Namecheap Review

Good for Domains, but Not for Hosting...

Avatar
Brad Smith  —  · Read user reviews

namecheap hosting review

Namecheap was founded all the way back in 2000 by Richard Kirkendall.

Over the past 18 years, they’ve reportedly racked up three million customers.

Domain names are the name of Namecheap’s game (sorry, couldn’t resist), with over seven million under their control.

But here’s the thing:

We’ve seen this story before; Hosting A is good at X, so they leverage their brand name and deep pockets to muscle into new service Y. It doesn’t necessarily mean that they’re any good at it.

So what’s the deal with Namecheap?

Have they been able to replicate their domain name success in a new arena? Or are they simply trading on their name alone? (Pun definitely intended.)

In November 2017, we decided to find out. We signed up for their hosting service, purchased the least expensive plan, and even set up a test website.

Then, we used Pingdom to track detailed performance stats like uptime and speed. You can view those here.

We’re going to get into the nitty-gritty, take a deep dive into their plan features.

But first, let’s focus on a few of Namecheap’s best attributes:

Pros of Using Namecheap Hosting

Namecheap starts strong with a free domain name, speed,  migrations, and extra plan features like backups.

Here are the full details:

1. FREE Domain and Migration

Namecheap excels at domain names. So it only makes sense that they’ll happily throw one in if you sign up for their hosting plan.

If you already have a website set up somewhere else, they’ll also help you migrate the service for free.

Kinda, sorta. We’ll come back to this in the Cons section below.

2. Decent Load Time

After the uptime, the second most important criteria is speed. The reason it’s so important is that speed has been directly correlated with visitor happiness.

Google recently found that the probability of someone bouncing increases over 100% if your pages take up to six seconds to load.

page load time is important

So yes, you need your site to stay alive. If that site is slow, then it’s almost as bad. Your site might as well be down because people will be leaving in droves.

Namecheap has been able to post an average page speed of 687ms over the past 24 months. This number is almost twice as slow as our other favorite hosts like A2 Hosting and HostGator Cloud. However, it’s still a better result than our industry-standard.

Namecheap average speed:

NameCheap last 12-month detailed statistics
NameCheap average speed 2019-2020 | See stats

3. 30-day Money-Back Guarantee

Namecheap does offer a rock-solid 30-day money-back guarantee. You’ve got a full month to see if their service is right for you. Otherwise, it’s not too late to back out and try something else.

4. Fully-Loaded Value Plan

We’ve reviewed over 30 web hosts to date.

And for each one, we typically sign up for the most basic plan to set up our test website.

The reason is twofold:

  1. We want to be able to base these reviews on real data and performance figures.
  2. Most ‘base-level’ plans at each hosting company are pretty similar.

In other words – this allows us to compare apples to apples (for the most part). Each shared offer is fairly similar, with the same features offered on each.

Namecheap surprised us, though.

First, they offered unmetered bandwidth on their cheapest plan. They also give you access to standard features like cPanel access and apps like WordPress.

Their cheapest plan also includes a free SSL certificate for the first year. (Read: After that year’s up, you’ll have to pay.)

You also get twice-a-week backups, just in case things go haywire while updating your new site.

The best part about their cheapest offer is that you get 50 MySQL databases (which is way more than what most companies offer on a similar tier).

Plus, you can set up three websites on this plan. Most base-level hosting plans only allow you to host one single website. This is a great value if you have several sites, like a business and a personal one.

They also give you up to 50 email addresses right out of the gate, too.

This can add up to huge cost savings over time.

5. Third-Party Reviews Are Excellent

We always like to get a pulse from existing customers to make sure each review isn’t just based on our own isolated experience.

We’ll admit:

We were pleasantly surprised at some of the customer reviews online.

For instance, they have a solid 4.6-star rating on Shopper Reviewed. Supposedly that’s based on over a million reviews.

Third party reviews

This initial view got us excited.

We already liked seeing the ‘extra’ plan features they threw in for free (that most other companies would charge you for).

So we were excited to get the test site up and running. And see the performance stats roll in.

