when issues arose, and if the problems weren't urgent, the option of reporting and tracking issues via email was available. Over the years GoDaddy has injected layers of less knowledgeable staff, and it is no longer possible to communicate directly with the folks who actually manage the servers directly. Reporting and tracking of issues were silently eliminated. I awarded a score of 20 instead of something lower because uptime is still reasonably good and performance is acceptable most of the time, but the servers have been acting increasingly flaky (for example, one of the servers randomly changes the fingerprint for its RSA key, which breaks the scheduled backup scripts; for another example, that same server regularly kills the editor process in the middle of modifying a file on the server). GoDaddy isn't interested in resolving the problems and as renewal deadlines come around I've been recommending to the site owners that another hosting provider be selected.

Avatar

4 — 

Cost Not Bad, Support is REALLY Hit or Miss

I've used GoDaddy for a few years, have four different hosting servers for over nearly two dozen sites and test sites. While the cost of working with GoDaddy isn't terrible (it is getting more costly), their support is very uneven. When it comes to critical issues, like something tanked and a whole site is down, they've generally been helpful with getting the problem resolved quickly. For pretty much all other issues, the response is sometimes good, other times awful. Let's start with some good or at least, not bad things.

In getting an SSLs setup, GoDaddy was pretty easy to work with, but we did the actual installs and did not pay extra for them to do it.
Backups have been easy and reliable. The CPanel interface is familiar and simple to use. Site speed has generally been good with no issues.
The GoDaddy site requiring you to constantly login over and over as you move across their site = pain in the ass

We had a premium security feature expire on a site, but prior to it expiring, the name of it actually changed. Let me back up just a moment. Premium security isn't something GoDaddy actually handles. They third party it out, used to be SiteLock, but now they run their premium support clients through Securi. We weren't informed of the change, so when the old premium planned expired, it wasn't renewed b/c someone in the office didn't recognize the Securi name on the renewal. No big deal. Security expires, and while the site isn't a little less secure, everything still should be fine, right? I began having a variety of issues on the live version of the site. After three different calls about a variety of connected issues, someone over there finally put things together and found what the issue was - left security software that was directing my site traffic to a dead firewall. Took a fourth support ticket and another week for it be removed and resolved.

In another instance, we used their premium WordPress support (and I know this isn't actually hosting related, but it's a service they offer). Prior to this particular time, we'd used the premium an average of about one time per year. Each time, they were able to resolve the issue, whether it be with a buggy theme or issue with a plugin causing problems. The last time though will be the last time I use that service. After submitting a ticket and going back and forth with the tech (btw, like the security, these are not actual GoDaddy or in-house folks; it's third-partied out), nothing was resolved. The final solution was to have the plugin dev rebuild the plugin or simply stop using it. Sorry, but saying, "I cannot fix this. Someone else will have to fix this" and then taking someone's money isn't an actual solution.

Lastly, I will say that in general, we've had more issues with the Enterprise server than with the other dedicated servers we use through them.

Avatar

4 — 

Not a Fan

The big reason I gave GoDaddy a shot was because they advertise an easy-to-setup process and good prices. I am not fluent in website building and am certainly not made of money, so this seemed like a great way to get started.

Nope!

Their "getting started" process was confusing and I paid BEYOND more than what I was told at the beginning because they make it sound like your site will not be up and running without certain add-ons. I bit my tongue at my first payment and moved forward with getting my site set up. I took it slowly and did not immediately publish it - apparently, that's not allowed and my draft was deleted after a week or two. Lesson learned, I redid my site, published it and everything seemed good.

Real life happened and I couldn't mess with it for a couple months. Some people were asking about my site one night and I went to pull it up on my phone... FILE NOT FOUND. Well that doesn't make sense, I dropped $200 dollars on unnecessary junk they tricked me into, they can at least host my site properly. I log onto my account once I was able to access my computer and... everything was gone!

I rebuilt my site AGAIN, published it, and made sure to check up on it along with any GoDaddy emails to make sure this didn't happen again. Things seemed fine for a few months and I forgot about my concerns. Yesterday, I got an email for the renewal of one of those useless add-ons that in hindsight I should've canceled when I had the chance. Well since I'm on the topic of spending $60 on my website I've been neglecting, let's go and work on it. Log-in and guess what... DELETED!!!!! I am expected to start from scratch AGAIN and I am fed up.

though that's their big selling point) - your wallet will get sucked dry for next to nothing.

Needless to say, I'm changing my game plan.

Avatar

2 — 

about GoDaddy

I bought a 5-yr contract and have been with them maybe 3+ years now.
Customer support is pretty good, their phone guys are patient and experienced and relate well to everyday problems. But the SITE is really awkward to navigate and often stumbles upon itself when trying to get into pages. Structure is odd too.... VERY odd. I think it's a mess and could be done better. Likely I will NOT renew, and will consult your service again when time to make the move.