Unfortunately, the results that did flow in weren’t inspiring.

Cons of Using Namecheap Hosting

There are three major categories we look at when considering a new web host:

  1. Uptime: Can this host keep my site live the vast majority of the time?
  2. Speed: Can this host deliver a good experience for visitors so they’ll want to come back?
  3. Support: And can this host help me when things spin out of control?

Unfortunately, Namecheap dropped the ball in two of the three areas.

Take a look for yourself.

1. Poor Uptime – 99.87%

Namecheap delivered a stellar 100% uptime the first month we signed up. That gave us plenty of excitement to see what was to come.

But things only got worse from then on.

The next few months hovered well below the industry average 99.93%, eventually producing an uptime of only 99.80% in August 2018. It’s not bad on the surface. Nevertheless, keep in mind that this equates to over an hour of downtime each month.

What if that downtime were to happen during a busy sales season? You’re potentially looking at tons of lost revenue.

Here is the month-by-month comparison over the last 12 months:

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • January 2020 average uptime: 100%
  • December 2019 average uptime: 99.96%
  • November 2019 average uptime: 99.96%
  • October 2019 average uptime: 99.97%
  • September 2019 average uptime: 99.97%
  • August 2019 average uptime: 99.97%
  • July 2019 average uptime: 99.82%
  • June 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • May 2019 average uptime: 99.77%
  • April 2019 average uptime: 99.96%
  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.87%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 99.97%
NameCheap last 24-month statistics
NameCheap average uptime | See stats

2. Lackluster Customer Support

Namecheap has a pretty good Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) platform. It contains detailed answers that should help solve the most common problems you run into.

NameCheap customer support

We also like to try out live chats to get a feel for their service.

Things started well enough, with a quick connection from a friendly support rep.

When she was unable to help us, she even transferred us to the ‘Concierge’ department.

NameCheap Live Chat support

Overall, we love the idea of a ‘Concierge’ department at a company. You know – like a higher manager at a hotel who’s able to personally help you with almost any request.

But that’s not exactly what happened during this conversation.

Instead, the second ‘Concierge’ rep basically copy-pasted a knowledge base article for us.

This was annoying for a few reasons:

For starters, we weren’t asking for an explanation of the process. We were asking if they’d do the service for us. That’s a pretty common perk that most web hosts will be happy to assist you with.

Secondly, how is this remotely close to a “Concierge Service”? They’re just throwing us a link and telling us to figure it out for ourselves.

And thirdly – why did it take multiple reps and 10 minutes of our life for this solution?

The entire experience left us underwhelmed, to be honest.

This exchange didn’t leave us with a lot of confidence – if our site went down and we did have to rely on their customer support team to bail us out, where should we turn to?

Namecheap Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the hosting plans offered by Namecheap:


Stellar Plan Stellar Plus Plan Stellar Business Plan
Pricing $1.44/month
Renews at $2.88/mo
$2.44/month
Renews at $4.88/mo
$4.44/month
Renews at $8.88/mo
Websites 3 Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage 20GB Unmetered 50GB
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • AutoBackup • AutoBackup
• Cloud Storage

Quick Facts

  • Free domain?: Yes, the first year is free.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy signup process.
  • Money-Back: 30-days money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit cards, PayPal, Dwolla, and Bitcoin.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: There are two important disclaimers to keep in mind:
    • “This offer is available for new hosting purchases only. The promotional price is valid for the first 12 months on annual payments, after which the hosting service will renew at the regular rate as indicated in the package specs. Upgrades/downgrades will be performed at the full renewal price.”
    • “Unmetered disk space is offered with our Ultimate package. This disk space is solely intended for your website and not for other storage purposes. This space must be used in accordance with our AUP, particularly paragraph 10.2.”
  • Upsells: A few upsells along the way.
  • Account Activation: Fast account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): 1-click installation tool to easily install popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend Namecheap?

Not really… Here’s why:

They started out pretty well. Existing customers seem to like them, and the fact that their cheapest plan compares favorably to most other company’s upper-tier ones looked promising.

Despite that, the fact that your renewal rates will rise over 200% is tough to stomach. Especially, when you consider the poor uptime and borderline lazy customer support.

There are so many better options out there that deliver better service for the same price (or less after the first year).

Visit www.Namecheap.com

P.S. Take a look at our best performing hosts here to find a Namecheap alternative.

Do you have any positive or negative experiences with Namecheap’s hosting? If so, please leave us an honest, transparent review!

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept user-reviews that give value to our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you wish your review to be approved, we recommend you to write valid, unique and helpful reviews – either positive or negative. Thanks for your support!

    Important: Web host companies cannot pay to delete or change the reviews. But we provide them an opportunity to answer or comment on any review, to keep the process honest and fair for both sides.

    28 user reviews for Namecheap

    Avatar

    Trent

    3 — 

    Budget domain services

    We used Namecheap to test out a domain for our own web-hosting company, and we were surprised by the low costs and the record updates.

    But why should you use Namecheap?

    - Free CDN with Namecheap domains
    Yes a free CDN with custom SSL certificates when you own a Namecheap domain. We were pleasantly surprised by this and had to test it out; and well it's too good to be true. The CDN performed well and everything was easy to set up but it doesn't provide the performance as just using a free cloudflare account with their own SSL certificates.

    - DNS Updates
    The DNS update times were almost double than what we expected; it was a 2 Minute TTL time that can be rather annoying while changing your DNS records and wanting to test them quickly instead we just used Cloudflare which gives almost instant DNS records updates.

    - Paid Plans
    We felt like the using a budget provider like Namecheap would be good for a business like ours but in the end we felt like all extra features were extremely expensive after buying your domain name and we would just recommend using another domain provider that has slightly more expensive prices if you wish to have those other features like emails, SSL certs, etc.

    Avatar

    MCC

    4 — 

    So far so good

    Been with the same hosting provider, hostmysite, for 15 years, put up with their, used to be awesome, but now lackluster customer support, random issues on their servers that would break tested and working code and their inability to fix ssl errors with ftp, requiring you to get a prompt for every single file you transfer that the certificate is still to be trusted. Opening up a ticket with them about that, saying it's beyond ridiculous to have to hand hold your ftp client as a result of them not being able to update their certificate is ridiculous. They had the nerve to say, well does it come back after you click accept? Which it did for every session, 15 years and I moved to namecheap. The review above seems to not reflect the experience I had, then again hostmysite started off great but then declined over years as well. Overall, for the price, and features, not to mention the SSL cert implementation was super easy, their customer service isn't the greatest as I did experience copy/pasted links and a lack of a "human" conversation from the people I talked to, it was mostly good. Time will tell, I'd like to see the page speed down a bit as well compared to HMS but it's a trade off at this time. You have more control over your server with namecheap vs HMS where you are not able to edit any php.ini, mime types, or work with node.js, so for a developer sandbox namecheap is good.

    Avatar

    Richard K

    1 — 

    Uneducated Corporate Robot Support

    Unfortunately I manage over 50 NameCheap Accounts. This used to be a good thing. Not now.

    Years ago the support staff were knowledgeable and helpful. Now they are seemingly untrained and robotic in their nature. Did I mention SLOW? The support staff seem to be restricted by corporate rules and can not even answer questions that are not on a very limited list of basic questions to answer. LITERALLY!

    You should see the list of apology emails and chats. Plenty of apologies for failures, but no solutions or fixes. This is standard now. :-( The copy and paste apologies and links to FAQ are completely unhelpful. Oh how I miss the old days at NameCheap. After a corporate infusion of cash about 5 years ago the service has fallen close to 0% help with only occasional sparks of light.

    The hosting servers are often flakey and experience configuration errors often. Also, Email is terrible with so many spammers on the shared servers that large providers like T-Online in Germany completely block emails from NameCheap hosting IPs in the USA. Their solution offered is an email filter that spoofs the IP!! Can you believe that?

    I would completely agree with the assessment in this article on hostingfacts.

    Avatar

    FC

    1 — 

    Don´t value customers

    Almost seven years with them. Uptime is not great and customer support is slow. I even got phishing emails from my domain and it took weeks to reply (and they didn't fix it or helped fix it). They auto renew one month in advance and if you complain, they refund into your namecheap account, but not your original payment method AND crash your website so you cannot access it during the last month. The name says it all: CHEAP. Migrating everything to a new company.

    Avatar

    Ali

    1 — 

    Horrible hosting service

    I transfered my hosting from another company to Namecheap three days ago. It took one full day sitting at the computer and chatting to finally the process of transferring done. The Namecheap live chat is great but instead of fixing problems they keep sending how to link which I was not happy with. From day two, the site went down and the page on the Namecheap site (what they call "EasyWP") is not responsive. A site being down for two days and still is down is not acceptable. Since I switched to Namecheap I had nothing but headache, trouble, and still my site is down. I don't recommend at least the hosting of Namecheap at all. The hosting of Namecheap is not reliable.

    Avatar

    Alex

    1 — 

    Very poor support

    I highly recommend that you stay away from this company. If you run into any problem and need help you are out of luck. It may look cheaper but its not worth the savings.

    First there is no support number and you have to chat with eastern Europeans with poor english. They will send you in circles and make you create multiple tickets. After days they will say we emailed you but emails won't come through. Then you find out that their servers are black listed. After several days, multiple tickets, multiple chat sessions, getting my IT involved my problem is still not resolved.

    Avatar

    Taylor

    2 — 

    Unfortunately, things are much worse since this article was written

    I was a big fan of Namecheap's hosting service for several years, hosting around up to 40 clients across their servers. Everything was great until fairly recently - as mentioned in the initial article there were semi-regular downtimes, which were resolved fairly quickly.

    Unfortunately it feels now that the servers are seriously overloaded. This impacts both on your website's connection times, but also on the number of times the server goes down. This is likely a profit-related issue - as in they want to make more money without expanding their server resources. It massively impacts the service they offer.

    However, their chat and ticket support has always been a relative high point for me. They are all based in Ukraine, but their English is generally very good. Only very rarely have I experienced poor service, and generally they will stay on the chat with you until you are satisfied. Unfortunately the overloading of their servers is causing problems that their support staff should not be expected to resolve.

    Avatar

    Francesco

    5 — 

    Namecheap is good to me

    I'm running +20 websites on a Namecheap Shared Hosting (Ultimate plan, now should be Stellar Plus) since 2016. Not an issue. Great support. More than 7500 unique visitors per month. Very fast and reliable. Way better than more "famous" alternatives. Really, I do not know if this post is about their US servers, but UK based service is really really good. Performance is even better than some crappy/cheap VPS.

    Avatar

    Andrew S

    1 — 

    Unstable Platform

    I have several websites that I host that have been registered with Namecheap. Generally speaking their support staff have been responsive and helpful.

    However the more critical issue has been the loss of DNS records without any security breach that caused a client to go dark.

    I had another account I manage separately that had it's contact email change, effectively locking me out. Then I had to go through the whole complex process of proving who I am (even though I had all the receipts for payment, etc). Now I have to drive > 200 miles to and take time off to help this non-technical person create a ticket!

    If their system was really up to snuff it would:

    1. never allowed the changes to occur.
    2. had adequate audit records which would reveal how the changes occured and by whom.
    3. contained the chats that I went through to initially register the account for him after the automatic mechanism refused to register the domain. They had reversed this at my request!

    In short, they seem to be a bunch of fresh out of the university students who have nothing but the rules and little about American business practice. (they are all from Ukraine).

    I think the only way to get the matter accomplished is to use a trusted American provider. Funny is that it's not going to cost me that much more.

    Avatar

    Russell

    1 — 

    Big Mistake!

    I am currently on Namecheap. I moved there last month after an Ipage episode. Big mistake! Namecheap's Hosting services are far under the web norm. Servers are extremely unreliable. Lost production time is a constant dealing with servers that don't respond, servers that are overloaded, servers that are consistent with never ending stalls, delays, and lags. Whether navigating the website itself online or trying to get something done in the admin, it's an ongoing delay after delay just moving from one page to another or waiting for something to simply save or update. Using Dreamweaver is out of the question; sometimes it will connect, most times servers are bogged down or don't respond.

    Support is pretty timely and is done by on site support ticket or directly via email, no phone support at all. They also have an on site support live chat which is never any help. Email help is not bad, they answer pretty quickly and address the issue at hand rather than posting canned responses.

    The hosting options available are mostly the norm using an older version of cPanel. Some operations and setups can be very unnecessarily complicated and confusing but they will help with most by ticket or email.

    The main problem with Namecheap is their servers reliability. Your websites will go down often too. To add onto the problems pile, all these issues occur anytime, even during business hours. I'd think more than twice before recommending them or using them again.

    One plus: Namecheap's hosting prices are affordable in comparison which is what drew me there.

    Avatar

    Grot T

    1 — 

    Very Unprofessional

    I received an email from namecheap legal team that my account had been suspended because my database was receiving 'many queries'. These people suspended my account without warning because my database was doing exactly what databases do! Instead of asking me to upgrade my plan, they go ahead and mess up my business, and apparently, their support team can’t do anything about it!

    Avatar

    Tariq

    5 — 

    Wasted 2 Months

    Was experiencing issues with site performance and uptime after the first month. Namecheap suggested that if I upgrade my package to a wholly managed server, all issues would be resolved. I then spent every day of the next two months writing back and forth to them, using an outside email since my emails stopped working entirely. My entire business communications were shut down and we had to find a third party solution to help us. Namecheap was completely useless. What's the point of paying hundreds of dollars a month for them to do absolutely nothing? I was two months and well over 500 dollars just in that time-frame, not to mention the additional time and money and energy I had to spend on solving the problems Namecheap caused us. I hated every day I spent under Namecheap.

    Avatar

    Matthew B

    2 — 

    Dismal customer service

    I've been using these guys for a couple of years and in general they've been fuss-free. Today though I found out my emails were down. I tried to trouble-shoot the issue with Google but their support wasn't online so I looked into my domain. Turns out that it hadn't auto-renewed and I hadn't been notified that both my emails and my website would go down. So I contacted Namecheap via LiveChat. My case was simple - I needed to renew and couldn't get into my emails. They asked me hundreds of inane questions, didn't give me any details that I asked for and I had to end up creating an account and paying. The end result? No idea - they say that everything will be back up in 24 hours. Short answer - don't use them.

    Avatar

    Habibul S

    5 — 

    Super Excellent Hosting Customer Service

    I messed up everything but these people helped me with my issue continuously for 3 hours. And they solved my problem. They did everything they could. And i am not gonna leave this Platform. I am very very very happy with their hosting customer service.

    Avatar

    Arnan

    4 — 

    Don't agree with the review

    I've used Namecheap hosting in 2013-2014 or so for a medium sized WordPress website and left them because I thought it kinda sucked. The site was slow and clunky. Cancellation was not as hassle free and finally I decided to just ignore them and move on. However, over the years I kept using NC for my domains (I have about 10 registered via NC) which has always been great. So in 2018 I decided to try their Stellar hosting package again for a simpler HTML website (www.arnan.me).

    This experience has been much better. I renewed a couple of months back and didn't even think to look elsewhere. The site is fast and, as far as I can tell, always online and everything just works as it should. Renewing didn't see a 300% price hike as the review says it would. And even my SSL certificate, which could be easier to install, renewed fine and installed within hours from ordering - Though THAT process could be improved and simplified a lot... But it works, so no real issue there.

    Avatar

    Timi

    2 — 

    Stay away!

    I am not a tech guru but I have websites hosted by GoDaddy and Wix for over 5 years now. On both NEVER have my sites been hacked, BUT! I have a very important website hosted by Namecheap for about 2 years and it is currently down and has been down for almost a year, they keep saying it is fixed and it keeps getting infected again with malware to the point where I have to probably pay to have malware removed and move to another host company as they do not seem to have a permanent fix for the site. Customer support is friendly but sadly quite useless as they never fix the issue and keep sending me "articles" on their site for me to fix the issues myself. How can my "Local PC" have issues from a site that is cloud based? Also malware checks show there is malware on the site when I sent the link to them, they sent me a link to another self help article. Never had similar issues with GoDaddy or Wix. So I am looking for a new host now. I'd pay more money for better website security and tech help.

    Avatar

    Eric

    1 — 

    Worst provider so far

    Having registered a few domains at namecheap, I know it's often a miss. Always something goes wrong. When I had my domain up and running, I bought their email service. As part of that, they wiped out all my DNS settings. Yesterday, I set up a new domain, and changed the DNS. None of the DNS settings got propagated, and, according to their abysmal support, it was my browser. After talking to a few support people, I'm still not 100% convinced their support aren't bots.

    Overall, namecheap is incredibly bad, and not worth the effort. Better spend 2 dollars more, it will save you a lot of time.

    Avatar

    Prasad

    5 — 

    Much better than the review indicates!

    I'm unsure if Namecheap has significantly improved since the time of writing of this article, but most of the cons seem to not have applied to me. The pricing is presently much cheaper than mentioned in this article and the customer service I received in the past year with multiple conversations with their support staff was stellar. I never once needed to reach out to them twice for any one issue.. it was always resolved right away. Sure their support staff takes time and you have to be patient, but they seem to get the job done! Not sure about uptime (which may still be a valid con), but in terms of speed, my website seems lightning fast compared to my old (and pricier) host, Godaddy. Gtmetrix scored my website 99 percentile for load time. So basically namecheap has been cheap, helpful and very efficient!

    Avatar

    John C

    5 — 

    Namecheap ROCKS!

    I've had my Wordpress websites on four different hosts and just moved to NC three months ago, and I've discovered they are the best hosting company I've been with so far. Their site load times are fast (three times faster than iPage and faster even than my friend's WP site on Hostgator, their Softalicious Installer works perfectly, and they have an astounding amount of help files available if you run into trouble.. and if you can't find what you need their chat personnel have been great so far, even following up via email after I got cut off. They also offer free SSL certificates, and if you need a "verified" one you can get them at a reasonable rate.. and best of all, their unlimited hosting cost less than half what other web hosting companies are charging.

    Dr. John Michael Christian

    Avatar

    Justin

    5 — 

    Namecheap hosting

    They proclaim their company goals from the start... They offer cheap domains and bare bones hosting. What you get for $30 a year with them you have to spend almost $100 dollars with anyone else. I've hosted 10+ sites with them over the past 5+ years... They aren't going to hold your hand on your side of the site because their cpanel does almost everything for you already. And any larger problem I've ever had they fixed on their side in a timely manner. You can either get the cuddles from the competitors for 300% more than what you pay with Namecheap or go and get a free site where they can carry you all the way. This one I've found for the price and features is a gold mine for those not scared to work and get to work... Best of luck to you all...

    Avatar

    Chuck

    2 — 

    Your Review was Spot On for Me

    Your review was spot on for me. Namecheap service started out fine, then got worse.

    For example, uptime was good for awhile. Then came problems. I had to purchase "Premium DNS" for key sites. Not much, maybe $5/YEAR x number of sites, but that's what I thought I was paying for with my VPS in the first place.

    Your description of customer service is spot on as well. Lots of links to the Knowledge Base (some relevant, some not), but no real direct answer. The reps are certainly not in the USA, maybe Russia, not sure. They only seem to understand key words, but nothing complex. I have spent days, and have gone through 5 or 6 reps (and different Knowledge Base articles) before I get one who seems to actually comprehend the issue.

    In sum, not the worst web hosting I have experienced, but not one I would recommend either.

    Avatar

    Bashair

    1 — 

    SSL Certifying Issues Ahead

    Shopify does not allow the certifying of third party domains from Namecheap. Before buying any domain. Namecheap should have a pop up for each customer to ask them who their Host is and Notify them accordingly if the SSL certification would be applicable or not. ... Since late 2017 I've had two domains from Namecheap connected to my website and they Decreased my organic reach right after I added them to my google search console for Crawling ... Besides slowing my website upload time to 11 - 15 seconds when marketing campaigns started.

    Which I believe is due to a mixed up Google bots about these Namecheap Domains being none certified http ( Shopify will not give CSR code ), and being again Certified within Shopify under the shop's Primary domain in whole , as an https ... Resulting in Many Warnings to my links when checking my primary domain in google search console reaching the thousands of warnings, and a dead organic reach.

    Besides that, Namecheap still does not have TLS certification which is the most updated certification process with Servers.

    Avatar

    Chase D

    1 — 

    Worst WordPress hosting hands down

    My hosting service was up, decided to try NameCheaps EasyWP for my three sites (blogs, forums, testing) and they have failed in every way possible. Uptime of around 60%, I'm constantly kicked from my admin account do to server caching errors. Support is quick to respond but fixes aren't taken care of for days. The server security needs improvements. The equipment used for EasyWP is not disclosed and I couldn't get anyone in support to list them. Not a CPU, not any RAM, nothing. NameCheap support is also very wrong on many things and it's hard sometimes finding someone who actually has any knowledge. The price was so cheap it brought me in, but the headache is not worth it. I am a content creator, YouTuber, and avid tech lover. I review and test out the best and worst products in the field every day, and I can definitely say that NameCheap is the worst WordPress hosting service out there I have ever used. Better stick with HostGator, GoDaddy, Kinsta, etc. because you will regret it. EasyWP is not in Beta, it is in Alpha.

    Avatar

    Asli

    4 — 

    I like their service

    I use namecheap for my 7 websites. They are not complex sites, couple of them wordpress, others are just HTML CSS and I am happy with my choice. Actually over the years I have seen the worst. A lot of company that are just trying to catch new customers while they charge a lot of money for old customers. So I am happy actually that I found this company. Affordable prices, service is same with many others. I am using the europe server.

    Avatar

    Robert S

    2 — 

    Absurd requirements

    I thought I'd try their managed Wordpress accounts, so I signed up for the EasyWP Turbo package. After submitting my financial info (and charging my card), it asks for a domain name and I used one of many I have registered with a company other than namecheap. AFTER TAKING MY MONEY, I find out that you can not buy a EasyWP Turbo account UNLESS the domain name is registered with them. Absurd. I contacted support and here's what they told me: "Unfortunately, the use of the Easy WP service is currently limited to domain names registered with ourselves..." I've been building web sites since 1996 and this is the FIRST time someone tried to force me to buy a certain product before they would sell me a hosting package. I told them I'd take my business elsewhere.

    Avatar

    Ann C

    2 — 

    Avoid NameCheap Email Hosting

    If you think their web hosting is bad -- wait until you try their email hosting. I've been with them a year and I should have switched after a month. Email is constantly down for an hour here or there. I'm talking 30 times a year. Load times are extremely SLOW. I cannot tell you how many times I thought I "sent" an email, but forgot to keep the browser window open the requisite 10 seconds afterwards to allow the email to actually send. Then the email is lost, and I have to retype the whole thing. And currently they are running a push to sign up MORE email accounts? This will likely make things WORSE.

    Avatar

    Erik

    5 — 

    Awesome Webhosting

    I have only one complaint and this is APACHE SERVER BASED, they use a module which is there for security reasons, but it also creates problems when running Drupal 7/8 in an advanced way, limiting communications and functions.

    However the support was quick to resolve the problems and whitelisting what I needed, so I really can't complain about anything.

    Despite the price in % being upped, I still think they are really cheap for the quality they give compared to HostGator, where everything worked 100% right away, but later some hiccups occurred.

    All in all, I like both of these hosting company's, but for different reasons.

    Avatar

    Andrew G

    4 — 

    Namecheap review

    So I use namecheap (not listed), and I must say, it's pretty great! I get unlimited bandwidth, great customer support I don't even mind contacting, and pay a mere 20$ a year for hosting and domain. All in all, it's a great service.